Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Write A Review
November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

I live in a small, rural Northern California community. I have volunteered and worked at the local animal shelter for many years. Placing large, senior dogs has always been particularly challenging. My heart has been broken, many times, watching a perfectly good dog euthanized because it could not be placed - or have the opportunity to spend it's final days in a hospice setting. Lily's Legacy has helped me out at times when there was no space available anywhere else. Alice Mayn somehow found space! The facility is incredibly clean, peaceful and abundantly staffed with friendly, dedicated, knowledgable volunteers. If I ever move back to Sonoma County, I will spend my time volunteering at Lily's Legacy.
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

As a visitor to Lily's Legacy on multiple occasions, I found that the amount of love that goes into caring for these dogs and finding their forever home to be astounding. The volunteers that run this organization truly pour their hearts out for these abandoned or surrendered dogs. This nonprofit fulfills a vital role in making sure that dogs of all ages are treated with the love and affection they deserve.
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

I originally discovered Lily's Legacy while searching for a possible rescue dog. I was so enamored with the sanctuary that I almost immediately began volunteering there a couple of days a week. It f... more

October 31, 2014

I was blessed the day I found Lily's Legacy, I found what I was searching for when looking for the right fit for volunteering. The dogs who land here have hit the jackpot, just as I have. If you are looking for a wonderful dog to share your life with, consider a senior "pup", they are the best, and will appreciate and love you unconditionally.
October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I originally discovered Lily's Legacy while searching for a possible rescue dog. I was so enamored with the sanctuary that I almost immediately began volunteering there a couple of days a week. It fills a mutual need for both Lily's Legacy and myself. My time and my heart are filled with wagging tails and dog hair, and I help out in whatever way I can. Sometimes it's helping in the office, sometimes it's walking or cuddling with the dogs, and sometimes it's helping with the occasional fundraiser. I admire Alice Mayn, the Executive Director of Lily's Legacy for her dedication to the "old dogs" and her vision for giving them a place to be cared for until they find their forever home or in some cases, to live out the rest of their lives. I am lucky to have found Lily's Legacy, I feel appreciated and I often get as much out of spending my time there as I am giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them expand

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I love volunteering with Lily's Legacy and have grown to love working with the organization and with the dogs and other volunteer's. It's great to be part of an organization that helps senior dogs thrive in new forever homes or foster homes.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lily's Legacy gives dogs a second chance at life. These dogs have been abandoned, surrendered, or forgotten. Lily's gives them another chance to give and to receive love. Just proves you're never too old to find happiness. Thank goodness for Lily's Legacy Senior Dog Sanctuary.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lily's Legacy is awesome! It is so sad that our society sees older animals as disposable. Often being dumped like yesterday's trash by the only humans they have ever known, left to die alone on a cold concrete shelter floor,with little hope of ever making it out, these sweet souls wait and pray for angels like Lily's Legacy to come to their rescue. This is exactly the case of the two beautiful senior boxers that are in my care on behalf of Lily's. A small village of boxer lovers came together and enlisted the help of Alice and her angels and these beautiful souls were literally snatched from the jaws of death. Lily's has been instrumental in taking care of the medical needs, which have been quite costly but necessary for quality of life of this mother/daughter pair, as well as all of the other pups in their care. Without the awesome community support, Lily's would not be able to do all that they do, and my sweet girls would not be living the good life today. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts Alice! Gina Heitkamp Mills, foster to Macy and Gigi ♡
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love Lily's Legacy! I have had the pleasure of both being a foster home for Lily's dogs as well as adopting one of their sweet old boys (who is currently getting a belly rub courtesy of my feet). I have never worked with an organization full of such wonderfully caring people. The passion for old dogs truly runs deep at Lily's Legacy and it's wonderful to see a sanctuary for these old animals that makes them genuinely feel at home despite the turbulence they may have experienced. The volunteers are very supportive to their foster and adoptive families and love each dog that comes through the doors of the sanctuary. With Lily's Legacy, you find dog-people and people-people all rolled into one (a combination that's sometimes difficult to find). We need more places like Lily's Legacy!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

As repeat "foster failures" we have been blessed to adopt three wonderful Lily's Legacy pups! Alice and her team of dedicated volunteers do a wonderful job for a usually overlooked - and far too large- group of dogs! Oldies are the best! Thanks to all!
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Prior to recently retiring, I worked in pet animal welfare (Tony La Russa's Animal Rescue Foundation, then ASPCA) for 15 years managing both animal and customer service operations. I appreciate the challenge faced by homeless senior pets. When I moved to Sonoma County I checked out where I wanted to volunteer my time and donate resources. Lily's Legacy was a perfect choice for me. The team demonstrates compassion and takes excellent care of the dogs they intake. As the business plan progresses enabling LLSDS to save more lives, I am delighted to volunteer to walk dogs (hug them...that's the best), maintain kennels....whatever the team (2 and 4 legged) needs.
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

Lily's Legacy is an amazing nonprofit organization! My husband and I first became acquainted with Lily's and the wonderful work it does for these most deserving senior citizens through adoption in 20... more

October 31, 2014

I have been blessed to have been able to volunteer for Lily's Legacy for the past several years and also to have adopted three of Lily's "angels," Sunny, Cooper, and Phoebe. On the volunteer side, words truly can't adequately express what a fabulous organization Lily's is. The love and care that Lily's founder, Alice, and all the other wonderful volunteers provide these old pups is simply unparalleled. One look at all the wagging tails of the sanctuary dogs, and it's apparent that "happy" runs rampant!
Having been on the adoption side, I can honestly say that Lily's does a fabulous job of matching dogs with their perfect forever homes. Our three made their transition with us and our other dog and kitty seamlessly. Lily's does a very thorough job of screening their dogs medically and for temperament, and then matching them with just the right home. They take the time to get it right for the pups and their new people.
Big kudos to Alice and all the volunteers for all the love and care you give these most deserving pups......you rock!
Sahar Bartlett
October 28, 2013

Lily's Legacy is an amazing nonprofit organization! My husband and I first became acquainted with Lily's and the wonderful work it does for these most deserving senior citizens through adoption in 2011 of one of their fabulous "pups", Sunny, a happy, goofy, gorgeous yellow Lab. Fast forward to the present: We have since expanded our Lily's family to include two more fantastic dogs, Cooper and Phoebe. What a fabulous group of happy, fun-loving, and grateful doggies, and what joy they bring us!

We can't say enough about the incredibly great and important work Lily's does on behalf of neglected and/or abandoned senior large breed dogs. They are such a deserving and underserved segment of the canine world, but thanks to Lily's Legacy, that's changing....one dog at a time....with the incredible compassion and dedication of its founder, Alice Mayn, and her amazing team of other volunteers.

Speaking for my husband and myself, our volunteerism at the sanctuary has been deeply enriching and most gratifying as we've seen firsthand the amazing transformation these dogs undergo: They find their way (thankfully) to Lily's through various channels, often as unsettled and unsure, and in the skilled and ultra-caring hands of Alice, her fabulous team, and their new and carefully matched home, they blossom into secure and happy-once-again citizens. What a joy to witness!

Lily's Senior Dog Sanctuary is a treasure and an incredible cause worth supporting. You can support Lily's through cash donations, needed items, volunteering or any combination thereof. Any assistance you can provide will help ensure these dogs continue to have a voice, advocates, and angels on their side. They ask nothing from us yet give us so much in return. Please help!

Sahar and Joel Bartlett
Santa Rosa, CA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....find a corporate donor to fund an administrative position in order to continue to grow the facility and purchase much-needed items for the dogs, such as a therapy pool.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk dogs or work at an adoption event. Volunteer