Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 10, 2011

more

February 10, 2011

It was great! I'm only a 16 year old kid, but I started when I was 15 years old. I volunteered from 9 AM - 2 PM every day over the summer, except on the weekends. The kids are amazing! I got really close to a whole bunch of kids, I worked with Spruce home.
Also became great friends with alot of
the staff there!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Every aspect of my life. Changes the way you look at everything, it also helps you to become better friends with younger kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing. Except give them more funding. It really sucks when they had the Donor's come through and some stuff was really damaged.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yea! Loved the people!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Felt good, really making a kids day much better!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2011

more

February 9, 2011

This teenagers we met this day had tons of energy and were the happiest people I have met. Although their facility is not in the best shape, they danced and played basketball better than most of the volunteers! They talked to us like we have been friends for ages instead of minutes. They took the best of everything they got even if they got nothing. It was a very memorable experience and I will hope I can come visit again.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their attitudes and coordination and development around strangers

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more to use or play with to enhance their physical ability

February 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My brother Harold Jeffries, myself and five other siblings were place in foster care Harold Jeffries went to live in Little city in 1970 or January 1971 I visit him at the temporary foster home. He clung to me and did't want his foster parents to let me go back to the orphanage. I left went back to the orphanage Harold went to live in Little City and his former foster parents took mein. I owe Harold a lot. When i was old enough I would visit him at Little City He had to have the hand of God himself in order for Harold to go to Little City. As an Adult I have witness families who keep chlidren/adults with disabilites feeding off of them like a pest it is sad and it hurts my soul. I can't give much but I have Little City as my favorite on my facebook page and once week I put the link to Little City on my personal facebook profile so my others can see what a great place Little City is. I really don't want the prize you can give it to my brother Harold I love him so much.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my brother Harold Jeffries lives there

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything but I pray they can get some time on TV so others know of the wonderful work they do and that they sell products Maybe even have the local news station do a morning spot on the wonderful products they sell TV Media could help with sells of the products these wonderful children make

January 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

What a fantastic organization! Little City has so many wonderful programs that empower people with disabilities. I've been particularly impressed with the Arts program at Little City. I began purchasing greeting cards several years ago and have since come to greatly respect the talented individuals that participate in the Arts programs, and the facilitators that help them unleash their talents. I plan on continuing to support Little City through the purchase of holiday/greeting cards and other unique, handcrafted pieces for many years to come!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I took a tour of the facility and was highly impressed. The artists are so talented and the staff members that work with the participants are so dedicated to their craft.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find more retail channels to partner with, for greater distribution of these handmade goods to a wider audience.

January 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

For more than fifty years, Little City has provided services to people with disabilities to enhance their skills and offer enriching social experiences. One such program is Little City’s Center for the Arts.

“Creativity has no disability.” That’s the slogan for the Center for the Arts,
which offers studio arts, media arts and design and textile arts for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities. They also provide a wide array of hands-on arts projects for children with mild to severe disabilities including autism.

I became familiar with the arts program at Little City several years ago when a family friend sent out holiday greeting cards featuring the work of Little City’s talented artists. The card included a biography of the artists and information about the arts program. I learned that the artists are residents of Little City’s program “employed” by the Center for the Arts. The artists are offered guidance by Little City’s professionals who help further foster these abilities. The artists are featured at art showings throughout the Chicago area, featured alongside professional artists who are not faced with the same challenges.

I had a first-hand experience with the arts program when I volunteered at an event at Little City’s Chicago campus in late 2009. At this event, children ages 5 to 16 were working to create paintings, papier maiche, sculptures and more to provide a sense of community and accomplishment through the arts. It was an inspiration to see the ownership and pride the children took in their work.

The arts programs are more than therapeutic. They are life-changing for some of these individuals who can’t communicate vocally or who have trouble opening up and expressing themselves to others.

The artwork created by Little City’s artists is inspiring and I can’t wait until the holiday season rolls around again so I can send out a new batch of beautifully designed cards that help provide funding for and promote the great and inspiring work of one of my favorite non-profit organizations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

sending greeting cards featuring the artwork of Little City's talented and award-winning artists to my family and friends. I recently sent "thank you" cards to all those who supported my participation in a walk-a-thon supporting Little City. The cards featured the beautiful work of the Little City artists and I had so many inquiries from family and friends about how to purchase these cards because the artwork is so well-done and truly rivals professional artists who don't face the same challenges.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the arts program that currently serves both children and adults.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I know people who suffer from developmental disabilities and I see the strain it has on their family. Little City does wonderful work by supporting children and adults with disabilities. I knew from my volunteer work with the organization that they utilize their funds wisely. Now, of all the charities I donate to annually, Little City is top of my list.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I began as a volunteer, then joined the Young Professionals Group, then after becoming more familiar with their work, became a regular donor.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Little City is always looking for dedicated volunteers on its 56-acre Palatine campus, at special events across Chicagoland, and throughout neighboring communities in group homes and in the homes of foster and adoptive families.

For those who are looking to perform clerical work, want to assist with fundraising events, or interact directly with the adults and children who receive services at Little City, volunteer opportunities are available on one-time, short-term, and long-term bases. Volunteer