Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
February 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Serving adult learners in Pitt County, LV-PC provides many different opportunities to learn, from computer classes to ESL to GED. The one-on-one learning environment allows for a unique experience for each individual, and I am incredibly proud to be a small part of this great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2012

As a donor to Literacy Volunteers of America- Pitt County, I have seen all the different ways that my donation has helped many people. There is one-on-one tutoring, computer classes, and group classes... more

November 30, 2012

As a donor, I have attended many fundraisers. I have heard testimontials of adult learners and learned of their success with literacy. I am convinced that their success is due to the personal care and attention that the staff of LVPC has supplied and their loyal tutors. I am proud to be associated with this non-profit that helps adult learners of Pitt County!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a donor to Literacy Volunteers of America- Pitt County, I have seen all the different ways that my donation has helped many people. There is one-on-one tutoring, computer classes, and group classes to assist adults with improving their literacy and computer skills. The staff is dedicated to their learners and they care about their success. I am truly honored to be a donor of such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I come from a family of nine brothers and sisters and of my nine siblings only three of us have a functional education. The other six of my siblings have graduated high school, but can only read and write on a third grade level. I have wanted to help them improve their reading and writing skills, but living out of state made that very difficult if not impossible. Not being able to help my siblings has haunted me for years. Literacy Volunteers of America-Pitt County has given me the opportunity to do for people here in Pitt County what I can't do for my siblings. I still deeply desire to help my siblings move forward with their reading and writing skills, but I get great satisfaction from being able to help those here in Pitt County improve their skills. I am greatly appreciative of the Literacy Volunteers of America-Pitt County for their services and giving me the opportunity to give back and help improve the lives of the people in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As a teacher, I understand how valuable a good education is. Literacy Volunteers – Pitt County offers a service that is not only helpful to the community, but vital. Through its programs and volunteer-tutor relationships, the organization has become a saving grace for people seeking a degree, computer literacy, or the skills to simply function better in society. Through television, radio, and social media, Literacy Volunteers has become a growing presence in the area over the past couple of years. Pitt County is a better place because of this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Literacy Volunteers – Pitt County has such a unique way of providing training to community members with different backgrounds so they can serve as volunteer tutors. 100% of instruction is offered to adult learners for free and their identity remains confidential. What a great service to the community!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Hello, I am taking a computer classl second one here, Is fun, informative, and connects all the bits and pieces for peresons such as myself who have a "Swiss cheese" knowledge of computers and social networking sites! What I know about such, I know well, and then there are the holes! For example, I have had Facebook for years and probablhy used it more in the two weeks since we studied it in class than during all that time! Any Literacy Volunteers agency is a valuable service for so many reasons; as they state, literacy skills help with so many life factors; for example, negoitiating the health care maze -more literacy equals less cost for an individual! I have served on two Literacy Boards, and learned so much valuable information. Please support any such agency, wheter is it by referring persons, donating time, money or books. If you are not able to do this, please learn about your local agency - you may be surprised - for example, there are free and very detailed computer skills classes here and very patient teachers. Ibi

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have volunteered for the Literacy Volunteers Adult Computer Classes for two years now. The experience has been quite rewarding. I have had the oppertunity to work with some amazing men and women from various backgrounds and ethnicities. I have helped to teach them various ways to utilize the computer and internet. In return, they have shown me how generosity and patience can make a difference in someone's life. I am honored to say that I am a literacy volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This has been a great experience. I completed Applications I, and I am now in the Applications II class. Information has been very interesting, and helpful. Tonight I learned how to Skype. Really looking forward to using this program with my out of state family. Great service to the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

yolanda is one of your favorite clients.thats me! she`s not only learning about computers,she is visualizing a whole new future!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

LV-PC continues to amaze me with the amazingly high standards and compassion they deliver there services with

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers