Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I spent a week in Chajul volunteering with LHI, so I saw first hand the tremendous impact LHI has on the community. The leadership has a very clear vision that is community-driven, sustainable, and purposeful. The dedication of the local staff had a particular impact on me and I was inspired by their commitment to LHI and it students. LHI is truly a fantastic organization and is doing what is says it does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

Limitless Horizons Ixil embodies its commitment to work for Chajul by working with Chajul. After two years as a staff member and one year as a board member, I continue to be impressed by the incredible work the organization does. Even more important is how LHI does it's work - always under the leadership of our Guatemalan staff members. LHI is a community-driven organization impacting the entire community of Chajul.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

LHI is an incredible organization and does fantastic work with and for the community of Chajul. I believe that much of their success is a result of strong and invested leadership as well as collaboration with the citizens of this town. This buy-in yields sustainability and that makes me all the more eager to support LHI socially/physically when in Guatemala, and fiscally when I am not.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

This organization embodies the principles of mindful, community-driven sustainable development. As a Board member, I have seen the organization grow over the course of the past five years, reaching more and more people and becoming locally lead. One of the things that makes LHI stand out is its concept of growth.The team on the ground continually strives to work better and achieve more impact, but the ultimate focus is on providing programs and services that really make a difference, rather than on growth for its own sake.

LHI is composed of passionate, committed individuals who think critically and creatively about how to make a real difference in Chajul. This has led to uniquely integrated programming. It is a pleasure to be involved with an organization that is not only changing lives and the face of a community, but doing so in a way that is lasting, in alignment with and sensitive to the community's values.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

I spent over a year in Chajul working with LHI as their Operations Associate and it was an amazing experience. Nothing compares to the pure dedication of it's local staff and board of directors, who made it an honor to a part of the team and welcomed in to the LHI family. I have seen first hand the passion and hard work that makes each and every one of their programs a project of the heart, and the manner in which they have empowered their majority-female Chajulense staff to drive this organization is a standard to which few non-profits could compare.

LHI takes the personal struggles of its scholars and library users to heart every day and its commitment to making the world a better place for these youth. The cost of sponsoring a scholar could never quantify the positive change that happens for these kids throughout 6-years of involvement with an organization like this.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

Volunteering with Limitless Horizons Ixil has been a wonderful experience where I have had the opportunity to meet and work with the passionate and committed staff. It has been great to see how the scholarship recipients and staff members have created a supportive and caring community that is positively influencing Chajul. The staff at LHI have been warm and helpful and I have really felt welcomed into Nebaj and Chajul life. It has been a pleasure volunteering with LHI and I look forward to working with them in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at the moment!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I just returned from Chajul where I had the privilege of meeting with the LHI staff and observing the fruits of their dedicated work. Three things stand out for me: the mutual ease and respect between the staff and scholarship students, the hard work and imagination in setting up and managing the wonderful library and LHI's commitment to a better future for the children. There were three highlights for me: visiting the library, participating in a weaving class and experiencing the gracious hospitality of a local family. I am excited and happy to be able to sponsor a child and in doing so becoming a member of the LHI community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I have just returned from Guatemala, where I visited the Limitless Horizons office in Chajul. I was very impressed. The competence, warmth, and dedication of the staff were apparent from the moment I arrived, and I like how the organization depends primarily on local people to manage the services they provide. In both the office and the library, it is evident that those meant to benefit - mostly children when I was there - are engaged and appreciative of the opportunity and support created by LHI. As a new donor, I was also privileged to meet the young student that my wife and I will sponsor, and to see how well LHI staff have shaped the expectations and sense of responsibility of those they select to support. There is no condescension - it really feels as if all are working together to improve the quality of life of the community, a feeling that was reinforced by visits to two local families, for a meal and a hands-on lesson in weaving. I had high expectations traveling to Chajul - but they were far exceeded by the experience of seeing what a difference LHI is making in a part of the world that needs just this sort of support in order to begin to realize its potential.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

LHI does great work in Chajul. Their staff are committed and professional. Helping with their programs was interesting, educational, and rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2014

more

January 26, 2014

I discovered LHI when I was looking for places to volunteer in Central and South America, and I was delighted to have the opportunity to spend 6-1/2 weeks with them in November and December of 2013. LHI is comprised of local (Chajul and Nebaj) and US staff, and they are a deeply committed, smart, hard-working, passionate, close-knit, generous and funny team of people. During my time with LHI, I got to experience first-hand how thoughtful they are about the development of their program and the realization of their organization's goals. They make excellent use of their resources. Their support is critical for the scholarship recipients who, without LHI's support, would be e.g., working in the fields or washing laundry for a living instead of attending school. (I know this because i had the opportunity to interview most of the 50+ scholarship recipients.) The families of scholarship recipients are likewise supported in a variety of ways, so LHI's impact ripples far out into the community. The library that is run by LHI is a buzzing hub of happiness for the children of Chajul, who show up excited to read, draw, go on library-sponsored local outings, do handcraft activities, etc. LHI is doing important, culturally respectful, meaningful work to help Chajul lift itself out of poverty, under-education, and limited opportunities. I recommend it as an organization to support, and as a place to volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

LHI staff asked me for constructive feedback, which is another indication of their soundness as an organization. 1. It would be great to have a formal way for graduates of LHI to give back to the LHI community (e.g., mentoring and/or giving workshops to younger students). 2. As a means to increase personal responsibility within the community, children using the library should be expected to help clean up before leaving. (This had already started to shift during the time I was volunteering.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers