Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Literacy Advance enables volunteers and participants a chance to impact each others lives in a positive manner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

You know how, when you start to volunteer somewhere the organization can tend to overwhelm you ith requests for more and more of your time, adding responsibilities, and eventually burning you out? NOT SO with Literacy Advance! This is such an organized and professional group, and they are incredibly appreciative of even the slightest contribution. I'm continually amazed at the flexibility and support volunteers are afforded, but most of all, the enthusiasm and heart-felt thanks volunteers receive from the staff and students is very energizing. You don't need experience, you will learn what you need to know to get started during a fun and interactive new tutor workshop. And you won't be bogged down by artificial cirriculum, erroneous testing, or unmanageable classes. Classes are small, grouped by learner level, they occur when it's convenient for you, and are completely driven by the students' goals. I will continue volunteering here for as long as there are people who want to learn to become literate!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I found Literacy Advance on Internet. I was looking for a possibility to improve my English. It was few months ago. Now I'm thinking that there is no better place for me. There is a great atmosphere, with absolutely amazing people. All tutors work as a volunteer and they are really, really engaged in this position. I improved my English. One of my friend goes to the computer class, and another goes to learn more about Microsoft Word 2010. So this is the place for learning different skills!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been a volunteer with several non-profits over the last 10 years and have never encountered such a positive, effective and well organized group as Literacy Advance. As a volunteer tutor for 2 years, I have found this group to be so supportive and considerate of both the students and tutors, making each one of us feel incredibly special. And the programs are so effective! I always wanted to feel like I made a difference in someone's life. This volunteer position provides just that. Watching the students grow in confidence as their English improves is the best reward. And I'm not even a teacher by training. Literacy Advance helped me understand what to do and gave me the materials to do it. This is an extraordinary organization with a grand vision of adult literacy and the remarkable capacity to achieve it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have had the pleasure of volunteering at Literacy Advance for almost 3 years. Helping with events has been such a positive experience and working with such a dedicated and energetic staff is inspiring. No matter what your skills and interests are, there is a place in this organization where you can truly make a difference. I see the success of the commitment of staff and volunteers evey day. There is no greater joy than seeing a life transformed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been volunteering here for a few years and I can say without reservation that this place is great. Everyone is friendly and helpful, and the services it provides (all for free of course) are valuable. At the end of a volunteering session, not only do I feel I have contributed something positive, but more often than not, the tasks I perform are intrinsically rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Literacy Advance for over two years assisting with administrative duties. It is a wonderful organization that provides a service needed in our community. It is organized, efficient, and amazing and has the friendliest and nicest staff and volunteers. Besides teaching English as a second language and adult basic education they have family literacy nights at elementary schools to involve parents and the children in the joy of reading. It's a good feeling knowing I can contribute to a worthwhile cause and have such a great time doing it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Literacy Advance of Houston is one of the gems of the city. They work collaboratively with outreach locations as well as in-house to suppost students where they are, whenever they can meet. They offer different classes and opportunities to help us volunteers work with people who would like help to increase knowledge and communication. The program is a wonderful addition to the community and I feel privileged to work with this staff and students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Literacy Advance is so many things: it allows me to share my beliefs that diversity improves our city, it allows me to help someone improve their job potential, it allows me to assure people who need help with literacy to know that we are a safe environment and will work with adults at any level and treat them with dignity, it allows me to be a part of a group that extends a helping hand to others who need to learn to speak English.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I just got started volunteering for Literacy Advance. This has been such an overwheming satisfation for me to be able to give to these students. I've enjoyed every minute of teaching and look forward to meeting new and interesting people. The staff here is awesome!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers