Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 17, 2013

I am a member of LC Fredrikstad Old Town, District 104 J in Norway. The gorgeous with LIONS is that we are not a political or religious organization. The mission statement is : To empower volunteers to serve their communities, meet humanitarian needs, encourage peace and promote international understanding through Lions clubs. To cooperate with other LIONS clubs locally contributes to greater community, understanding and visibility of our work locally, nationally and internationally.

"It's my choice "is a lesson on classroom development and prevention in primary and secondary schools supported by Lions clubs in Norway. But this is also the name of the foundation that administers the educational program. Program is now available for kindergartens, primary schools and for teachers and students in secondary schools. It is better to build children than to repair adults.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2013

The Lions Clubs International Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)3, charitable foundation. It is the fund raising and grant-making arm of Lions Clubs International, a 501(c)4 Civic League/Social Welfare Organization, by IRS Definitions. There is a distinction. The LCIF is doing great work around the globe and in the Unites States. Support your local Lions Club and the Foundation, too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013

I am a 2X Past District Governor, of Lions District 43 Y. (Kentucky USA). Monies that we raise from the public, except for direct expenses, goes back to the community. No one receives compensation, or expenses from monies raised from the public.

I know of no one that has been denied
membership, based on their race.

Lions Clubs International has made it easy to be a Lion, even for those who say "I don't have the time" anyone is welcome to join me on Facebook at J.Wesley Doughman, if they are interested in being a Lion, or if they are a Lion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

Wow - a couple reviews of local Lions clubs that are perceived to perhaps have some bigots. Ours has a black minister. There is no discrimination for giving away ALL donations such as from White Cane for the blind that are brought in to a separate foundation. Dues and activities such as recycling and at fair booths pay for expenses - any meals at meetings are paid for by members - then we are able to also contribute additional monies to those who need donations in the community from the many man and woman-hours we put in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

To echo another reviewer, NONE of the charity money that you donate goes to administrative expenses. Members pay yearly membership dues and that is where all of the administrative expenses come from. Internationally and locally, Lions serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 12, 2011

I question the rating given by Charity Navigator because 100% of all monies collected by Lions Clubs go back to the community. NO fund raising contributions are diverted to admistrative costs. The organization is very strict on this policy and will expel a local club if that club cannot show in their accounting the separation of activity (fund raising) and administrative dollars. Lions Club International Foundation has been rated the #1 Non-Governmental Organization in the World.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We provide eye screening at no charge to children in my district as well as other districts nationally. LCIF was quick to grant funds to help with flooding in the Southern Tier of NY a few years ago. One local club raised over $5,000 to purchase a brailer for a student who was losing his sight. I could go on and on....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Appoint a full PR staff in each district or state to get the word out on what Lions do. We are the best kept secret in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

more exposure

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

When you can help someone in any way you feel uplifted, and that is what Lions have done for me.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Lions Clubs International is a great organization. They are the worlds largest service organization and are involved in humanitarian efforts around the world! An awesome way to help at the local and international level.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working as a volunteer through my local organization. It is a great organization with many, many wonderful projects.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Being a part of the world's largest service organization allows me to make an even larger impact around the world than I would be able to as a small town community volunteer.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Everyone I have met from Lions Club International staff has been wonderful. Very kind, caring and helpful folks.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Wipe out river blindness. Rebuild Haiti. Provide eye glasses for everyone in third world countries that need them to see. Make the world a better place.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers