Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

As a recent member of the board, I am constantly amazed at the dedication of the staff and my fellow board members. Literacy Connections is providing an invaluable service to the members of our community - literacy education. Not only do they serve adults, but the Book Buddies classroom program pairs volunteers with school age children to help support these young readers. As a parent of a new reader I see how important early literacy skills are and how a child can be disadvantaged by not being able to read at grade level. Book Buddies is doing a wonderful job of providing these young readers with improved reading skills. I highly recommend this organization and its programs.
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

An outstanding organization doing tremendous work in the community and the school. It is tackling one of the most challenging and untold problem in our poorer areas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I am an immigrant from Jamaica who was fortunate enough to latch on to the American dream through the help of various organizations. Literacy Connections helps people up the ladder to achieve this dream, and I am fortunate enogh to meet some of these people and their stories are unbeleivable. No matter where we are or who we are, literacy is the foundation for attaining success throughout the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I've volunteered as a member of the Board of Directors for Literacy Connections for the last two years. I am proud to be affiliated with this great organization and I'm amazed at the dedication level of the staff and volunteers. The countless hours that are put in to satisfy the need for those that require help with basic reading and writing skills and in enhancing the learning experience of children in our community is evident in the success of the program participants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I had just returned to the Poughkeepsie Journal in 1986 after 2 1/2 years in Arizona. It was time to get involved with an organization, not an easy choice when you write news and a column - anytime you write about "your" organization someone will criticize playing favorites. Literacy was a perfect match for a writer/reporter. It was determined the best way to serve would be on the board and in a few years I became board president. I would leave the organization after bringing in new blood. I remained involved as a Spelling Bee team sponsor. Then last year, I was asked about returning to the board. I jumped at the opportunity. Back in the beginning of my involvement, I wrote a newspaper story about a public works employee who was a Basic Reading student. He was proud of himself - almost as proud as his 16-year-old son. Tears came to my eyes when this kid told me he was proud of his father learning how to read. They stil do. Over the years the importance of English as a Second Language to the community has soared.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a lifetime educator, my affiliation with Literacy Connections is a natural extension of my formal education. Having served on our local Board of Education, the Superintendent of Schools (serving on the Literacy Board) invited me to join him there. Having served on several Boards I knew community service is necessary for quality living. As the years have passed, my tenure on the Literacy Board continues to be a valuable learning experience. Although I have served more than a decade, whenever our Executive Director (Margaret Pfaff) gives an orientation, I learn something new about the functioning of the organization. Literacy and comprehension is essential to our everyday living, and what is accomplished at 325 Main Street, Poughkeepsie, NY is beyond the ordinary. For our fellow citizens to achieve and enjoy the fruits of our country, they must be able to decipher what is happening around them on a daily basis. For those of you fortunate enough to be able to read and comprehend this, too many of you take it for granted. Many just assume since you went through a fine public education everyone around you reads and comprehends as you do. Illiteracy is not an illness, there is no quick fix prescription to heal it, and there is no visible campaign to raise funds to cure it. But it is a disability which the volunteers at Literacy Connections work day in and day out to correct and give our citizens, and those hoping to achieve citizenship, the means to read, write and reach their potential.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have seen Literacy Connections from many angles, and I am always inspired by what I see. I began my affiliation with Literacy Connections as a volunteer tutor. The outstanding training I received from the organization helped me as a volunteer tutor but also in my professional career as an educator. And of course the tutoring I did was fun and rewarding. Years after that volunteer experience, after moving away from the Poughkeepsie area and then moving back again, I went to work for Literacy Connections as a paid employee. In this role, I could really see from the inside how much this organization was able to accomplish with its very small, very dedicated staff. I left my paid job for Literacy Connections about 7 years ago, but have continued to volunteer for the organization, because I believe so much in the work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I recently attended the Basic Reading Orientation to be able to tutor an adult learner. The orientation provided by Literacy Connections gave me some great skills and strategies to help anyone learn how to read regardless of their age. As a book buddy volunteer, I feel confident that I am truly making a difference in the lives of my students. They love seeing me at their classroom once a week and are always eager to read. I know that my time spent with them is helping to improve their lives as a reader and an individual. I would (and always do) recommend Literacy Connections to other people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In addition to serving on the Board of Directors of this wonderful organization, I have had the pleasure of volunteering in the Book Buddy Program. Book Buddy's give 1 hour per week- one lunch hour- to read to second or third grade students in a local elementary school. These are the kids that will fall behind and never catch up...They need just a little extra one-on-one reading time with someone who cares. This one hour has become the highlight of my week. It is so important to understand the very direct relationship between poverty and illiteracy. Please go to our web site and learn more about the high rate of illiteracy in our community. When an illiterate adult learns to read he (or she) can begin to provide for their family, read to their children and stop the cycle of poverty for their family. While it is important for a caring community to feed, clothe and house the poor, it is also important to provide a "hand up" as well as a "hand out". Literacy Connections is that "hand up".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a Board Member for 8+ years and it is truly remarkable the fine work that this small dedicated staff of Dutchess County Literacy Connections employees and tutor volunteers have accomplished under Executive Director Marge Pfaff. The organization is a necessary asset in the Hudson Valley. It provides the means for many individuals to become productive and active members in the local community and economy. DC LC also ensures that the next generation is not left behind by providing school based programs within the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers