Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
193 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 18, 2015

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2013

If you have not met John Drake and heard about The Lingap Center you have missed an unbelievable miracle! He has created growth and beauty from a desperate situation. I didn't think I could add anot... more

January 18, 2015

The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.
- Mahatma Gandhi
If you at a point in your life that you have time to "give back" or "pay forward" I suggest that you take the time to do your homework before you haphazardly donate your time and effort. I too was
in your shoes and looking for charity organizations that were making a difference in the world, but were doing so without high administrative costs or by making the creators and management wealthy. Lingap was created by John Drake, one for most selfless men I have met and he has created a miracle for these children by giving 100% of donations directly to the organization. I am very proud of my time, efforts and donations to help the Lingap Children's Foundation as I know they are very appreciated and is being managed by the best steward I know - John Drake! My hope is that you will give generously, but give WISELY, in your quest to share your good fortune.

Tina S. Walther - 734-395-8212

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

July 11, 2013

If you have not met John Drake and heard about The Lingap Center you have missed an unbelievable miracle! He has created growth and beauty from a desperate situation. I didn't think I could add another thing to my plate, but found it is so easy when I realized what John has and is accomplishing. His presentation that details the the struggles they have endured and the successes they have had should be shown at every organization - especially ones that kids are involved in.
I am thrilled to have met John and his cause and feel blessed every time I contribute or have any interaction with such a noble cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more folks to get involved and have them spread the word!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2015

more


1 previous review
March 30, 2014

John has brought the story of the Lingap Children's Foundation to the First Presbyterian Church of Hillsdale, Michigan on several occasions. We are moved by how the Lord has worked through John and th... more

January 16, 2015

John Drake keeps every Lingap child in his heart and and in our minds. I thank him for allowing others to help support those who serve as God's hands and feet on this important mission.
March 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

John has brought the story of the Lingap Children's Foundation to the First Presbyterian Church of Hillsdale, Michigan on several occasions. We are moved by how the Lord has worked through John and the Lingap family. Our Ladies' Society and our whole church mission support Lingap with conviction that this foundation is doing as Christ instructed--minister to the poor and needy.
January 13, 2015

more

January 13, 2015

A charity that utilizes 100% of what you donate to the cause is one in a million and that is exactly what the Lingap Children's Foundation is. This is our #1 charity now and for years to come. John Drake is exactly the kind of person you want to support and trust.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

January 12, 2015

more


4 previous reviews - show all
April 4, 2014

The Lingap Children's Foundation is my FAVORITE charity. Hopefully, this year will be the 3rd year that they've won top honors with "Great Nonprofits". They deserve it. I know of no other charity t... more

January 12, 2015

Lingap Childrens Foundation is my VERY FAVORITE charity. It's unbelievable what John Drake has accomplished. Every penny donated is used for the children and not for any administrative costs, as Mr. Drake and his Board of Directors personally pay for all administrative expenses. These children who once lived on the street are now in school and attend Church. They anticipate that 21 children will be enrolled in college next year. Since education is the best defense against poverty, their lives will be totally changed. I love knowing that my mere $300 per year for Lingap's "Place At The Table" Program will feed, house and educate a child. What a fantastic return on such a small investment. Thank you, John for all you've done for these children and for the wonderful feeling I experience with each quarterly $75 donation.
April 4, 2014

The Lingap Children's Foundation is my FAVORITE charity. Hopefully, this year will be the 3rd year that they've won top honors with "Great Nonprofits". They deserve it. I know of no other charity that is run so well, or made such a difference in the lives of countless homeless children. Please support them. Any amount will be helpful. As a donor in their "Place At The Table Program" I can't tell you how wonderful I feel knowing that my little $300 per year will make such a difference in the life of a child. Because John Drake and the Board of Directors pay all administrative costs, every penny donated truly goes to the children. For such a little amount, Lingap is able to house, feed and educate a child. Quite a fantastic return on investment, wouldn't you say? If you can't help them financially, please remember them in your prayers. Thank you :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - the best run organization I know of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

Everyone -- Please know: Every cent contributed is used on the children. Absolutely no money is spent for administration expenses. Mr. Drake you're surely loved by each of the children who reside in the Lingap home, whose lives are forever changed as a result of this foundation. Thank you for giving me an opportunity to feel as if I'm really able to help in this wonderful endeavor by participating in the Lingap "Place At The Table" program -- for a mere $300 a year, Lingap is able to feed, clothe and educate a child. Surely the best return on any investment I could ever possibly make. Hugs and love to you, Mrs. Drake and all of the children!

Jean Barber

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned of the Lingap Children's Foundation several years ago while reading a large (2 or 3-page) article in the Sunday edition of the Detroit Free Press. The Lingap Children's Foundation is an AWESOME organization. It was started by Mr. John Drake from Jackson, Michigan, in a very, very poor city named Toledo City, in the Philipines -- a country literally on the other side of our World. John was a business executive on what was going to be one of his last trips to the Philipines before his retirement I believe, but God had other plans for John! I strongly encourage you to visit Lingap's website (www.lingapcenter.org) and read this incredible, miraculous story -- it will make you laugh and it will make you cry. Lingap's first home had previously been a slaughter house for pigs. From that humble beginning, they have built a wonderful safe home for the children. John and his Board members pay for all administration costs. Every single penny donated to the Lingap Foundation goes for the children. I personally chose to participate in their "Place At The Table Program". For a mere $300 a year they are able to house, feed and educate a child. Truly, I can't tell you how good I feel when my quarterly payment of $75 is sent..................Just knowing that for such a small amount of money I'm helping in my own little way for a child to be provided with not only shelter, safety, and an education, but also LOVE. They even have tutors to help the children excel in their school work. They had several of their children graduate from college this year -- what an accomplishment. In addition to approximately 100 children who live at Lingap year round, they teach and feed literally hundreds of other street children. John stays in touch with all donors on a very regular basis by sending updated news letters. This organization is truly one of my absolute favorites. Please check out their website and perhaps help in any way that you can. Kindest regards.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

What John Drake from Jackson, Michigan, has done for more than 100-children in the Philippines is TRULY incredible! I read a 3-page article in the Detroit Free Press several years ago and was moved enough to become a member of this group's "Place At the Table".....For only $300.00 a year they are able to house, clothe and educate a child for the entire year! John Drake and members of their Board pay ALL administrative costs, so every single penny donated goes to the children. PLEASE read his 45-page document on this website named "I Heard God's Call, But How Will I Answer", maybe it will move you as it has me.................This program is so
successful. I'm thrilled each March when I make my donation, knowing that there is one child being cared for and given a chance in life due to that little amount of money. If you are unable to donate, please remember this wonderful organization in your prayers and spread the word among your friends.....It is an AWESOME charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2015

more


1 previous review
January 7, 2014

I heard John speak at a mission week at our church. His devotion and passion to these children moved us to become monthly donors. His personal contact with us throughout the year is remarkable. the... more

January 12, 2015

John Drake spoke at our church and we have been donors ever since - giving monthly. 100% of the overhead is handled by the Board, so every penny you donate goes to the children. John was asked to help and God has worked through his generous hands to help these children - in a personal way - and to bless the donors, with the knowledge they can be part of this blessing.
January 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I heard John speak at a mission week at our church. His devotion and passion to these children moved us to become monthly donors. His personal contact with us throughout the year is remarkable. the earthquake and typhoon were a personal experience to us, as we learned of the children's generosity towards others. Beauty blossoms where God's love exists...it has unfolded to include not only those children that have grown and shared as they do..but it had enriched us as well. It should be noted that 100% of your donation goes to the children, the Board absorbs the expenses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - except invite more people to be part of this group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

John Drake is tireless in telling people the good news of the many successes of the Lingap Center. He has visited our church several times and is generous with his time, answering questions, showing ... more

November 24, 2014

As a professional with expertise in this field, I recognize the extraordinary work being done at Lingap, using wonderful best-practices. As a result of their consistent great work, I am now both a volunteer and regular donor. John Drake and this group are committed, passionate professionals with a wildly successful program, that should be copied by other organizations.
November 4, 2012

John Drake is tireless in telling people the good news of the many successes of the Lingap Center. He has visited our church several times and is generous with his time, answering questions, showing photos, and telling stories. The children who find food, shelter, and education through Lingap are thriving, and several are now in college. (One has graduated college!) The Lingap Foundation is truly working miracles! My family donates to a program called "A Place at the Table" that helps the Center buy food for the kids. We consider this money very well invested! They also have a talented choir, and they sound like angels!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

Tito John was my hero as he was there when I have no one to turn to. I spent all my life hearing and listening to him of how important education is and that proves it as I was able to graduate and have college degree and got an internship here at Baltimore Country Club. I am so lucky and very blessed. Thank you Tito John and to the people who has been there supporting the Lingap Children's Foundation. I owe you a lot. God will bless you.
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

I had the great good fortune to spend a weekend at the Lingap Center in 2010 as a guest of John Drake, the Founder, and had an amazing experience. This opportunity came about because I was working in Cebu, Philippines at the time and happened to be a member of Transfiguration Catholic Church in Atlanta, Ga. Transfiguration was launching a partnership with Lingap and I offered to go to the center and write a report for my Pastor. In short, Lingap Center is an extraordinary place and the work that has been done so far to give the children not just a chance to survive but an opportunity to thrive and share their God-given talents with the world puts Lingap in a class of its own. In my view and from my observations and experience, the Lingap Center is a reflection of the Holy Spirit working through mortal men and women here on earth. The Lingap Center is indeed divinely inspired and is a model for others to follow. God Bless the continued work of John and his team at the Lingap Center. Maureen Kennedy Shanahan
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

Having a Filipino father and always being interested in helping Filipino children to lead a better life than their parents, I was very impressed after learning about John Drake's efforts for the Lingap Children's Foundation. Since then, my husband Gene and I have contributed to Drake's efforts to provide these children with a "hand up" rather than a "hand out" approach, which is what my father would have done without hesitation. We are amazed at what this man has achieved since devoting the rest of his life for the benefit of these Filipino children.

Frances & Gene Schayer
November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

My involvement in joining such a dedicated group as the Lingap Children's Foundation has truly opened my eyes to the needs of the children. You need only to see the growth in the children to realize the foundation is non stop in creating new avenues for the children to learn, have proper nutrition, community involvement and the necessary medical care. The program A Place at the Table really makes me feel like an extended family member to the children and now many young adults.
The joy in knowing a child who was found in dire need is currently part of an apprenticeship in the USA makes my commitment one that will be life long. I am on the committee formed within our church.
I am impressed with the founders who came to us seeking support and have continued to be with us at meetings and socials. They heard their calling and embraced it. God Bless them all who have made this foundation part of their stewardship.

Ginny Kulesa
Transfiguration Catholic Church
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers