Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 31, 2014

more

January 31, 2014

An unique organization, with caring people who are committed to the mission of enhancing the social lives and reducing isolation among elders in Chicago. Warm, loving, supportive, and open.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I am a physician volunteer for Little brothers,friends of the Elderly.I have been volunteering with Little brothers for several years .I started volunteering because I thought that the concept of helping elders fill their day with company was such a wonderful one. Money is easy to give but time is not as easy because we all have different commitments.We all have to work at our jobs,at home,spend time with kids, old parents,manage personal affairs.Making time for an non relaive elder who has time and even money but less and less company as they grow older and older is really precious.I have visited elders,delivered gifts at christmas time.worked at arranging parties,made nursing home visits.done educational talks.I have learnt so much from the elders,listening to their stories of ther youth ,achievements with their work and family.I have learnt stuff that you can never learn in a classroom or a workshop. By spending time with elders,I can relate to the patients,elders at home and around me.I enjoy any time I can spend at thsi institution and with my 88yr old darling friend that I visit in the nursing home.I love listening to her stories about how she used to dance:Belle,tap dance and just all the food likes and dislikes she has.....I just cannot have enough time with her.....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Little Brothers is an amazing organization. The employees are warm and welcoming to all, and the elders are fascinating ladies and gentlemen. You can volunteer as little or as much as you want, with no pressure. I enjoy doing the "in home-celebrations" and seeing the faces of the elders light up when they see a gift bag especially for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I've been volunteering with Little Bros. for many years and while I also volunteer with other agencies, Little Bros. has always been my most positive and fulfilling experience. Not only are the elders very grateful, they are fun, exciting, informative and grateful. The agency, Little Bros. is fun to work with, always concerned with their volunteers and committed to making the volunteer experience the most positive it can be. Little Bros. offers volunteers many opportunities to volunteer in whatever area they choose. They listen to the volunteers and are always open and receptive to doing things to improve, what is already a most positive experience. I love volunteering with Little Bros. and encourage others to check the agency out as a potential agency to donate your time and attention to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

It will be almost a year that I started volunteering with Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly. It has been a great one of a kind experience. The atmosphere created by the staff and volunteers is very welcoming. Through the organizations various programs and opportunities, I have met many Old Friends who have have each taught me something new, for example, how to play dominoes like an expert and even how to be fabulous at any age. I have had nothing but positive experiences with them. Interacting with the elders via parties and outings has truly changed my outlook on aging. Their events are always very well-planned and the food they provide for the elders and volunteers is nothing if not plentiful and delicious. The elders always leave full and happy, filled with both food and joy. I am glad to say that I have made a few of my closet friends through this organization and look forward to continuing working with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with Little Brothers for almost one year now and have had the time of my life being a part of such an amazing organization! This organization provides the opportunity for life-changing experiences for both the volunteer and the seniors, which I think is a rare treat in the non-profit world. I have been visiting one particular senior for quite some time and when we celebrated our birthdays together (as they are only one day apart) she wrote in my card that he life has changed so much for the better since Little Brothers and myself had entered her life that she felt like an entirely new person. She has become more than just a visit for me, but a truly great friend and even a mentor in my writing. We seem to have everything in the world in common that I wonder how Little Brothers does such a wonderful job putting the matches together. Keep up the great work!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Besides the great work that Little Brothers does for its elders, the organization also shows great love and appreciation for its volunteers. Little Brothers has given me many opportunities to learn during my time volunteering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

Volunteering with Little Brother's is a life changing experience. This Organization has gifted me with the opportunity to bring joy to the lives of many who are often forgotten and neglected by society. Words fall way short of expressing the total experience I'm having. Everyone should try to volunteer at this organization or one like it at some point in their lives. It is beyond worth it because you will never see life the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

I have been a full time volunteer with Little Brothers for the past year, and during this time I have seen just how great of an impact this organization makes on the lives of the elders it serves. The caring and generous spirit of the organization makes it one that I am proud to serve, and it is with this sincere commitment of the organization that the elders experience the joys of holiday parties, birthday celebrations, and friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2012

more

March 27, 2012

I've been a volunteer and member of the Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly Chicago Chapter for almost 3 years now. My engagement with LBFE has been an extremely positive and rewarding experience. LBFE's mission is quite unique, as they seek to provide companionship and social interaction to Chicago Area elders that would otherwise be isolated. Through a variety of individual services and group events, LBFE provides a social network and "friendship" to aging individuals who can not rely on immediate family for the same support. The opportunities to participate and volunteer with the organization are quite varied, which I found helpful while balancing a busy schedule.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Visit a senior (or 3!), go on an outing with seniors & volunteers, enjoy a luncheon with seniors & volunteers, deliver two food bags to seniors in need, make five calls of reassurance, help a senior with a small repair, help plan an event for seniors, join a fundraising committee, find your niche and help a senior today! Volunteer