Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a board member and tutor with the LVSSC.  It is my pleasure to be affiliated with such a dedicated and caring group.  Our goal is to help as many of those that truly want to learn to read, write and speak English.  We are constantly searching for sources and resources that would better help our students reach their goal of learning a new language.  The Literacy Volunteers of South Sarasota County offers free classes to all and is truly a gift to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Even though I am currently not directly involved with the Literacy Volunteers, I have witnessed their outstanding commitment and dedication to Basic Literacy and ESL. As soon as I retire, I am looking forward to join the organization and adopt a more active role.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am retired and desired to have a more active volunteer role in helping our community of foreigners here in Florida. My search led me to the Literacy Volunteer of SSC where they embraced and gave me the necessary training I needed to make a difference in someone's life. The vast resources they offered at the community libraries are amazing and simplified for anyone to learn and teach from. This literacy program also offers ongoing workshops to help us volunteers improve our techniques to meet the different needs individuals have as they pursue to improve their English as their second language. Whether it be to get their GED, drivers license, obtain employment, and effectively speak, read & write the English language, this is the most valuable program foreigners can take advantage of to help them live a better and more effective life here in America. The fact that it's available to everyone at no cost excludes no one, and greatly helps those who could never afford personal one on one tutoring. I'm excited to be a part of this wonderful program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I decided to support the Literacy Volunteers because they offer a one-of-a kind and very needed service in South Sarasota County. The dedication and excitement that both students and tutors exhibit is contagious and made my decision to get involved effortless. This group deserves greater recognition and a prime spot in the limelight!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For over 25 years, I have had a connection to the Literacy Volunteers of South Sarasota County due to my position as library manager and then director of the county library system. The Literacy Volunteers' office is in the Venice Library where I could observe their work over the years. For a time, I served on their advisory board and then became a contributing member but not a volunteer. When I retired, I decided that this group, focused on reading and teaching others, was the one with which I wanted to be involved. This is my third year on the Board of Directors where I see first hand the dedication of the volunteers and staff, the accomplishments of the students and the effective/efficient use of resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had just retired and wanted to continue working with motivated people who were learning and teaching one another. The introductory meetings were very helpful. They alerted me to a multitude of resources found in the local library. I entered the "tutoring experience" with a modest sense of uncertainty but was quickly encouraged by our leader, Library personnel, and the energy of the tutored adults. I find it a great feeling to be able to touch the life of another adult wanting to learn English as a second language!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came to the Literacy Volunteers 3 years ago to improve my English, the people were friendly and nice and helped me to get a better job. I can now help my daughter with her home work and can talk to the teacher. Thank you for helping me and making my life better!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became involved in Literacy Volunteers as a tutor approximately 11 years ago. My tutoring experience was so rewarding and I enjoyed my students very much. I am currently serving as a board member and the tutor trainer for the organization. This organization provides such great service to anyone in our community needing help with English skills - both Basic English (for those who have been raised in this country) and English as a Second Language (for people who have a different language as their first language). Our biggest challenge is getting the word out to those in our community who would benefit from a tutor. We also are challenged to get more volunteers who want to tutor the students. Tutors do not need to speak another language and do not need prior experience. Training and support is provided to our tutors. And, the services we provide are ALWAYS FREE.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I see the results often when meeting with tutors and students in the community. Additionally, as a tutor, I saw how the improvement in English skills impacted and improved the lives of the students and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

My mother was a LV tutor way back in the 1970s. She enjoyed tutoring very much.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

attaining funding to meet the needs of the organization and getting the word out to those in the community that would benefit from the services we provide.

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with the Literacy Volunteers has been truly amazing. I feel privileged to work with a number of highly dedicated and committed volunteers and consider myself lucky to be able to share my English language skills with a group of enthusiastic and devoted students. The organization is extremely well organized and efficient, and provides outstanding and FREE services to those who need help with their reading, writing, and speaking skills.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a Board member of Literacy Volunteers for six years, and a tutor for twelve years. When I first volunteered to tutor, I quickly learned that I did not need prior teaching experience nor did I need to speak a foreign language to help immigrants learn English as a Second Language. Excellent training is provided for new tutors. I was able to select between a number of adult learners waiting for tutors. I enjoy tutoring and participating in Literacy Volunteers tutor activities. Serving as a Board member has also been a rewarding experience. This organization is celebrating its 30th Anniversary in 2012; that's 30 years of helping adult residents of South Sarasota County Florida learn to speak, read, and write English. Last year, 117 tutors helped 286 adult learners with the support of 17 other volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers