Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Write A Review
June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I just returned from Chajul where I had the privilege of meeting with the LHI staff and observing the fruits of their dedicated work. Three things stand out for me: the mutual ease and respect between the staff and scholarship students, the hard work and imagination in setting up and managing the wonderful library and LHI's commitment to a better future for the children. There were three highlights for me: visiting the library, participating in a weaving class and experiencing the gracious hospitality of a local family. I am excited and happy to be able to sponsor a child and in doing so becoming a member of the LHI community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I have just returned from Guatemala, where I visited the Limitless Horizons office in Chajul. I was very impressed. The competence, warmth, and dedication of the staff were apparent from the moment I arrived, and I like how the organization depends primarily on local people to manage the services they provide. In both the office and the library, it is evident that those meant to benefit - mostly children when I was there - are engaged and appreciative of the opportunity and support created by LHI. As a new donor, I was also privileged to meet the young student that my wife and I will sponsor, and to see how well LHI staff have shaped the expectations and sense of responsibility of those they select to support. There is no condescension - it really feels as if all are working together to improve the quality of life of the community, a feeling that was reinforced by visits to two local families, for a meal and a hands-on lesson in weaving. I had high expectations traveling to Chajul - but they were far exceeded by the experience of seeing what a difference LHI is making in a part of the world that needs just this sort of support in order to begin to realize its potential.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I have been a donor for 3 years now. I started supporting the organization when I found out from a friend about how great the need is in the community they support as well as how passionately, diligently, and mindfully their staff team works. I know that donating to LHI means that my money is going directly to educating and raising youth leaders that will lift their community up by its bootstraps.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

We have been donating to LHI for years. In fact, donating to LHI was our wedding registry in lieu of gifts to us. We have been very impressed with LHI's steadily increasing impact for a deserving community, as well as its efficient use of capital. The staff are brilliant, passionate and hardworking.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I am a new donor. I was attracted to LHI because of its small scale yet very focused work in the forgotten, isolated community of Chajul. With my very affordable donation I get to send a young person to school who otherwise could not afford to attend. What an impact! Education is truly the key to the Ixil Mayan Peoples overcoming poverty and social exclusion.

The organization is run by a small group of very dedicated people. On top of working hard to support the educational success of their scholarship students, LHI staff take the time to create a connection between myself and my scholarship student - I receive drawings and letters from my student multiple times per year as well as an update on their personal and student life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

I first learned of LHI when my daughter was hired as their International Coordinator in October 2009. LHI provided scholarships for local Mayan children to go to middle and high school, most of whom would not otherwise be able to afford to do so. My book club sponsored an LHI student and we were able to see how important LHI was in her life. We continue to sponsor Petronila each year and look forward to her letters which give us a glimpse into her daily life and assure us that our gift, and the LHI support, is helping her achieve her potential. I was also privileged to visit Chajul in April of 2010, meeting both the LHI employees and several families with LHI students. I saw how hard everyone involves works to achieve the goals of this organization.
I was invited to the homes of several families who treated me with great warmth. It is abundantly clear that these families appreciate the role that LHI plays in the lives of their children and are committed to their children's education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way it has assisted the student my book club sponsors, both in her academic progress and her personal living situation. LHI has made a huge difference in her life, especially since the death of her mother soon after LHI accepted her into their scholarship program. She is now thriving at a boarding school and her future is much brighter than it would otherwise have been

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish for them to have additional funding and more widespread publicity.

More feedback...

What would you tell others about this organization?

This is a high-impact, low-overhead local NGO doing great work and making a big difference in the lives of under-privileged indigenous Guatemalan children.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers