Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
December 2, 2013

more

December 2, 2013

My daughter who has DS; has attended the camp for the past four years. She has grown so much after each week stay at camp. She has come back with the most fascinating stories about her time at camp. She has a place that she thinks of as her second home. I am so grateful for all of the hard work Pam and the staff put forth when working with the camp participants.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing, it's perfect

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Our son has attended to Camp Tattiyee for the past three years. He absolutely loves it!! And we love it too!! Thanks to it he has had great experiences! It's a great opportunity that he couldn't have any othet place. The staff is kind, helpful and professional.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 21, 2013

Lions Camp Tatiyee is there for the special needs population of Arizona, to provide a week where the campers can be accepted for just being themselves. The camp has, for over 50 years, never charged ... more

October 15, 2013

This has been by far the most rewarding community service experience I have had in my 35 years as a Lions International member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

Lions Camp Tatiyee is there for the special needs population of Arizona, to provide a week where the campers can be accepted for just being themselves. The camp has, for over 50 years, never charged a fee to campers, and relied totally on community support. The camp provides a highly professional, yet crazily fun camp experience. They have recently re-certified their ACA accreditation. I have watched the young counselors train, and work. My faith in the youth of the 21st century is restored !

Lion Hans Groot
Phoenix Valley of the Sun Lions Club

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the camp season.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My son is Downs Syndrome and had an opportunity to attend Camp Tatiyee. I was the type of parent that could not be away from him and always guarded this special angel. With heart problems, wheelchair bond, scoliosis and little ability to communicate it was hard to trust someone with his care. The staff was outstanding and he loved every moment at Camp Tatiyee. The change to be excepted with his peers and not stand out in the "normal" world could never be replaced. Children like my son, require 24/7 care and would you not believe as a parent, how much the respite time means to have a place where you can trust professional, trained staff with your child. His heart condition took his life but his experience meant so much to me, I became a board member in hopes to provide more opportunities for persons of special needs to attend this one of a kind camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask organization to donate to provide for more campers to attend

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a Lion when I first moved to AZ. and heard of Camp Tatiyee I went to visit and was so impressed that I ran for the Board of Directors. I was a board member for 12 years. I was so impressed with the staff and all the other people that worked there. I would visit with the campers and see how happy they were and afteer meeting them in the Phoenix area they would recognize me and talk about camp and how they couldn't wait for next years session. To see the impact the Camp has on these individuals brings a lump to my throat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see a longer Camping period.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I went to Camp Tatiyee as a camper from 1988 until 1998. I became staff and worked there as a counselor in 1999 and 2001. In 2008 and 2012, I was a volunteer for the deaf week. The place is just an amazing one to be as both a camper and staff. When I was a kid, I would spend all year looking forward to the week deaf children went there. I have made so many friends over the years there. The day camp was over and we all had to go home was the worst. We had to say bye to friends, the staff, and the camp itself. The place itself is so full of life that it is alive itself. We can see the trees get bigger over the years and the place evolving to accommodate every camper. Pam, the director, is an amazing person with the biggest heart and the most patience I have ever seen. Not even the most difficult camper (me) could break her. I really wish I could have gone this past summer but due to a stupid decision I made, I could not, which broke my heart. I hope I will be able to volunteer next summer and contribute to the camp for all the experience I had there as a kid and as an adult. This camp needs all the donations it can get so that it can touch more hearts and inspire the uninspired.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add deaf adult week! ;-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Lions Camp Tatiyee is there for the special needs population of Arizona, to provide a week where the campers can be accepted for just being themselves. The camp has, for over 50 years, never charged a fee to campers, and relied totally on community support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

open it up to a larger population

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This summer was my first year working at Camp Tatiyee as a counselor and I absolutely fell in love with everything. My life changed so much within those eight weeks and being their for all the campers was incredible. The campers and staff taught me so much about life; they are so accepting, so loving,and so real. Camp Tatiyee holds a special place in my heart and I can't wait to go back next summer and see all those bright smiling campers performing at the talent show, dancing the night away at the dance, and sharing stories that truly have impacted my life. I am so blessed for Camp Tatiyee it is truly a gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Arizona Lions Camp Tatiyee is an incredible place where lives are changed on a daily basis. It is fully accredited by the American Camping Association and continues to pass that test with flying colors! The camp serves children and adults with disabilities from the age of seven on up. The disabliities covered are everything except aggressive behavior. Fully staffed every year with two nurses and a counselor pool that continues to return year after year (each is trained in dealing with some aspect of special needs) tells you immediately that is in an awesome place that meets the needs of all involved and then some. The families are given a respite week with the rest of the family while their handicapped member is in the best hands possible. The campers are never ready to leave when the week is over because they have been so engaged with activities that stretch them to attain new skills and confidence ranging from swimming in a heated handicapped accessible pool to archery, acting, arts and crafts, science adventures, nature walks, fishing in the "ole fishing hole", Go Kart racing (as a passenger of course), baseball, basketball, acting, arts & crafts, dances for the older groups, to even rock climbing that they go home much more self-assured and confident than when they arrived. All of the weeks at camp are by age groups and by disability groups as well. For instance, there is a spina bifida week for school age, then young adults and then older adults.

As an observer, the deaf week is the most exciting because everything can be very quiet until a loud and raucous laugh explodes as they all enjoy a joke or a funny story. Hands are constantly flying as they converse with each other and the counselors. Our counselor ratio there is one to one with wheelchairs and two to one with most other disablities. Believe me, there is no better place to be than at our Camp Tatiyee! If you have the opportunity to do so , come to camp to see for yourselves!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing there but would increase the funds given to camp to allow more campers to attend and to be able to spend another week at this wonderful place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

As a counselor for a couple of years and a guest nurse for a short time one summer this camp is very dear to my heart. It is a camp that changes the lives of campers, staff, volunteers, and families of people with special needs! For some of the campers this may be the most exciting event of the year, time they get to focus on their abilities as individuals and not worry about their disability. For some of the families it may be one of the few times of the year they can get "me" time because they get a much needed break from caring for their loved one.
This camp is truly one of the most amazing places for so many people! Much needed donations touch the lives of hundreds if not thousands of people every year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a bucket of endless funds so that they wouldn't have to eliminate weeks of camp due to lack of funds. The director and her family have been amazing for many years for this camp as well as the donors and Lions group for their support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers