Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
132 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 2, 2011

more

August 2, 2011

Over the past several years, I have had the honor of watching this organization flourish. From the first day I spoke with Rev. Andy, I knew that something was different about this organization. Too often in the nonprofit world, we overuse the word compassion and fail to recognize it's about community. Lighthouse, Inc. understands that it's not enough to have compassion. This organization understands that it is about community - recognizing that caring for the most vulnerable among us builds and sustains community. The Lighthouse difference is that instead of pitying the less fortunate, they roll up their sleeves and do something about making this world a better place. The most significant example of this is their work in the projects of Cleveland. Years ago, equipped with a small mobile unit and a staff of mostly Caucasian individuals, they ventured into the projects to do one thing - feed hungry children and families. Lighthouse, Inc. realized that they could not better the community by waiting for the community to come to them. They saw a need and they did not hesistate to take ownership of the solution. I first learned of their work when Rev. Andy called my office. Faced with bureacratic red tape, his concern was not about the viability of the organization; rather he was deeply concerned about not being able to help more hungry children and families. When the organization was awarded a grant to continue their work, I was grateful to have been a part of ensuring their good work could endure. As a grantee, the organization was timely, organized and efficient. When I conducted a site visit, I was moved by the children's accounts of how Lighthouse changed their lives for the better. This organization deserves many accolades not only for what they do, but how they do it. I hope these words reflect the phenomenal work, devotion and ability of Lighthouse, Inc. to build, foster and improve the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the Feed Ohio Grant.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them with more funds to continue their good works on a broader scale.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Lighthouse is making a difference in the city of Cleveland. They are impacting lives by not only meeting felt needs, but by ultimately meeting the greatest need of all, the need for Jesus! May God richly bless this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I am amazed by the the heart that pushes the team at Lighthouse to serve. It is not only in the way they serve and build community, but also the motivation in that service. Working in a tough neighborhood, Lighthouse does not back down to the big challenges or shy away from the problems. They are intentional to face these issues directly by finding innovative solutions with creative ideas. Many times working with limited resources the staff and volunteers at Lighthouse seem to be willing to take on the impossible, and more often than not succeed. I am happy to give my time, energy, and financial resources to an organization who is making a real impact.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2012

more

March 20, 2012

Lighthouse is a wonderful organization responding compassionately to systemic poverty but, more importantly creating community capacity and developing innate assets. They are very committed bunch of folks attempting to build a Shalom Community. May their tribe increase!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

My organization is the community development corporation that performs real estate development activity in a portion of Cleveland's inner city. We share a common service area with Lighthouse Inc., for the most part. We have found working with Lighthouse Inc. to be a very positive experience. The staff is very committed, both personally and professionally, to the communities it serves. They regularly go above and beyond the call of duty and have a sincere interest in improving the lives of disadvantaged individuals and families in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2011

more

December 3, 2011

The blending of faith,mission, love for young people and positive energy has created a transforming movement called Heaventrain.Lighthouse has built upon the generational success of Heaventrain and continues to polish this gem and share it with families, leaders and community that will sustain our beloved community for a lifetime.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was first introduced to Heaventrain/ Lighthouse Inc 23 years ago. What I saw and experienced so gripped me that I have been involved with the organization for 23 years. I believe that in itself should communicate how deeply I believe in what Heaventrain is about.

First, allow me to
speak to the leadership and staff. Without exception they are some of the most devoted, hardworking, and empowering leaders I have ever encountered. Not only is this model effective in Cleveland's Central projects, it has been transfered literally around the globe. The reason for the success in transfering the model to other communities and cultures is simple: it is the organic growth that stems from a team of leaders who have poured their lives into what they do. I personally have been the recipient of their empowering philosophy and I can tell you the difference it has made for me in my profession. It has been said that we never rise above our level of leadership. If that is true, the sky is the limit for Heaventrain/ Lighthouse Inc. They have been blessed with extraordinary leaders.

Secondly, I would like to speak to the service they provide to the community. So, what is the big deal? Does what they do make any lasting difference or is it a small drop in the bucket? After serving with Lighthouse for 23 years, I can honestly say the difference I have seen has been significant -- so significant that one could accurately call it transformational. When community leaders attribute a decrease in violent crime directly to the efforts of an organization, that is transformation. When a mother of three children in Cleveland's Central Projects has a glimmer of hope in her eyes at Christmas, that is transformation. When the hungry are fed, that is transformation. When children have new coats for the first time in their life, that is transformation. When neighbors who used to hate each other begin to serve one another, that is transformation. When gang members serve as the security detail of a non profit organization, that is transformation. All of these are daily occurences for Lighthouse.

I take great pride in being associated with Lighthouse Inc. They are the real deal in a world where the real deal can be hard to find.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

I do not live in Cleveland but I have known Andy and Kristen for many years. You would be hard pressed to find leaders with a bigger heart for those they serve. The Heaventrain ministry continues to evolve to have a continued and greater impact on the individual lives they serve. I love to hear their hearts for leadership development and community transformation! I consider it a privilege to learn from all the ministry accomplishes!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've sat in trainings led by Andy Batten

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in funds to bring on more staff to accomplish all God has for them to do.

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

I was hooked on the Lighthouse Mission and Vision when I heard the train whistle blow and saw the children come running. I was awed by the volunteers who stood excited, at the ready to deliver the message, food, hugs and smiles. As a grant writer and non profit development consultant I come in contact with many charities. Few have the longevity, heart and vision as Lighthouse, Inc. Their ability to gain the trust of the community through continued and dependable service is unparalleled. I have been blessed by being a small part of what they are doing through the sharing of my grant writing abilities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What is unique about this organization?

Their commitment to the Central community and its children, their ability to leverage volunteers and their willingness to network for the benefit of their constituents.

November 28, 2011

more

November 28, 2011

As a pastor for seven years in a large suburban I had the privilege of meeting Andy Batten and getting to know about Lighthouse. We were able to expose our congregation to some of the needs in the city that largely go unnoticed by suburban folk. Lighthouse has an incredible track record of being a presence in the city of Cleveland for Jesus Christ. For 30 years they have been the hands and feet of Jesus to the people in the central neighborhood. There are many non-profits in the city but there are few that are doing meaningful work and worth the time to invest a congregation’s resources in. In my opinion Lighthouse is one of the few that is doing great work and worth every effort to be involved with as an individual and congregation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

i personally have worked with several people who were once "heaven train kids", these adults are now seeking to improve their neighborhoods. Many of these adults beat the odds of their neighborhood because of the support of Lighthouse. They are now adults who are making the city a better place in the name of Jesus Christ.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see Lighthouse get more press in the suburban communities. There are many people who would support their work but dont know about it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time with a young person as a tutor. Volunteer