Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Lily's Legacy is an amazing nonprofit organization! My husband and I first became acquainted with Lily's and the wonderful work it does for these most deserving senior citizens through adoption in 2011 of one of their fabulous "pups", Sunny, a happy, goofy, gorgeous yellow Lab. Fast forward to the present: We have since expanded our Lily's family to include two more fantastic dogs, Cooper and Phoebe. What a fabulous group of happy, fun-loving, and grateful doggies, and what joy they bring us!

We can't say enough about the incredibly great and important work Lily's does on behalf of neglected and/or abandoned senior large breed dogs. They are such a deserving and underserved segment of the canine world, but thanks to Lily's Legacy, that's changing....one dog at a time....with the incredible compassion and dedication of its founder, Alice Mayn, and her amazing team of other volunteers.

Speaking for my husband and myself, our volunteerism at the sanctuary has been deeply enriching and most gratifying as we've seen firsthand the amazing transformation these dogs undergo: They find their way (thankfully) to Lily's through various channels, often as unsettled and unsure, and in the skilled and ultra-caring hands of Alice, her fabulous team, and their new and carefully matched home, they blossom into secure and happy-once-again citizens. What a joy to witness!

Lily's Senior Dog Sanctuary is a treasure and an incredible cause worth supporting. You can support Lily's through cash donations, needed items, volunteering or any combination thereof. Any assistance you can provide will help ensure these dogs continue to have a voice, advocates, and angels on their side. They ask nothing from us yet give us so much in return. Please help!

Sahar and Joel Bartlett
Santa Rosa, CA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....find a corporate donor to fund an administrative position in order to continue to grow the facility and purchase much-needed items for the dogs, such as a therapy pool.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lily's Legacy is a true sanctuary for dogs and people alike! The love, attention and healing that each dog is given is truly amazing. Alice Mayn, the owner/director is truly a dog whisperer. I've seen dogs who've been through all kinds of neglect and abuse be transformed into calm, sociable, totally happy canines once again. Its her mission to make sure the old and sick have the best care and support possible, and that their last days are some of their best.
I can not say enough good things about Lily's Legacy and the incredible team of volunteers that get to work there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to spend more time there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I heard great things about Lily's Legacy through word of mouth from colleagues and friends. After the death of my beloved senior dog, Biscuit, I contacted Lily's Legacy to see how I could help them help senior dogs. I've spent many years working in a shelter environment but I've never run into an organization like Lily's Legacy. Dogs run free on grassy fields and have full house privladges. Dogs who are ill are rehabilitated then adopted out to new forever home, or stay in hospice at Lily's for the remainder of their lives. It is a pleasure to volunteer here. The director is wonderful to her volunteers, very grateful and encouraging. A great lady with an easy laugh. The volunteers are all nice likeminded folks and just plain good people. If you've always wanted to work with dogs, I highly recommend volunteering at Lily's Legacy Senior Dog Sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I originally discovered Lily's Legacy while searching for a possible rescue dog. I was so enamored with the sanctuary that I almost immediately began volunteering there a couple of days a week. It fills a mutual need for both Lily's Legacy and myself. My time and my heart are filled with wagging tails and dog hair, and I help out in whatever way I can. Sometimes it's helping in the office, sometimes it's walking or cuddling with the dogs, and sometimes it's helping with the occasional fundraiser. I admire Alice Mayn, the Executive Director of Lily's Legacy for her dedication to the "old dogs" and her vision for giving them a place to be cared for until they find their forever home or in some cases, to live out the rest of their lives. I am lucky to have found Lily's Legacy, I feel appreciated and I often get as much out of spending my time there as I am giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them expand

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

My introduction to Lily's Legacy was visiting the Sanctuary with a friend to see where her family was lucky enough to find a place for their large senior dog to live out his life while still hoping for him to be adopted. Her cousin's family didn't want to turn the dog into a shelter as is the case, it has always been very difficult to put up senior large dogs for adoption so they are put down. Lily's Sanctuary immediately grabbed my heart and I knew right then and there I wanted to help. The joy these older dogs have whether playing frisbee or laying in the shade on grass under the big tree can't help but move your heart and inspire you to help. We work hard in finding them all homes to keep making room for the next heartbreak story that continues to compel you to help. I am support staff in the office.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have a change in mind, just growth. This organization like most non-profits is run by the Executive Director, Volunteers and the Board of Directors. This organization's E.D. is Alice Mayn whom is the most dedicated and involved E.D. that I have come to know in my non profit activism. I am looking forward to the infrastructure continuing to grow to support her!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at other animal places but Lily's Legacy far surpasses the others. I have a senior dog and it warms my heart to be able to be a part of giving love to these wonderful dogs! It's like a family and all the dogs are so well mannered and loving. It's a wonderful place to be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I get so much out of walking these senior doggies. In my opinion, Lily's Legacy puts the dogs' welfare first and foremost. I feel appreciated as a volunteer here and not taken for granted as I have felt at other volunteer situations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lily’s Legacy has by far provided my most rewarding volunteer experience. Every day, I have felt privileged to be a part of the love and comfort Lily’s Legacy provides to older dogs. Like many of the volunteers, I came to Lily’s Legacy after losing my own dog, and working there proved a great solace. I have watched as dogs who arrived in fear and pain are transformed by the tender ministrations of volunteers and are ultimately sent off to new adoptive families healthy, happy, and confident that they will be secure and loved. Now, as an adopter of two Lily’s Legacy dogs as well, I am grateful that my furry girls never had to see the inside of a conventional shelter. Every day I have been there, Lily’s Legacy seems to grow and explore new possibilities for helping older dogs. The lovely location in rural Petaluma is, of course, also a plus. It soothes my soul, as it does the dogs, to go for walks in the fresh air with sheep, llamas and yaks to entertain us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand to care for more dogs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Any Senior knows it is difficult to adjust to a new beginning and Dogs are no exception. Seeing the dogs in a home environment makes volunteering so rewarding. Even more feeling of satisfaction came from foster care of Striker through 5 months of heart worm treatment resulting in his adoption in a new forever home. These are "experienced" dogs providing love and companionship to their new owners.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being a volunteer at Lily's Legacy is rewarding, inspiring, and humbling. My heart soars when I reach for a leash and see the waiting dog wiggle with anticipation, knowing a walk is in store. These seniors haven't given up on life. They embrace it. After what most of them have been thru, they still get excited to play. They all have a marvelous capacity to love and trust.
They have taught me it's ok to get old... just don't give up!!
Linda Mannella
Lily's Legacy Volunter

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have 100 acres to accommodate hundreds more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk dogs or work at an adoption event. Volunteer