Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 21, 2013

Lions Camp Tatiyee is there for the special needs population of Arizona, to provide a week where the campers can be accepted for just being themselves. The camp has, for over 50 years, never charged ... more

October 15, 2013

This has been by far the most rewarding community service experience I have had in my 35 years as a Lions International member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

Lions Camp Tatiyee is there for the special needs population of Arizona, to provide a week where the campers can be accepted for just being themselves. The camp has, for over 50 years, never charged a fee to campers, and relied totally on community support. The camp provides a highly professional, yet crazily fun camp experience. They have recently re-certified their ACA accreditation. I have watched the young counselors train, and work. My faith in the youth of the 21st century is restored !

Lion Hans Groot
Phoenix Valley of the Sun Lions Club

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the camp season.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My son is Downs Syndrome and had an opportunity to attend Camp Tatiyee. I was the type of parent that could not be away from him and always guarded this special angel. With heart problems, wheelchair bond, scoliosis and little ability to communicate it was hard to trust someone with his care. The staff was outstanding and he loved every moment at Camp Tatiyee. The change to be excepted with his peers and not stand out in the "normal" world could never be replaced. Children like my son, require 24/7 care and would you not believe as a parent, how much the respite time means to have a place where you can trust professional, trained staff with your child. His heart condition took his life but his experience meant so much to me, I became a board member in hopes to provide more opportunities for persons of special needs to attend this one of a kind camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask organization to donate to provide for more campers to attend

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a Lion when I first moved to AZ. and heard of Camp Tatiyee I went to visit and was so impressed that I ran for the Board of Directors. I was a board member for 12 years. I was so impressed with the staff and all the other people that worked there. I would visit with the campers and see how happy they were and afteer meeting them in the Phoenix area they would recognize me and talk about camp and how they couldn't wait for next years session. To see the impact the Camp has on these individuals brings a lump to my throat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see a longer Camping period.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Arizona Lions Camp Tatiyee is an incredible place where lives are changed on a daily basis. It is fully accredited by the American Camping Association and continues to pass that test with flying colors! The camp serves children and adults with disabilities from the age of seven on up. The disabliities covered are everything except aggressive behavior. Fully staffed every year with two nurses and a counselor pool that continues to return year after year (each is trained in dealing with some aspect of special needs) tells you immediately that is in an awesome place that meets the needs of all involved and then some. The families are given a respite week with the rest of the family while their handicapped member is in the best hands possible. The campers are never ready to leave when the week is over because they have been so engaged with activities that stretch them to attain new skills and confidence ranging from swimming in a heated handicapped accessible pool to archery, acting, arts and crafts, science adventures, nature walks, fishing in the "ole fishing hole", Go Kart racing (as a passenger of course), baseball, basketball, acting, arts & crafts, dances for the older groups, to even rock climbing that they go home much more self-assured and confident than when they arrived. All of the weeks at camp are by age groups and by disability groups as well. For instance, there is a spina bifida week for school age, then young adults and then older adults.

As an observer, the deaf week is the most exciting because everything can be very quiet until a loud and raucous laugh explodes as they all enjoy a joke or a funny story. Hands are constantly flying as they converse with each other and the counselors. Our counselor ratio there is one to one with wheelchairs and two to one with most other disablities. Believe me, there is no better place to be than at our Camp Tatiyee! If you have the opportunity to do so , come to camp to see for yourselves!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing there but would increase the funds given to camp to allow more campers to attend and to be able to spend another week at this wonderful place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The benefits to the campers is life changing but you do not realize the impact on the family and the staff. Just one day will change your life too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Words are inadequate to describe the meaning of this Camp to those that attend. You must visit to feel the full impact on the lives of the campers and their families. It is a privilege to assist in supporting Camp Tatiyee.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers