Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
193 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 2, 2014

more

November 2, 2014

I have worked with the Lingap ministry in my church for the last few years. Never have I seen an organization more focused on the children and their success than with Lingap. I've seen the lives saved by the personal intervention of one of board members who happened to be making house visits during his stay in Lingap. I've seen kids go from being banned from entering the church building to being a valued member of the choir. I've seen kids learning how to cook well enough to earn money using these skills. I've seen children discovered who have incredible scientific minds. I've seen children able to succeed in elementary and high school, and now they are proceeding on to college and tech schools. They are becoming productive citizens in a country where they were given little or no chance. Lingap should be a model for centers that focus on the success of children who, otherwise, would have no chance in the world. Please support Lingap in any way you can.
November 2, 2014

more

November 2, 2014

I am amazed at the progress they have made in the Lingap organization. I have met some of the children that have come over they are simple amazing. They have defiantly put the money to good use.
November 2, 2014

more

November 2, 2014

I am a member of our church ministry who supports the Lingap Center and my husband and I support A Place at the Table. We have had the privilege to meet John Drake and also a few of the children from the Lingap center. They are all truly amazing. The story of how John started the center is heartwarming. I encourage everyone to look at the website and read the stories and look at the pictures and videos. This is truly what life is about. Caring and supporting those in need. The fact that 100 percent of our donations go directly to the Lingap Center speaks volumes. Last year our 24 year old son gave us the most perfect Christmas gift. He made a donation to the Lingap Center in our name. He was so moved by what he saw on the website and realized that making a donation was the perfect gift.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

If you want to make a difference, then Lingap is an organization where you can have significant impact. My wife and I support a number of organizations in both education and child welfare, and I can say with certainty this is the one where I know our support is completely focused on those whom the mission serves. We are each made in the image and likeness of Christ, unique and never to be repeated. John Drake and the Lingap center trustees understand this at their core, and I have profound respect for their tireless servant leadership.
Rick H
July 31, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 26, 2012

I'm a long time supporter of this charity, and personally familiar with it's work in Toledo City, RP. I have visited the center every year since 2007. The children are smiling, happy, and hard working... more

July 31, 2014

I have been a donor and promotor of Lingap since it's founding. Unlike most donors I have had the pleasure of visiting the Center in both it's old location and the fantastic new one, over the last 8 years.
I know the staff, children, and founder John Drake. I strongly urge all to support this
effort to improve the lives of the street children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only improvement I would consider possible would be to enlarge it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2012

I'm a long time supporter of this charity, and personally familiar with it's work in Toledo City, RP. I have visited the center every year since 2007. The children are smiling, happy, and hard working. Several of the wards have completed college with the assistance of Lingap. Currently 13 students are enrolled in college. ALL of the wards attend school. One is currently enrolled in special needs programs.The center itself is clean, neat, and an outstanding example for others. I am PROUD to be a supporter of it's work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2011

I visited Lingap again this year with my wife and daughter. I found the center to be immaculate (the kids clean it), and it is in excellent repair. The children have made great strides in their education. This time, I visited the schools attended by the children, and talked to the principal.

I was also present when 23 of the wards were confirmed at the cathedral on fiesta day.

We were impressed.

I am personally familiar with the center, and it's staff . I am familiar with Toledo city, and maintain a residence there. I can recommend it most highly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I KNOW the children. I've been visiting there for the past 5 years. I believe 15 of the wards are now attending college. The greatest accomplishment is..their smiles.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it, so that children on ythe mountain could be helped.

November 12, 2010

I am a retired CPA. I have been involved with Lingap for 4 years. I have visited the center three times in the last 4 years. It is located only a short distance from my wife's home there in Toledo. She was a teacher in Toledo for 15 years. The center is a miracle. The children there are well cared for. The center is beautiful, well maintained, and staffed with highly qualified people. Education of the children is one of their highest priorities. The children are clean and courteous. Some of them comprise the choir of the local Catholic cathedral. It is very hard to believe the terrible circumstances of abuse and exploitation that have brought them to Lingap. The children are selected by the local department of social welfare. The center is greatly respected in the local community. It is indeed a model for such establishments. I have never seen a better one. Lingap attends the needs of up to 100 children. The organization is small. Neither John Drake nor any of the other board members receives any salary at all. Every dollar contributed goes to the welfare of the children. John Drake is a hero, and a real christian.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally visited the center three times. I know some of the children by name, and some of the staff. I've attended church with the children, and have eaten a meal there. There are presently 11 children attending college. That is really extraordinary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that I'd change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Personal visit to the original Lingap Center.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

It is the most extraordinary charity I have ever encountered.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Your money is well spent. Your heart will be glad.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I have been a donor to the Lingap Center since its inception, and this is one of the best causes I have ever been associated with. The children who are helped by the Lingap Center are some of the mos... more

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I corresponded with John Drake last night on the internet, and asked him why he couldn't just take a break from his tireless work for the Lingap Center, and his answer amazed me. He said "Keep in mind that I really do love what I do….." That was all I needed to hear to know that this has to be the best charity in the world. John is so committed and every dime goes to some of the most needy kids in the world.
Please consider supporting this very worthwhile charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would start one in every third world country due to the incredible need across the world. We would have to clone John Drake, though!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2012

I have been a donor to the Lingap Center since its inception, and this is one of the best causes I have ever been associated with. The children who are helped by the Lingap Center are some of the most fortunate children on the planet. These children started with much less than nothing, and the Lingap Center gives them hope, food, shelter and a new life. What I like best is that all donations go directly to the kids. The overhead and administration is covered by the generous people who started the center, so you know that all your money will help feed and clothe kids directly. I personally have known John for 30 years, and his honesty and integrity in starting the Lingap Center is unparalleled. This is one of the best charities around. I will support it as long as I have the resources to do so. The kids deserve a chance in life. This charity gives them one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When people are thinking about a charity, one thing that they may wonder about is how much of the money that is donated is used for running the charity i.e. administration, and what percentage actually goes to the beneficiaries of the charity. In the case of the Lingap Children's Foundation, 100% of the donations go directly to the kids.
March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have known John Drake for many years and am in awe of his work for the Lingap center. His diligence in pursuit of this ministry are almost indescribable. We are so happy to be at least a small part of this effort as donors.
March 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have heard Mr. John Drake speak twice about his foundation. He is the real deal and does incredible work making real change for the better in the lives of the children of the Philippines.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lingap Children’s Foundation is HOPE for a brighter future, a PROMISE for lost, abandoned, abused, forgotten and some nearly dead children providing food, shelter, education and a safe haven. It offers opportunity for the forsaken innocent children. Founder John Drake works passionately and tirelessly for such a worthwhile cause. ‘Tito John’ as he is fondly called by the children and staff of Lingap, answered God’s call and is a living witness to Mother Teresa’s words “Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time and always start with the person nearest you.” Tito John went BEYOND helping the one nearest him commuting from Michigan, USA keeping his promise in support of Lingap. Know that your financial support help RESCUE innocent neglected lives and serve as a LIFELINE making a difference for a lifetime. 100% of donations go to Lingap Children’s Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers