Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I work as the outside accountant for Light of Hope. Everyone involved are hardworking, caring, and exceptional people. This organization will make a huge impact on people for many years to come. The officers and directors of the foundation are honest and ethical.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

I met this group @ the Torrington marketplace night - my husband has a very rare terminal cancer - Appendiceal Adenocarcinoma w/seeding- NO CURE ;[ Although I m not losing /lost a child- Im losing my best friend /husband of 30 years, father of our 4 beautiful kids - Either way -any1 that loses a loved one to any terminal disease NEEDS their community to care - no1 should ever go through this alone - we all suffer ! And yet once we find others that have experienced such a loss - we CAN BEGIN TO HEAL TOGETHER ! I know this group has great plans for the winnings

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I serve on the Board of Light of Hope not only because I lost my nephew who this foundation was started for but because everyone I have met has such a caring and loving heart. And it's a great organization to be a part of because we are doing our best to help families through some very hard times.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I have volunteered with Light of Hope Foundation Inc since it's inception, and they are amazing to work with. They help children and their families through a very difficult time, and they stick around for the families as long as the family wants their help. God bless you Light of Hope Foundation and all your members and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I attended a fundraiser event that was held by LOH. I must say that it was a sad moment for the family and friends due to the circumstances;however the staff made the time for family and friends to bond and unite with dedication and warm smiles on their faces from the moment people entered the event and throughout. My sincerest gratitude to the staff at LOH while the family and friends dealt with the untimely death of their family member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

From the President/Founder

My son just passed away from Medullablastoma at the age 7 and this is our story. He was presented into CCMC's ER for seizure activity that was not in his history. After a few tests they told his father and I that he had a terminal brain cancer. He went in for
immediate surgery shortly after. He had 3 tumors in his brain. One brain tumor they said was the size of a plum; this one was putting direct pressure on his spinal column. His spine was "sugar coated" with tumor, and he had a tumor deposit at the bottom of his spine. He had the biggest tumor operated on (in the back of his head) and parts of it were removed but not all could be. They would have had to cut into the top of his spinal cord and it could kill him. He went into the PICU at children's hospital for several months. He had some severe side effects from his brain surgery such as vision loss, the ability to speak, eat by mouth, walk or have much motion in his extremities. He had many things implanted/mounted in or on him (too many to list). His time in the PICU was always touch and go. Eventually we made it to the 8th floor which is Hemocology/Oncology. We got a little better, and got discharged home. We had a few more trips back into CCMC for some illnesses or minor problems but we were out in a week or less. We saw some new life and then a sudden decline and he passed away in the home with his closest family around.

I would like to think that we are a middle class family. I still didn't have a life insurance policy, big savings account or 401K to draw from. We were faced with financial burdens before all of this happened. I was laid off and had no income at the time. Health insurance did cover most expenses. His father and I were separated for years at this point. We shared our time with him so, upon discharge, we needed two of everything, which was not covered. I didn't have the funds to cover these things that were happening then so I thought how could I pay for a proper burial and end of life costs? Then I thought, if I am having these thoughts...don't other parents? That is how and why this foundation got its start.

I had friends and family helping me out through all these struggles. I had been in contact with some of the cancer "foundations and organizations". I had the social workers from the hospital doing their best to try to find resources. I was very frustrated, upset, exhausted, and sad. I felt like there was no one who could help me in "this" situation. I wanted to create an organization so I could provide families with the here and now help. I want to provide families with "the one stop shop" of answers for all of their needs. A complete list of resources including help with meds, financial help, transportation help, end of life grieving and burial needs. I always felt that there was NO help out there for me and my situation with my son but, I now see that there IS help out there but the families, social workers and nurses may not know it. I want to be able to point them in the right direction AND be there to pick up the slack financially so parents and guardians can focus on the task at hand.
Helping Terminally Ill Kids
Bristol, CT 06010
860-261-7368
www.LOHFoundation.com


R.I.P. Wayne
Nov. 14, 2003 - May 23, 2011
One way to support this foundation is by purchasing our products.
Light of Hope was formed when a very special child was diagnosed with cancer.
Wayne passed away from Medullablastoma at the age of 7.
volunteer. Join the board of directors, send us a monetary donation or consider giving us a raffle gift or door prize for one of our next events. The IRS "approval" came in on the date of my son's death . . . this is fate.

Thank you for all the love, support and prayers. I can't do this without all of your support.

Sincerely,
Christina Lewis

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

i have been to some fundraisers put on by th LOH~ the people are great,smiles are shared ~ but mostly they offer HOPE.. well done people...you are all apreciated!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I have been on the board of the Light of Hope Foundation for about a year serving as Secretary. This commitment has been life changing for me and I will continue with Light of Hope as long as I possibly can.. I have met the most wonderful people; the people needing our help and the other volunteers. I would not trade this experience for anything. I have also made a life long friend in Christina Lewis, the director of Light of Hope, who is one of the most caring and driven people I have ever met...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My dear cousin lost her son. The kindness this organization can give and the support it shares means the world to those who are suffering with the knowledge of what is to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization run by dedicated people who have personal experience dealing with cancer in children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us do research and locate other resources for the children and their families. Take the hours of "browsing/searching" away from the parents and families so they may spend the last days with their sick child/loved one, and put the resources together for them. This is an ongoing project. Volunteer