Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
179 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For me, it started with a school Project (I am 28 years old, lives in Sweden and take some classes on the side of my job). I reached out to get information and help to try and understand why so many children are abandoned in the Philippines. I was privileged enough to made contact with Mr John Drake himself, the founder of The Lingap Center, and the stories he shared with me have made me speechless. Some of those stories will hunt me for life, and I don’t think I will ever be quit the same person again. To read his story (availed on the website) truly made me understand which huge difference one single person actually can make. We can all find excuses not to help, and think that we have done our fair share and given help to the world, but the thing is, there are even better arguments to help for every single excuse not to. I feel certain that every single penny will make a difference for these children, and I know that every single penny will go to the children directly. Not to stamps, papers or transport for the staff, but for the children directly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The Lingap Children's Foundation does amazing work in the lives of children who would otherwise be forgotten and disregarded by society. Their mission is strong and their successes speak to the organizations strong leadership and quality.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The Lingap Center performs a beautiful and necessary work for children in the Philippines. They lovingly care for those who need it most, and have been able to bring many out of extreme poverty and abuse. I would love to see their reach expand in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change much, if anything, about the Lingap Center. As far as I have seen, they have admirably cared for the children and given them a hope for the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

The Lingap Center continues to prove that it is commited day in and day out to the advancement of opportunity for children. They believe in the potential of young people and are active in its cultivation. Through the sacrifice and the purpose of the center, hope is brought to many children. It is by this result that the Lingap center earns my highest praise.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Several years ago, I discovered John Drake and the Lingap Foundation and what they were doing for needy children of the Philippines. Over several months of interacting with him and the group, I was inspired by John's unquenchable drive and passion to sincerely help so many young people who needed help. To this day I hope to find even a fraction of John's devotion to Lingap's mission. I still regularly read the letters and updates he and his staff send without fail to those interested in the organization's developments, and have been truly impressed to watch its steady growth and real impact on the lives of children in the Philippines. I do not doubt that that country is a better place because of John and the staff of the Lingap Foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Long ago it was said that arranging the Winter Olympics in Lillehammer was impossible. "The best winter games ever" said Mr Samaranch, and President of the Lillehammer Olympic Organizing Committee could say, they said it was impossible, but we did it.
My first encounter with Lingap was in an
abandoned slaughterhouse in Tubod. It was a miserable place and we did what we could to improve conditions for residents there. Then someone told me that an American, Mr John Drake, had plans to build a new center for 100 children and teenagers. Many were skeptical, but I think that the word impossible is not in John's vocabulary. Now he can say, we did it. He, his wife and all his able assistants.
The new Lingap Center is equally well adapted to the purpose, all structures to the Olympic Games in Lillehammer. The best.
PS. I live in Lillehammer, Norway.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I am happy for the Lingap Children that they have somebody like John Drake who really extended an amazing effort to help these children. He is one of a kind, I would say thank you for giving your heart to the Toledanos...Because of you John, these children are assured of their future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This article tells you why the Lingap center is so vital to the children and to the people in the surrounding villages. People who have nothing give all thay they have to the Lingap center. The actions of those so less fortunate than us speak volumes of what the Lingap center is all about.This article will tug at your heart. Read this and you be the judge of the importance of the Lingap Center. This update letter is going to be a bit different from previous editions. As you will recall, Itypically try to tell you how the Lingap children are doing and I am very pleased to announcethat all are doing just fine. The school year is moving along and all have survived the firstmarking period. Our 15 college students are doing remarkably well and our two collegegraduates have landed jobs with the Marriott Hotel in Cebu City!!, jIn this edition, I would like to focus on one of our other important outreach activities. In August,Fr. Geoff Rose, OSFS, the Lingap Chaplain, went with me to visit the Lingap Center (his fifthvisit). Along with the Lingap staff and LonnieCooper, our Peace Corps volunteer, we tookthe opportunity to celebrate Mass at several ofthe squatter villages in the area. The followingweekend, Fr. Geoff conducted a community-wide retreat at St. John de Sahagun CatholicChurch in Toledo City. We used an interpreterwhich was a unique but tremendous and funexperience for all of us!The squatter villages providethe roots for some of theLingap children and many stillhave families living there. It is at these locations that we hold our StreetChildren's Education programs five days a week. Fr. Geoff and I, however,wanted to reach out to the street children's families and extended families in adifferent manner. It was the first time that many of the villagers had ever been toa formal church service and we did it in their own little communities (outside). Itwas really a touching and unbelievably rewarding moment. One thing that struckme especially, was when they took up a collection afterward -- for us!! In onelocation, they donated the equivalent of $1.61 and at a second location, approximately $0.83.Clearly we were not expecting donations, but they wanted to give back for all that has been donefor them! The donations came directly from their hearts and they were given to us with a senseof amazing pride and joy.In one village, a lady prepared a feast for us after Mass consisting of rice, roasted chicken and(warm) Coke. I seriously doubt that her family had ever had a meal like the one she hadprepared in our honor. It was her way of expressing gratitude to us for taking the time to visitand especially for celebrating Mass together with them. They were so honored to have a priest and me visit their homes that our hostess did everything she could for us. She was crying as we Celebrated Mass in Larap Village
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Page 2
She served us because it was such an unbelievable honor for her family. She refused to join us since it was her ‘privilege’ to serve us. We had to eat it of course, but we left as much as we could soshe would have food for her children. These villagers have nothing - nothing at all and live inthe worst possible poverty - yet they took up a collection during Mass and then later fed us!! Itsimply demonstrates that those who have nothing are the most generous of all. I am reminded once again of one of my favorite quotes from Bob Pierce who said: "Let my heart be broken by the things that break the heart of God." My heart was certainly broken, yet filled with joy - it isreally difficult to describe my feelings in this situation. But I will freely admit that I absolutelylove the work that we do.As mentioned, the villagers seldom, if ever, had attended a formal church service. The church istoo far away for most of them and travel is difficult at best. Further, they are not particularlywelcome or at least they don't feel that they are. On the following Saturday evening, as we weredoing the community-wide retreat at the church, to our amazement, many of the villagers cameand filled in the front pews! I knew they were there because I could see them through my tears.Fr. Geoff added: "What an honor and a privilege it was to bring the Mass to these villagers.They were powerful experiences of the Body of Christ. To see many of those same faces come tothe retreat, told me that we had definitely accomplished our goals for this week!"This is just one of many examples in which the Lingap Center is empowering those who are lessfortunate. While our focus is always on the children, we are concerned about their communitiesand families as well. All of you, our supporters and Place at the Table sponsors, have made thispossible. It would not have happened without you. I can only thank you all so much for makingit possible. Together, all of us really are making a very big difference in many lives, both youngand old.As I remember those moments in the squatter villages, I am reminded of a quote from Jonas Salkin which he said:"I feel that the greatest reward for doing is the opportunity to do more.”

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I have been a supporter of the Lingap Center for the past several years and can say without a doubt the John Drake has done tremendous work over a relatively short period of time helping the less fortunate in the Philippines. I will continue to support the organizations efforts for as long as I can. To all the supporters involved, I say keep up the good work and may God bless you. Glenn C

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

This is a dynamic organization one with the sole mission of helping kids. John Drake is dedicated to this mission of helpingt these kids (the throw away kids of this region) to make a live for themselves, which without this Center, they would be illiterate and street beggers. I call John Drake Saint John because of his dedication and caring and his motivation to help these kids. John seeks every avenue of support for this caring and life changing mission. The Lingap Center deserves ever donation that they receive. Karen Randall

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers