Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
132 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 ... 3 4 5...13 |
Write A Review
December 15, 2011

more

December 15, 2011

I've always loved helping others, but my experience at Lighthouse and Heaventrain was the most unique. The staff are genuinely friendly and caring about everyone they come in contact with. What really sets this group apart, though, is seeing the look of joy and happiness on the faces of the children that attend HeavenTrain.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

December 15, 2011

more

December 15, 2011

Lighthouse, Inc. and I are old friends. In fact I was there when it was born. Before that we were Heaven Train and before that Church on Wheels. There have been books written and songs sung about this Ministry and now that I'm "old and gray" some of my fondest memories are wrapped up in the way we ministered to the inner city of Cleveland and the way the people ministered back to me each week. People needed people and we were there with our LORD to meet that need. It is an answer to prayer that there are still people giving of their time, effort and finances to meet the need of another generation. Go with God!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

My name is Jill and I'm 11 years old and I'm from Shepherd Nazarene church. I love Heaventrain soooooo much!!!! Because when i do it i get the most wonderful feeling in the world because i know I'm doing the right thing for God and for others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I have worked as a volunteer for Heavens Train for the last two years. I was really impressed with the staff of Heavens train. They were very precise, had great training and advice on what to do and not do. I was amazed at the passion they have for the children and families that they have touched over the years. I talked with adults and older children who told me stories of how they have been coming to Heavens Train since they were little. They talked about how the staff are always coming rain or shine. People line up just to get on that bus and sing about God. I am also aware that some are getting on the bus because they are not only spirtually hungry. But physically hungry as well. This organzation provides so much for the people of Cleveland. I wish I had money to feed all those children who wait in line. I can't wait to work on Heaven's Train.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

The Heaven Train is an incredible ministry, run by people who are passionate about helping people know the love of God. Their dedication is unbelievable, and the experience that my kids and I have had in volunteering in this ministry has been life changing. The folks at Lighthouse are making a positive difference in the world, no doubt! Jamey

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

My organization is the community development corporation that performs real estate development activity in a portion of Cleveland's inner city. We share a common service area with Lighthouse Inc., for the most part. We have found working with Lighthouse Inc. to be a very positive experience. The staff is very committed, both personally and professionally, to the communities it serves. They regularly go above and beyond the call of duty and have a sincere interest in improving the lives of disadvantaged individuals and families in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2011

more

December 3, 2011

The blending of faith,mission, love for young people and positive energy has created a transforming movement called Heaventrain.Lighthouse has built upon the generational success of Heaventrain and continues to polish this gem and share it with families, leaders and community that will sustain our beloved community for a lifetime.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2011

more

December 3, 2011

I begin to experience the Heaven Train Ministry with my son in the summer of 2009. I am now 47 and my son is now 12. We were able to share our love for Christ with all of the Families that came when the Heaven Train horn sounded. I was overcome with joy and love to see so many faces coming toward us as soon as we entered the neighborhoods. We were all one in Christ. Young/Old...Black/White...Male/Female...Moms/Dads...Adults/Kids...we just all became so close almost instantaneously. The love of Christ gave us the ability to see others as Christ sees them...as His own. I especially remember one of the first sights and a young boy who wanted my pen and paper as I signed in people. He sat on my lap the entire time I was there, just "doodling". He just wanted to draw, and be held close. Something so insignificant to most, but to him it meant the world. I kept telling him how much God loved him and that some day he would be a big boy and really know and understand who God is. But God already knows this little boy and I couldn't help but wonder what God has in store for this little boy. Maybe some day he will grow up and be a follower and servant for Christ. This ministry has the ability to touch so many lives that may otherwise, just go on and "exist". God loves us all no matter who we are, what we do, where we live, how much money we have or on't have. We are all one in he body of Christ.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

My Mother, Nellie Altic volunteered for Lighthouse ministries and Heaven train. She made over 100 quilts for them and donated busloads of gently used clothing (one busload a year) through her church. She told me all about heaven train. I can't think of a better organization helping the needy people of Cleveland. Lois Wilson

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

I have had the joy of watching Lighthouse make a significant and lasting impact in Cleveland’s Central neighborhood over the last 6 years. In this time, I have had the opportunity to witness their ability to transform individual lives (both young and old), families, and their community in effective and sustained ways. I have personally experienced the effectiveness of this ministry in several ways.

First, I have been involved with Lighthouse’s Heaventrain on several different occasions. On Heaventrain I have seen hope extended to those that have seemingly lost all hope. Food extended to those that are hungry, and toys given to those who would receive little else. Additionally, Heaventrain has provided opportunities of engagement for those who are unfamiliar with the urban dynamic. In this way people’s eyes have been opened, giving them a passion and drive to see lives and neighborhoods transformed.

Second, I have experienced Lighthouse’s food distribution on several occasions as well. On a regular basis they have been able to leverage thousands of pounds of food and deliver it to those in need. Supplying the Central Neighborhood Projects, Lighthouse has been able to get food to thousands of people.

Third, I have experienced Lighthouse as it has sought to transforms neighborhoods by securing and renovating property, helping people move into neighborhoods by providing affordable or free housing. In this way more and more people are able to give their lives to citywide transformation. This endeavor also contains the seeds of Lighthouse’s dream of becoming a self-sustaining ministry.

In the time that I have known Lighthouse I have come to see that this ministry has big vision. Not only do they have big vision, but they have the drive and passion to see that it is fulfilled. I can think of no better organization for any individual to give of their time and resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time with a young person as a tutor. Volunteer