Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 31, 2014

more

May 31, 2014

I began tutoring for Literacy Green Bay about six months, the 12-hour certification was a valuable experience for anyone who wishes to teach, the experienced instructors share their wisdom and emphasize learning style preference for engaging students. I was impressed at the commitment to quality instruction that the organization and the volunteers commit to before every entering a classroom or tutor session.

I meet with my student regularly at the Literacy Center and all of staff have been helpful answering questions, providing information and resources. The center is a humming with activity everyday, with students of all ages with diverse backgrounds and educational goals. It truly is a place where students are inspired daily and they in turn inspire their teachers and volunteers.

My student wants to obtain his GED and is more dedicated to his homework and our classtime than any student I have ever had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their hours and technology budget-if I had the money to give them to do so :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have just started tutoring an ESL student who would like to speak better English in order to help her children speak better English and so that she can obtain a job. Literacy GB has given me all the tools to help my learner become more productive and to live a better life in Green Bay, WI!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

About a year ago I entered the world of the tutor of English as a Second Language. I started with the twelve hour certification training program. It was very well organized and presented positively to my group of about ten potential tutors. After completion I was given three options of three very different individuals to choose as my first learner. I selected a gentleman from Puerto Rico and have spent the last year with him. My personal journey to Literacy Green Bay took about two years after I retired. It is the right fit. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful. I rest my case.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funds so they could better meet the growing need of the community that they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I tutor an ELL student who's goal is to earn his GED. My student has four children and a full time job. He is dedicated to learning and has steadily advanced. I know that he will be able to achieve his goals. It is a rewarding experience to be able to help him fulfill his dreams - the American Dream. Literacy Green Bay makes this possible for my student and many others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Before even starting my tutoring experience, I already feel that the time spent in training has been a valuable one to help understand the needs of adult learners and the value of giving my time to a student. Literacy Green Bay volunteer instructors do an outstanding job of preparing you for the role of tutor. They instill a passion for assisting others on their road to learning the English language and becoming productive and contributing members of their community. It is evident that everyone involved is dedicated to providing all of the support that is needed to both tutors and students and they do so in a way that helps you to validate that the time spent giving back is valuable and worthwhile.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Literacy Green Bay helps adult English language learners break down communication barriers so that they can use their skills to improve the quality of life for themselves, their families and their communities. Literacy Green Bay expertly prepares and equips volunteer mentors to teach English language skills and GED preparation. Literacy Green Bay also partners with other local agencies so that the children of their adult learners can be simultaneously engaged in learning. As a mentor, I've found my students to be highly motivated and have enjoyed learning about their cultures as we work together. I find it truly rewarding when students surpass their learning goals or receive job promotions due to their improved skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of employer on-site tutoring opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I am board member for Literacy Green Bay because I believe in the organization, staff and volunteer tutors. Our volunteers spend countless hours every year tutoring adults and children. Adults are assisted in basic skills, such as reading, writing and math, that help them attain better jobs, be better parents and contribute to society as a whole. While parents are being tutored, young children are cared for and/or school age children receive tutoring as well. We empower, we are inclusive and we collaborate with other agencies to help build a great community of citizens in Green Bay.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

The combined efforts of the staff and scores of volunteers at Literacy Green Bsy is an exemplary model of changing lives. With a modest budget, and steadfast dedication to literacy, LGB provides opportunities to adults with a commitment to making a better life for themselves and their families. As a former board member and volunteer tutor, I have seen first hand the life changing results of this organization's tireless work. Literacy is the gateway skill to productive employment and responsible citizenship. Community members can point to Literacy Green Bay with pride

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I've been volunteering at Literacy Green Bay since 2008. It's a great organization that has helped thousands of people improve their language skills, self-confidence, and other skills needed for employment and more opportunities. I get a lot of enjoyment and satisfaction from working with immigrant adults who are always so highly motivated and appreciative of the help they receive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding in order to allow for expansion of services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Literacy Green Bay is helping to empower people in our community to gain the skills (literacy and beyond) and knowledge to achieve their personal goals which in turn helps better society on the whole. Great place to be a part of in any capacity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to devote more of my personal time to help

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers