Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
178 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2014

more

April 11, 2014

When people are thinking about a charity, one thing that they may wonder about is how much of the money that is donated is used for running the charity i.e. administration, and what percentage actually goes to the beneficiaries of the charity. In the case of the Lingap Children's Foundation, 100% of the donations go directly to the kids.
April 4, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

Everyone -- Please know: Every cent contributed is used on the children. Absolutely no money is spent for administration expenses. Mr. Drake you're surely loved by each of the children who reside i... more

April 4, 2014

The Lingap Children's Foundation is my FAVORITE charity. Hopefully, this year will be the 3rd year that they've won top honors with "Great Nonprofits". They deserve it. I know of no other charity that is run so well, or made such a difference in the lives of countless homeless children. Please support them. Any amount will be helpful. As a donor in their "Place At The Table Program" I can't tell you how wonderful I feel knowing that my little $300 per year will make such a difference in the life of a child. Because John Drake and the Board of Directors pay all administrative costs, every penny donated truly goes to the children. For such a little amount, Lingap is able to house, feed and educate a child. Quite a fantastic return on investment, wouldn't you say? If you can't help them financially, please remember them in your prayers. Thank you :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - the best run organization I know of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

Everyone -- Please know: Every cent contributed is used on the children. Absolutely no money is spent for administration expenses. Mr. Drake you're surely loved by each of the children who reside in the Lingap home, whose lives are forever changed as a result of this foundation. Thank you for giving me an opportunity to feel as if I'm really able to help in this wonderful endeavor by participating in the Lingap "Place At The Table" program -- for a mere $300 a year, Lingap is able to feed, clothe and educate a child. Surely the best return on any investment I could ever possibly make. Hugs and love to you, Mrs. Drake and all of the children!

Jean Barber

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned of the Lingap Children's Foundation several years ago while reading a large (2 or 3-page) article in the Sunday edition of the Detroit Free Press. The Lingap Children's Foundation is an AWESOME organization. It was started by Mr. John Drake from Jackson, Michigan, in a very, very poor city named Toledo City, in the Philipines -- a country literally on the other side of our World. John was a business executive on what was going to be one of his last trips to the Philipines before his retirement I believe, but God had other plans for John! I strongly encourage you to visit Lingap's website (www.lingapcenter.org) and read this incredible, miraculous story -- it will make you laugh and it will make you cry. Lingap's first home had previously been a slaughter house for pigs. From that humble beginning, they have built a wonderful safe home for the children. John and his Board members pay for all administration costs. Every single penny donated to the Lingap Foundation goes for the children. I personally chose to participate in their "Place At The Table Program". For a mere $300 a year they are able to house, feed and educate a child. Truly, I can't tell you how good I feel when my quarterly payment of $75 is sent..................Just knowing that for such a small amount of money I'm helping in my own little way for a child to be provided with not only shelter, safety, and an education, but also LOVE. They even have tutors to help the children excel in their school work. They had several of their children graduate from college this year -- what an accomplishment. In addition to approximately 100 children who live at Lingap year round, they teach and feed literally hundreds of other street children. John stays in touch with all donors on a very regular basis by sending updated news letters. This organization is truly one of my absolute favorites. Please check out their website and perhaps help in any way that you can. Kindest regards.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

What John Drake from Jackson, Michigan, has done for more than 100-children in the Philippines is TRULY incredible! I read a 3-page article in the Detroit Free Press several years ago and was moved enough to become a member of this group's "Place At the Table".....For only $300.00 a year they are able to house, clothe and educate a child for the entire year! John Drake and members of their Board pay ALL administrative costs, so every single penny donated goes to the children. PLEASE read his 45-page document on this website named "I Heard God's Call, But How Will I Answer", maybe it will move you as it has me.................This program is so
successful. I'm thrilled each March when I make my donation, knowing that there is one child being cared for and given a chance in life due to that little amount of money. If you are unable to donate, please remember this wonderful organization in your prayers and spread the word among your friends.....It is an AWESOME charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2014

more

March 30, 2014

John has brought the story of the Lingap Children's Foundation to the First Presbyterian Church of Hillsdale, Michigan on several occasions. We are moved by how the Lord has worked through John and the Lingap family. Our Ladies' Society and our whole church mission support Lingap with conviction that this foundation is doing as Christ instructed--minister to the poor and needy.
March 30, 2014

more

March 30, 2014

I have known John Drake for many years and am in awe of his work for the Lingap center. His diligence in pursuit of this ministry are almost indescribable. We are so happy to be at least a small part of this effort as donors.
March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

I have heard Mr. John Drake speak twice about his foundation. He is the real deal and does incredible work making real change for the better in the lives of the children of the Philippines.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 22, 2014

more

March 22, 2014

Lingap Children’s Foundation is HOPE for a brighter future, a PROMISE for lost, abandoned, abused, forgotten and some nearly dead children providing food, shelter, education and a safe haven. It offers opportunity for the forsaken innocent children. Founder John Drake works passionately and tirelessly for such a worthwhile cause. ‘Tito John’ as he is fondly called by the children and staff of Lingap, answered God’s call and is a living witness to Mother Teresa’s words “Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time and always start with the person nearest you.” Tito John went BEYOND helping the one nearest him commuting from Michigan, USA keeping his promise in support of Lingap. Know that your financial support help RESCUE innocent neglected lives and serve as a LIFELINE making a difference for a lifetime. 100% of donations go to Lingap Children’s Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 5, 2014

more

March 5, 2014

For me, it started with a school Project (I am 28 years old, lives in Sweden and take some classes on the side of my job). I reached out to get information and help to try and understand why so many children are abandoned in the Philippines. I was privileged enough to made contact with Mr John Drake himself, the founder of The Lingap Center, and the stories he shared with me have made me speechless. Some of those stories will hunt me for life, and I don’t think I will ever be quit the same person again. To read his story (availed on the website) truly made me understand which huge difference one single person actually can make. We can all find excuses not to help, and think that we have done our fair share and given help to the world, but the thing is, there are even better arguments to help for every single excuse not to. I feel certain that every single penny will make a difference for these children, and I know that every single penny will go to the children directly. Not to stamps, papers or transport for the staff, but for the children directly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014

more

March 3, 2014

The most awesome opportunity to invest time and resources in an organization focused on human capabilitiy. Rescuing children and investing in safety, health, education, faith, and a future is the only focus of this organization. Every penny raised goes to this mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 13, 2014

more

January 13, 2014

John Drake spoke at our church, St John The Evangelist, in Jackson, Michigan, a number of years ago and convinced us of the great work being done at the Lingap Center. We have been donors for several years because,we have met some of the children, as well as receiving updates by our Pastor and some of our parishioners that have visited the center. It is a well run organization that puts 100% of the donations into the needs of the children. Honest and trustworthy. Please help!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2014

more

January 12, 2014

John Drake came and spoke to St. Laurence Catholic Church in Sugar Land, Texas where we are parishioners. As a result we became "Place at the Table" sponsors and will continue to support this great cause. Everyone should consider adding this great cause to their "basket" of charities to support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers