Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 13, 2012

I volunteered at camp Tatiyee and it was one of the most incredible experiences of my life! I had the privilege of taking part in fire drills during safty week, and I was blown away by the compassion... more

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Words fall very short when describing the life long impact and joy that Tatiyee brings to the lives of all involved. i work at Tatiyee and the level of selflessness in the staff blows me away. They truly put campers first in everything, and it is beautiful to see. We do it all for the campers because they change us and push us to be better at our jobs and better human beings. Lion's Camp Tatiyee is important because it provides a safe place for people to find themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2012

I volunteered at camp Tatiyee and it was one of the most incredible experiences of my life! I had the privilege of taking part in fire drills during safty week, and I was blown away by the compassion, professionalism and love demonstrated by the councilors and staff. The campers look forward to their one week of camp all year, they feel loved, respected and free at camp Tatiyee. This camp nestled among the trees in Pinetop, AZ is a beautiful place where heaven touches earth one week at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 14, 2012

My son has attended the Lion's Camp Tatiyee since he was 6.5 years of age. There are so many wonderful things to say about this camp. Here are just a few things that truly make this one of the most ... more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been able to enjoy many roles in regards to the Lion's Camp Tatiyee. However, one of my favorite roles (other than volunteering my time) at the Lion's Camp Tatiyee is one of observer. My son has been able to garner the exquisite experience available only at Tatiyee as a camper. Each and every single year, my son has looked forward to attending the Lion's Camp Tatiyee with gleeful joy and explosive excitement. All year long you can hear him ask me (at least once a week), when is camp mom. He will drill me when the applications come out on whether he is all set...did I turn in everything that was needed...does he have a space. As time draws closer to summer, the excitement builds as does the frequency of, "is it almost time for camp mom?" When the day arrives for us to head to Show Low, Arizona to check into camp, my son does little sleep the night before. We double, triple check that we have everything that he will need. In the morning, it is the ever cry of. "is it time to leave mom....is it time to leave?" Of course on our drive up, my son will tell me all the things he plans to do (this year, it was...I want to find a girlfriend,) especially his favorite moment of kicking me out of camp. He will tell me, or rather remind me of that continually with a giant smile on his face. The week of course blazes by in fun and adventurous ways. For my son, camp is never long enough. When I arrive to pick him up and head home after his fun filled week with friends and counselors, it is the disappointment of seeing mom. The best way for me to fully get across how important camp is for my son all I can do is repeat his yearly phrase, "Mom, why do you have to pick me up...can't I live here?"

This camp is home for every person who attends. When I send a friend or someone up to check it out (someone who does not always know about it) they are drawn in to the warmth and love that just seems to be a part of camp. As a mother of a special needs child, one who has attended other camp programs; this is the one camp that I never worry about. I know my son is receiving the same precious care that I give to him every single day. I trust these folks like I do my very special family and friends (I hold high standards.) How many camps have counselors that return in the percentage rate of 85%? How many camps have counselors that marry, have families of their own and still come back to be counselors (including their families in the process?) This is THE CAMP and one of those places that reminds you the world is really not as bad as we sometimes believe...there is HOPE.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provides more funds in order for the camp to fully purchase the land to ensure the camp remains for other generations to enjoy and experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

My son has attended the Lion's Camp Tatiyee since he was 6.5 years of age. There are so many wonderful things to say about this camp. Here are just a few things that truly make this one of the most amazing places for my son in the whole word. 1) He can never outgrow the camp unless he chooses he no longer wants to attend. 2) He is away from mom and gets to be a typical kid for a week in which he hangs out with peers who struggle like he does. 3) The return rate on councilors is higher than any other camp my son has attended. 4) This is the one place that my son waits to visit all year around. 5) The camp and staff are so amazing that my son would rather live there than at home. 6) The camp provides my son with independence and assist with skills he is capable of, but hides from others. 7) I never, ever worry about my son when he is at camp. I know that he is safe and is being cared for by people who love him and want him to have an amazing time. Camp Tatiyee has given my son something that I personally could never give him and that is a place he calls his own. I will never be able to pay back or truly say thank you enough to all that make Camp Tatiyee a reality. My son's life would be vastly different without this safe haven. THANK YOU.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2012

The Lion's Camp Tatiyee is one of the most amazing places I have ever seen. I have never heard of a camp that works with so many diverse folks while meeting their individual needs. Who hears of a camp where the same director has been there for over 20 years and the return rate on counselors is above 80%. My son has attended the Lion's Camp Tatiyee for years. If asked, he would tell you that the Lion's Camp is his favorite place in the whole world. He would also tell you that if he could live there all year around he would. As soon as January hits, he starts asking about camp and when he can go. He starts planning things to do with his friends and of course what he will do for the annual talent show. My son has attended several special need camps and the Lion's Camp is the only one that I have truly felt comfortable leaving my son at for an entire week (longer if he had his way.) They do almost the same job that I do working with my son. But they have been able to get him to do things that not even I can get him to do. We LOVE YOU.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The benefits to the campers is life changing but you do not realize the impact on the family and the staff. Just one day will change your life too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been working at Lions Camp Tatiyee for 3 years now and adore everything about it. It not only changes the lives of people with disabilities but the lives of everyone else involved. This includes families, friends, donors, caretakers, and those who live around the camp. Lions Camp Tatiyee is what I call "A Slice of What Life Should Be Like."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Lions Camp Tatiyee is Christmas in the summer for so many campers. I worked as a counselor there for 10 years and learned something new everyday. The camp is FREE to children and adults with disabilities. It has an amazing staff year after year...well trained and fun! The camp is absolutely wonderful! I have continued to be involved with the camp as a donor.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Words are inadequate to describe the meaning of this Camp to those that attend. You must visit to feel the full impact on the lives of the campers and their families. It is a privilege to assist in supporting Camp Tatiyee.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My daughter has attended Camp Tatiyee the last two years. It was her first time away from home last year and she and I were both nervous as could be. She had a seizure after my husband and I left and the nurse contacted me right away and reassured me that she was fine. I knew after that, that she was in great hands! She couldn't wait to go back the second year and is already talking about next year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Arizona Lions Camp Tatiyee is the most amazing place I have ever been. I spent seven summers there as a camp counselor, and now volunteer interpret every chance I get. The experiences that Lions Camp provides for the physically and mentally challenged populations are incredible. This place has taught me more about compassion and humility than any other place or person on earth! Just thinking about the wonderful things that happen there puts a smile on my face. Please take a moment to check it out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started working at Lions Camp Tatiyee in the kitchen when I was 15. When I thought of working at a camp, of course it sounded like fun but I had NO idea how much the people who attended the camp and the staff I would work with would impact my life. After serving in positions as counselor and a leadership position for five years, I continue to return to the camp to volunteer to see the returning campers enjoy the best week out of the year. This is a place for individuals with disabilities to try new things, be independent, begin/maintain friendships and experience life in a safe and loving environment. My early years at camp confirmed my career path of working with people with disabilities and I am now a special education teacher. I thank God for Camp Tatiyee and for all the people it brings happiness to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

My name is Jon and I am currently work as a counselor for Lions Camp Tatiyee. I started working at camp during the summer of 2009. If you met me back in 2009 before I started working at camp, you would have met someone who lacked self-confidence. I'll admit that before camp my life had no direction. Back then I felt that my life lacked purpose. Flash forward to today, I am currently attending Grand Canyon University studying pre-medicine. One day I hope to become a pediatrician. My passion in life is helping serve the needs of others. Camp helped me discover that passion. Words cannot describe how grateful I am for my experience here. It has seriously changed my life. My favorite thing about camp is seeing campers come back year after year. Each year they come back more vibrant and over the years I see the campers grow in confidence. Today I like to thank the director of Lions Camp Tatiyee for giving me this opportunity and the self-confidence to know that anything is possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers