Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.855
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Lincoln Child Center provides outstanding support and service to childern and families with complicated and mutliple needs. They attract a talented and movitative team focused and committed to its purpose. Lincoln has been a pillar in the community for generations, and it has evolved and innovated its services to align with the needs of the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I became involved through a family member who was passionate about the mission of LCC. I continue to stay involved because I am inspired by the terrific staff that works so hard to support children and families in the community. The organization is constantly working to ensure programs meet the needs of children and families, whether it is to provide parenting support, school-based services to keep kids in school, therapeutic support, support for those raising relatives' children or programs to inspire truant teens to continue to attend school while learning entrepreneurial skills (among other programs).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Can't say enough about Lincoln Child Center's commitment and creative approach to serving vulnerable kids and families in the Bay Area. The menu of program offerings is rich with options and specific targeted outcomes. From frontline staff to senior leadership, the people of LCC give heart and mind to their work. It continues to be a privilege to be a part of Lincoln as it answers the needs of thousands of families and stays nimble in a time of great social and financial challenges.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2011

more

April 19, 2011

I'm new to the board, but I'm already impressed with the board makeup and the executive staffing at Lincoln. Lincoln is focused on what it does best - helping underserved and special needs children in Alameda and Contra Costa counties. Through their 9 programs Lincoln has helped scores of children become successful when no one else would. It is an honor to serve an organization that is out there making a difference in the lives of so many children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being new, I haven't much experience working with this organization directly. The company I work for has supported Lincoln for over 10 years. Employees of the company I work for help out with such things as the Gourmet Club (a group of volunteers that get together to cook and feed Linoln's children food they may not have been exposed to), and assist with maintenance around Lincoln's campuses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm too new and thus far I don't see anything I'd change. Because of budget problems and deficits, funding for Lincoln's programs is in jeopardy; we need organizations like Lincoln to fill in the gaps.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

The company I work for has supported Lincoln for over 10 years. It is an extremely worthy cause.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Replace funding lost to budget cuts, refocus efforts to other programs with the closure of the Residence program.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Move their education model to more school districts in the East Bay.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 18, 2011

more

April 18, 2011

I have served on the Lincoln Child Center Board for the past 17 years, during which time I have served as its Board Chair and Chair of practically all of its Board committees. This evidences my commitment to an organization that does a wonderful job of serving the needs of at risk youth, their families and their communities. Through a comprehensive set of programs -- from residential treatment to academic enrichment to therapeutic treatment and beyond -- Lincoln is able to prepare its clients for life outside of institutional settings where they can reach levels of success that years of abuse put practically beyond their reach. Lincoln restores hope and provides coping tools that put its clients in "a place" that is easily attained by children who are raised in loving, supportive, enriching environments.

Lincoln is going through a transition as it moves away from providing residential services that have been a major component of its service delivery regime. I am confident that Lincoln will exit this transition as a strong, stable organization with programs that meet the needs of the communities that Lincoln serves. I am excited about the intensified community-based direction that the organization is taking because it will allow Lincoln to be even more impactful than it has been.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through my Gourmet Club activities, I am fortunate to be able to interact with Lincoln's clients. Through these contacts, I have come to realize that these clients are simply our kids who have been dealt a bad hand. I have met past Lincoln clients -- most recently at Lincoln's 2011 Culinary Stars event -- who speak fondly of how Lincoln has affected their lives. It’s gratifying to see these clients on the right tract living happy and productive lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lincoln would be a stronger organization if it relied less on governmental funding for its programs. Hopefully, the private sector and the foundation community will realize the benefits that Lincoln confers on its clients in particular and society in general, and will increase their financial support of this organization so it can become as impactful as it can and wants to be.

April 18, 2011

more

April 18, 2011

Lincoln Child Center has enjoyed a long, rich history of providing critical services to vulnerable children in the Bay Area. We provide intensive mental health services, community-based wrap-around services, school-based services, and a nonpublic school program located on our campus high in the Oakland hills. Lincoln's programs have adapted through the years to community health needs and therapeutic trends. Today, we serve over 1000 children in two counties and 17 schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've attended fund raising events in which graduates of the Lincoln programs have spoken of their personal benefit and success as a result of receiving services and "care". I've reviewed program metrics as a Board Member, noting the progress individual programs are making toward serving their clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advise nongovernmental funding options.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with fundraising events and/or participate in campus clean-up and beautification projects