Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 27, 2012

more

March 27, 2012

Little Brothers is a great organization to connect with others and bring hope to the elderly in Chicago. Not only are there many group gatherings, hosted throughout Chicago and at the LBFE headquarters, there are so many other ways to connect with the seniors on your own time. It is awesome because LBFE finds a way to take your talents and use them to the fullest and it is very rewarding and fun to meet some very interesting older citizens that call Chicago home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

I have loved working with Little Brothers! It is like a family. From staff to the elders and other volunteers I have met, everyone brings positivity and energy to the organization. I have met great friends (young and elder alike) and plan to be involved with Little Brothers indefinitely! They serve a cause most don't think about-social isolation in the elder population. This is a very worthy cause and the actions of those involved with Little Brothers bring food, shelter, support, and friendship to many elders who would otherwise go without.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I like the many levels of volunteering you can do with LBFE. If you have weekend time, monthly time or every-once-in-a-while time, there are activities that you can fit right into. It really fits any schedule because their calendar is so full. It's perfect for those who don't feel up to a big commitment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

On a trip to visit my daughter, Kristen, in Chicago during Christmas, 2011, I was informed that she had something special scheduled for us to do. I was pleasantly surprised to participate in a giftwrapping fundraiser at Barnes & Noble for Friends of the Elderly. Being from a small town in Western Kentucky, we are not fortunate to have a Friends of the Elderly organization. The residents of Chicago are so truly blessed to have so many loving and caring individuals who give of themselves freely! What an awesome experience I had for such a worthy cause! I quite frankly would have stayed all day had it not been for other volunteers waiting to take my spot at the giftwrapping table! I commend the Friends of the Elderly organization for all they do to make other's lives better!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

I have been a volunteer of LBFE since 1992. It began with my children and I volunteering at the parties given for the Seniors. I have taken part in birthday parties and holiday parties as a driver and on site volunteer. We have enjoyed every part of LBFE. I have become friends with some wonderful people. It has been a blessing to me to be a part of this organization. LBFE provides Seniors with a chance to leave their homes and socialize with others without fear. I have received as much from the Seniors as they have from me. Everyone I have introduced to LBFE has expressed how much they have enjoyed being a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

40 years ago, Little Brothers connected me with an old man named John who lived in a SLO on Belmont Avenue. I would once a week bring him his groceries until it became clear that he could no longer get by on his own. At that point, Little Brothers found a place for him with the Little Sisters, who at that time had a nursing home on Fullerton Avenue. We no longer live in that area but having seen first hand the impact the intervention of Little Brothers has on the truly needy seniors in Chicago, we have supported them ever since. Flowers before Bread.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

The basic mission of Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly is to bring friendship to lonely and isolated elders. This is done through parties, vacations and most regularly through one on one visits. It is a place that brings joy to everyone involved with it. As a volunteer, you get just as much (if not more) out of the experiences as the elders that are served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly helps to promote emotional well-being among Chicago's senior community. Little Brothers fosters the spirit of community through inter-generational activities, monthly birthday parties, holiday celebrations and more. The dedicated staff and volunteers provide friendship and support to those with few social connections. My most heart warming experiences have been volunteering during Christmas and Easter celebrations. The joy on the faces of the seniors made my holiday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly is a wonderful non-profit offering friendship and assistance to lonely or isolated seniors in the Chicagoland area. I've been volunteering for 4 years and the thing I love most about Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly is the fact that you can donate your time, energy or money and still feel as if you've made a difference. Whether it's driving an elder to a birthday function, visiting elders in the nursing home, bringing groceries and much needed friendship to an elder, or wrapping presents during the holidays to raise money for the organization, I truly feel that Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly makes a positive impact on our community. I also serve as President of the Young Professionals Advisory Board of Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly. -Kristen Reeves

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Visit a senior (or 3!), go on an outing with seniors & volunteers, enjoy a luncheon with seniors & volunteers, deliver two food bags to seniors in need, make five calls of reassurance, help a senior with a small repair, help plan an event for seniors, join a fundraising committee, find your niche and help a senior today! Volunteer