Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.855
Write A Review
January 10, 2013

more

January 10, 2013

Lincoln Child Center serves as a community leader as it works to make an impact in the lives of children and families in the Oakland area. They are without a doubt an asset to the community. I am excited for the growth and outreach of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2013

more

January 9, 2013

The Lincoln Child Center is great. I love seeing organizations reach out to the communities of Oakland.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

Lincoln is a devoted organization that fully invest in the lives of at risk children in Oakland, providing for them a refuge in marginalized communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2012

more

December 8, 2012

Having volunteered at numerous LCC events in the past few years I've come to appreciate LCC's focus on not just the emotionally troubled youth but also the family. The organization recognizes that the children needs both a nurturing school environment and a nurturing home to thrive and succeed. Most of all, I've witnessed the care, compassion and wholehearted dedication of the staff toward their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

My experience while volunteering at Lincoln has shown me how the work of an organization can directly help the population it serves. It gives me great hope. Lincoln is truly getting involved, and helping build futures and opportunity for the disenfranchised and disadvantaged in the bay area. I am grateful that organizations with his kind of heart and passion exist. Others would do well to see how effective Lincoln is at transforming communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I took some training at Lincoln Child Center recently. The trainings that they provided have been very beneifical and rewarding. While at the trainings, I observed how staff respected the trainers and treinees. I can understand why they received the 2012 Award. During my volunteer experience, I have been treated with respect and fairness. I really enjoy the coordinator, other staff, and volunteers at the Beehive. I can tell that all are very caring, compassionate, and competent staff. I liked planting the vegetables and plants while volunteering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2011

more

April 21, 2011

Lincoln Child Center serves emotionally challenged youth and their families in the East Bay. They provide assistance for both residential and day treatment clients. Having worked with this population in the past I definitely support the efforts of this much needed program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing firsthand the extreme dedication and efforts of the administrative staff to raise funds for this organization. Often times these efforts can go unnoticed, but they are essential for the continuing support of the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none that I am aware of

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 19, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

After many years of having a job, I suddenly found myself unemployed. Seeking something worthwhile to do while searching for a new job, I decided to volunteer at Lincoln Child Center. Initially I thought I would only volunteer at this non-profit’s annual fundraising gala event. However, as I learned more about the many different programs and services it provides to vulnerable and emotionally troubled children and their families, I eventually became an on-going volunteer mainly working with the development and marketing team. I am happy to share that once again I volunteered at this year’s Culinary Stars of the Bay tasting extravaganza benefiting Lincoln Child Center! Overall, my experience volunteering at Lincoln Child Center has been incredibly enriching as well as very rewarding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in that without my help the development and marketing team would have to set aside many hours to complete tasks such as sending out mailings to supporters and sponsors, preparing marketing packets, and updating or maintaining records in the database. As an outcome of my assistance with these tasks, development and marketing team members are able to spend more time on other projects that have a direct impact on the continued success of the many d

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would create many more partnerships with local schools, colleges, and local businesses to encourage more individuals to volunteer at Lincoln Child Center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

At this time, none.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Aside from learning that programs and services, such as the ones Lincoln Child Center offers, do exist to help vulnerable children and their families, I have also learned about how non-profits operate, the issues non-profits confront, and difficult decisions these non-profits make and which have a big impact on their constituents.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel very enriched and gratified every time I volunteer at Lincoln Child Center.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 18, 2011

more

April 18, 2011

I have been greatly impressed by the events held in support of L.C.C. as well as the very noteworthy work they are doing for our youth in need. There is nothing like Lincoln Child Center in the Bay Area that serves this type of population and is sorely needed. The expertise and caring from the staff and volunteers is evident in all they do. It is a group that I feel confidant in supporting by donating money, time and effort. Their results are obvious.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

n/a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

April 8, 2011

more

April 8, 2011

The Lincoln Child Center was introduced to our company, Matsco, in 2000, by one of Lincoln's board member, who was also an employee of Matsco. The employees as well as the CEO, at the time, feel in love with their program. We were very moved by their dedication and commitment in helping these emotionally and vulnerable children in our community. Matsco decided to have a toy drive and help fulfill the children's wish list adn we succeeded. But a handful of employees wanted to do more than provide holiday gifts to the children, we wanted to dedicate our time throughout the year and so a small group of eight decided to call ourselves "The Breakfast club" and we began preparing home cooked breakfasts for the staff and children on a monthly bases. They enjoyed the home cooked breakfasts, so we decided to expand our culinary skills and prepare luncheons and dinners for the kids on campus and continued to do so for years. We changed our name to "The Gourmet Club" and our group grew from 8 volunteers to around 20 and we are currently volunteering our time and dication as of today. What keeps us going is the appreciation from the kids and their smiles and thank you's. They tell us that it reminds them of their home meals and it makes them feel loved. It's all about the children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My time that is spent on campus volunteering my time with the kids and spending time with the other volunteers and help making a difference in the childrens's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

So far the are doing everything that is necessary to help the community and care for these at risk children. They are on top of the intervention and prevention of offering their services for the mental health serives for these kids.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers