Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 14, 2012

My son has attended the Lion's Camp Tatiyee since he was 6.5 years of age. There are so many wonderful things to say about this camp. Here are just a few things that truly make this one of the most ... more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been able to enjoy many roles in regards to the Lion's Camp Tatiyee. However, one of my favorite roles (other than volunteering my time) at the Lion's Camp Tatiyee is one of observer. My son has been able to garner the exquisite experience available only at Tatiyee as a camper. Each and every single year, my son has looked forward to attending the Lion's Camp Tatiyee with gleeful joy and explosive excitement. All year long you can hear him ask me (at least once a week), when is camp mom. He will drill me when the applications come out on whether he is all set...did I turn in everything that was needed...does he have a space. As time draws closer to summer, the excitement builds as does the frequency of, "is it almost time for camp mom?" When the day arrives for us to head to Show Low, Arizona to check into camp, my son does little sleep the night before. We double, triple check that we have everything that he will need. In the morning, it is the ever cry of. "is it time to leave mom....is it time to leave?" Of course on our drive up, my son will tell me all the things he plans to do (this year, it was...I want to find a girlfriend,) especially his favorite moment of kicking me out of camp. He will tell me, or rather remind me of that continually with a giant smile on his face. The week of course blazes by in fun and adventurous ways. For my son, camp is never long enough. When I arrive to pick him up and head home after his fun filled week with friends and counselors, it is the disappointment of seeing mom. The best way for me to fully get across how important camp is for my son all I can do is repeat his yearly phrase, "Mom, why do you have to pick me up...can't I live here?"

This camp is home for every person who attends. When I send a friend or someone up to check it out (someone who does not always know about it) they are drawn in to the warmth and love that just seems to be a part of camp. As a mother of a special needs child, one who has attended other camp programs; this is the one camp that I never worry about. I know my son is receiving the same precious care that I give to him every single day. I trust these folks like I do my very special family and friends (I hold high standards.) How many camps have counselors that return in the percentage rate of 85%? How many camps have counselors that marry, have families of their own and still come back to be counselors (including their families in the process?) This is THE CAMP and one of those places that reminds you the world is really not as bad as we sometimes believe...there is HOPE.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provides more funds in order for the camp to fully purchase the land to ensure the camp remains for other generations to enjoy and experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

My son has attended the Lion's Camp Tatiyee since he was 6.5 years of age. There are so many wonderful things to say about this camp. Here are just a few things that truly make this one of the most amazing places for my son in the whole word. 1) He can never outgrow the camp unless he chooses he no longer wants to attend. 2) He is away from mom and gets to be a typical kid for a week in which he hangs out with peers who struggle like he does. 3) The return rate on councilors is higher than any other camp my son has attended. 4) This is the one place that my son waits to visit all year around. 5) The camp and staff are so amazing that my son would rather live there than at home. 6) The camp provides my son with independence and assist with skills he is capable of, but hides from others. 7) I never, ever worry about my son when he is at camp. I know that he is safe and is being cared for by people who love him and want him to have an amazing time. Camp Tatiyee has given my son something that I personally could never give him and that is a place he calls his own. I will never be able to pay back or truly say thank you enough to all that make Camp Tatiyee a reality. My son's life would be vastly different without this safe haven. THANK YOU.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2012

The Lion's Camp Tatiyee is one of the most amazing places I have ever seen. I have never heard of a camp that works with so many diverse folks while meeting their individual needs. Who hears of a camp where the same director has been there for over 20 years and the return rate on counselors is above 80%. My son has attended the Lion's Camp Tatiyee for years. If asked, he would tell you that the Lion's Camp is his favorite place in the whole world. He would also tell you that if he could live there all year around he would. As soon as January hits, he starts asking about camp and when he can go. He starts planning things to do with his friends and of course what he will do for the annual talent show. My son has attended several special need camps and the Lion's Camp is the only one that I have truly felt comfortable leaving my son at for an entire week (longer if he had his way.) They do almost the same job that I do working with my son. But they have been able to get him to do things that not even I can get him to do. We LOVE YOU.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a camper at Camp Tatiyee for going on 7 years. It is truly a gift from god. I know I would not be the person I am today without this wonderful place. My first summer I was thirteen,I had never really been to an overnight camp,let alone one designed just for kids and teens just like me. I was nervous. The counselors were immediately so welcoming and made me feel at ease. I am going again in two days and I am beyond excited. I've been counting down the days. Please don't let this wonderful place be shut down,if you give to anything,give to Tatiyee,truly the happiest place on earth?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

LIONS CAMP TATIYEE is a gift form god to us camper's

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have been a camper for 7 years and i love it. The staff is always wonderful everytime i have gone to camp and they have changed me into the person i have become today and it would be sad knowing that myself as well as other would not be able to attend one year because of the camp having to close down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Camp Tatiyee has become my favorite place in the world. I have been going there since i was 10 and it has changed my life completely. the staff there is amazing every year and i couldnt imagine a world without camp tatiyee!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers