Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
179 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 26, 2012

I'm a long time supporter of this charity, and personally familiar with it's work in Toledo City, RP. I have visited the center every year since 2007. The children are smiling, happy, and hard working... more

July 31, 2014

I have been a donor and promotor of Lingap since it's founding. Unlike most donors I have had the pleasure of visiting the Center in both it's old location and the fantastic new one, over the last 8 years.
I know the staff, children, and founder John Drake. I strongly urge all to support this
effort to improve the lives of the street children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only improvement I would consider possible would be to enlarge it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2012

I'm a long time supporter of this charity, and personally familiar with it's work in Toledo City, RP. I have visited the center every year since 2007. The children are smiling, happy, and hard working. Several of the wards have completed college with the assistance of Lingap. Currently 13 students are enrolled in college. ALL of the wards attend school. One is currently enrolled in special needs programs.The center itself is clean, neat, and an outstanding example for others. I am PROUD to be a supporter of it's work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2011

I visited Lingap again this year with my wife and daughter. I found the center to be immaculate (the kids clean it), and it is in excellent repair. The children have made great strides in their education. This time, I visited the schools attended by the children, and talked to the principal.

I was also present when 23 of the wards were confirmed at the cathedral on fiesta day.

We were impressed.

I am personally familiar with the center, and it's staff . I am familiar with Toledo city, and maintain a residence there. I can recommend it most highly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I KNOW the children. I've been visiting there for the past 5 years. I believe 15 of the wards are now attending college. The greatest accomplishment is..their smiles.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it, so that children on ythe mountain could be helped.

November 12, 2010

I am a retired CPA. I have been involved with Lingap for 4 years. I have visited the center three times in the last 4 years. It is located only a short distance from my wife's home there in Toledo. She was a teacher in Toledo for 15 years. The center is a miracle. The children there are well cared for. The center is beautiful, well maintained, and staffed with highly qualified people. Education of the children is one of their highest priorities. The children are clean and courteous. Some of them comprise the choir of the local Catholic cathedral. It is very hard to believe the terrible circumstances of abuse and exploitation that have brought them to Lingap. The children are selected by the local department of social welfare. The center is greatly respected in the local community. It is indeed a model for such establishments. I have never seen a better one. Lingap attends the needs of up to 100 children. The organization is small. Neither John Drake nor any of the other board members receives any salary at all. Every dollar contributed goes to the welfare of the children. John Drake is a hero, and a real christian.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally visited the center three times. I know some of the children by name, and some of the staff. I've attended church with the children, and have eaten a meal there. There are presently 11 children attending college. That is really extraordinary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that I'd change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Personal visit to the original Lingap Center.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

It is the most extraordinary charity I have ever encountered.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Your money is well spent. Your heart will be glad.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I have been a donor to the Lingap Center since its inception, and this is one of the best causes I have ever been associated with. The children who are helped by the Lingap Center are some of the mos... more

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I corresponded with John Drake last night on the internet, and asked him why he couldn't just take a break from his tireless work for the Lingap Center, and his answer amazed me. He said "Keep in mind that I really do love what I do….." That was all I needed to hear to know that this has to be the best charity in the world. John is so committed and every dime goes to some of the most needy kids in the world.
Please consider supporting this very worthwhile charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would start one in every third world country due to the incredible need across the world. We would have to clone John Drake, though!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2012

I have been a donor to the Lingap Center since its inception, and this is one of the best causes I have ever been associated with. The children who are helped by the Lingap Center are some of the most fortunate children on the planet. These children started with much less than nothing, and the Lingap Center gives them hope, food, shelter and a new life. What I like best is that all donations go directly to the kids. The overhead and administration is covered by the generous people who started the center, so you know that all your money will help feed and clothe kids directly. I personally have known John for 30 years, and his honesty and integrity in starting the Lingap Center is unparalleled. This is one of the best charities around. I will support it as long as I have the resources to do so. The kids deserve a chance in life. This charity gives them one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When people are thinking about a charity, one thing that they may wonder about is how much of the money that is donated is used for running the charity i.e. administration, and what percentage actually goes to the beneficiaries of the charity. In the case of the Lingap Children's Foundation, 100% of the donations go directly to the kids.
April 4, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

Everyone -- Please know: Every cent contributed is used on the children. Absolutely no money is spent for administration expenses. Mr. Drake you're surely loved by each of the children who reside i... more

April 4, 2014

The Lingap Children's Foundation is my FAVORITE charity. Hopefully, this year will be the 3rd year that they've won top honors with "Great Nonprofits". They deserve it. I know of no other charity that is run so well, or made such a difference in the lives of countless homeless children. Please support them. Any amount will be helpful. As a donor in their "Place At The Table Program" I can't tell you how wonderful I feel knowing that my little $300 per year will make such a difference in the life of a child. Because John Drake and the Board of Directors pay all administrative costs, every penny donated truly goes to the children. For such a little amount, Lingap is able to house, feed and educate a child. Quite a fantastic return on investment, wouldn't you say? If you can't help them financially, please remember them in your prayers. Thank you :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - the best run organization I know of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

Everyone -- Please know: Every cent contributed is used on the children. Absolutely no money is spent for administration expenses. Mr. Drake you're surely loved by each of the children who reside in the Lingap home, whose lives are forever changed as a result of this foundation. Thank you for giving me an opportunity to feel as if I'm really able to help in this wonderful endeavor by participating in the Lingap "Place At The Table" program -- for a mere $300 a year, Lingap is able to feed, clothe and educate a child. Surely the best return on any investment I could ever possibly make. Hugs and love to you, Mrs. Drake and all of the children!

Jean Barber

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned of the Lingap Children's Foundation several years ago while reading a large (2 or 3-page) article in the Sunday edition of the Detroit Free Press. The Lingap Children's Foundation is an AWESOME organization. It was started by Mr. John Drake from Jackson, Michigan, in a very, very poor city named Toledo City, in the Philipines -- a country literally on the other side of our World. John was a business executive on what was going to be one of his last trips to the Philipines before his retirement I believe, but God had other plans for John! I strongly encourage you to visit Lingap's website (www.lingapcenter.org) and read this incredible, miraculous story -- it will make you laugh and it will make you cry. Lingap's first home had previously been a slaughter house for pigs. From that humble beginning, they have built a wonderful safe home for the children. John and his Board members pay for all administration costs. Every single penny donated to the Lingap Foundation goes for the children. I personally chose to participate in their "Place At The Table Program". For a mere $300 a year they are able to house, feed and educate a child. Truly, I can't tell you how good I feel when my quarterly payment of $75 is sent..................Just knowing that for such a small amount of money I'm helping in my own little way for a child to be provided with not only shelter, safety, and an education, but also LOVE. They even have tutors to help the children excel in their school work. They had several of their children graduate from college this year -- what an accomplishment. In addition to approximately 100 children who live at Lingap year round, they teach and feed literally hundreds of other street children. John stays in touch with all donors on a very regular basis by sending updated news letters. This organization is truly one of my absolute favorites. Please check out their website and perhaps help in any way that you can. Kindest regards.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

What John Drake from Jackson, Michigan, has done for more than 100-children in the Philippines is TRULY incredible! I read a 3-page article in the Detroit Free Press several years ago and was moved enough to become a member of this group's "Place At the Table".....For only $300.00 a year they are able to house, clothe and educate a child for the entire year! John Drake and members of their Board pay ALL administrative costs, so every single penny donated goes to the children. PLEASE read his 45-page document on this website named "I Heard God's Call, But How Will I Answer", maybe it will move you as it has me.................This program is so
successful. I'm thrilled each March when I make my donation, knowing that there is one child being cared for and given a chance in life due to that little amount of money. If you are unable to donate, please remember this wonderful organization in your prayers and spread the word among your friends.....It is an AWESOME charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

John has brought the story of the Lingap Children's Foundation to the First Presbyterian Church of Hillsdale, Michigan on several occasions. We are moved by how the Lord has worked through John and the Lingap family. Our Ladies' Society and our whole church mission support Lingap with conviction that this foundation is doing as Christ instructed--minister to the poor and needy.
March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have known John Drake for many years and am in awe of his work for the Lingap center. His diligence in pursuit of this ministry are almost indescribable. We are so happy to be at least a small part of this effort as donors.
March 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have heard Mr. John Drake speak twice about his foundation. He is the real deal and does incredible work making real change for the better in the lives of the children of the Philippines.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lingap Children’s Foundation is HOPE for a brighter future, a PROMISE for lost, abandoned, abused, forgotten and some nearly dead children providing food, shelter, education and a safe haven. It offers opportunity for the forsaken innocent children. Founder John Drake works passionately and tirelessly for such a worthwhile cause. ‘Tito John’ as he is fondly called by the children and staff of Lingap, answered God’s call and is a living witness to Mother Teresa’s words “Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time and always start with the person nearest you.” Tito John went BEYOND helping the one nearest him commuting from Michigan, USA keeping his promise in support of Lingap. Know that your financial support help RESCUE innocent neglected lives and serve as a LIFELINE making a difference for a lifetime. 100% of donations go to Lingap Children’s Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For me, it started with a school Project (I am 28 years old, lives in Sweden and take some classes on the side of my job). I reached out to get information and help to try and understand why so many children are abandoned in the Philippines. I was privileged enough to made contact with Mr John Drake himself, the founder of The Lingap Center, and the stories he shared with me have made me speechless. Some of those stories will hunt me for life, and I don’t think I will ever be quit the same person again. To read his story (availed on the website) truly made me understand which huge difference one single person actually can make. We can all find excuses not to help, and think that we have done our fair share and given help to the world, but the thing is, there are even better arguments to help for every single excuse not to. I feel certain that every single penny will make a difference for these children, and I know that every single penny will go to the children directly. Not to stamps, papers or transport for the staff, but for the children directly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014

more

March 3, 2014

The most awesome opportunity to invest time and resources in an organization focused on human capabilitiy. Rescuing children and investing in safety, health, education, faith, and a future is the only focus of this organization. Every penny raised goes to this mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers