Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I have come to Little Brothers twice now and both experiences were great. The communication between myself and the team at Little Brothers is always great. Seth has been a pleasure to work with. As far as the elderly- there is nothing more rewarding. I have recently signed up to visit someone on a more frequent basis. I am thrilled to be a Little Brothers Volunteer. Thank you for the opportunity guys, you do a great job

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

What isn't there to love about an organization whose motto is "Flowers Before Bread" which highlights the importance of friendship and companionship to feed the soul? I became involved in Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly Thanksgiving 2010. I wanted to give back to the community and found out about the Thanksgiving Day meal delivery and visiting program. It was an amazing way to start my Thanksgiving day with a visit to an isolated elder in my community. I remember my visit fondly and the smile I brought to the elder's face - not to mention the warm feelings I carried with me that day for having served in my community. As a board member, I continue to enjoy the holiday visits most and look forward to the opportunity to connect with an isolated elder.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

What a fabulous organization this is. I've been involved with LBFE San Francisco for just under a year now and am so impressed with the heart and passion of its many volunteers. As we go about our busy lives it's all too easy to forget the elderly among us, many of whom are lonely and homebound. LBFE does an incredible job of reaching out to these men and women. Volunteers spend time with elders sharing stories and companionship and are often surprised to find that not only are the lives of the elders enriched but that they too find joy and fun in new found friendships. I encourage everyone to visit our web site www.littlebrotherssf.org for more information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I have been involved with LBFE off and on for over 15 years. I truly believe in the mission of 'Flowers before Bread' - while food will temporarily satisfy hunger, only friendship and companionship can satisfy the soul. And that is longer lasting! We seek to find caring, compassionate volunteers who will build friendships with our deserving elderly, here in SF. This is just one of the most sincere and heartfelt non-profits I have every worked with, and I am proud to be a board member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
January 31, 2011

In 2010, the best two hours I spent was visiting an isolated elder. His true and touching story of surviving the holocaust and coming to America touched my heart and I continue to think about his life story and how privileged I am to have met him. I always find that volunteering is a lot like going to the gym- getting there can be tough but you NEVER regret having gone. One of the great features of Little Brothers, Friends of the Elderly is that they offer programs for those that want a commitment to an elder and for those that want to volunteer on a more "ad-hoc" basis. Check them out online and try one of their events. It may change your life like it did mine!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the number of seniors that receive a visit on Thanksgiving and Christmas. What a great tradition to start your holiday by visiting an isolated elder!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more volunteers because there are MANY seniors that are not being reached.

January 30, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
January 30, 2011

Do you want to feel better? Smile and help somebody, help. reach out to an elder! I've been a volunteer with this organization for several years, seeing, making regular visits to see my assigned elder Andy (a perfect match for him and me) and my other elder Lottie who assigned herself to me at one of the Little Brothers parties. I'm glad she did.

It doesn't take a lot of time to share your presence with an elder. Little Brothers makes it easy to hook up with an elder. You'll have an elder to go out to lunch with or to go o the flicks, maybe read to or with, or just hand out with. Call them on the phone,if there's not a lot a time. "Try it, you'll like it,. I guarantee it".

Little Brothers makes it easy and simple to enjoy, give back to the community, to connect with humanity through reaching out to someone, an elder. We're really just reaching out to ourselves when we reach out to another. We are one!

Check Out Little Brothers Friends Of The Elderly!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the best. I've got new friends who have told me about their amazing experiences in the 20th and 21st century. Examples are: surveying WWII, falling in love, being a Buddhist monk, and much more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Little Brothers is on a roll. It's fresh and has a great staff Check out their website!

January 27, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
January 27, 2011

I started out like many other Board Members, as a volunteer. The wonderful feelings of love and friendship that you get back from working with elderly is tremendous. It is hard not to want to find a special 'old friend' to be paired up with - but LBFE SF welcomes volunteers in any capacity. There are monthly in-home visits and holiday events that you can participate with - but our goal is to create a match and to create a relationship. This is the little non-profit that could... it is a small staff in SF, but the volunteer energy is tremendous. What a great community organization (stemming from an int'l one!) The website is amazing, and full of info: www.littlebrotherssf.org

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my emotional welfare and in my sense of community. It feels good to provide friendship and caring to someone who is all alone. They are people too and deserve the same amount of respect and consideration as anyone else.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them create more ongoing relationships between volunteers and 'old friends'.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Deliver a meal to a lonely elder, stop by an elder's home on their birthday, or visit and spend time with an elder.