Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Kate came to Boston to film my husband, me, and our children on October 31. My husband has advanced Stage 4 colon cancer and has been given 2-3 months to live. Through Kate's filming my husband was able to ell the children about himself and his love for them. This is a true gift for life for them. This was all done at no cost to us. I have never had such a fantastic experience as this one. This is a non profit that truly does what it says it does. More people need to know about LifeChronicles and the great work that Kate and her team do for people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope that more money gets donated to support the work and that more families can be reached.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Kate and her team taped my Mom and I in 2004, 2 months before my Mom passed. I had always wanted to do this and thought it was too late as she was in the end stages of dementia. We went ahead, and I am so glad we did. Our video is a treasured gift that we now have of our Mom. For a number of years I watched it faithfully every year on her birthday after she passed, but I had skipped a few years lately. I just watched it again tonight and cried tears of joy throughout it. It was like I had a warm visit with my Mom this evening. Thank you Life Chronicles for this 'visit' with my Mom, and for the amazing work you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Kate,
Thank you for flying to the Midwest to interview our family during a critical time in my husband's cancer treatment. The cold and snow here did not keep you from warming our hearts that we opened up to share stories about our life with Greg. You came to Minnesota on short notice and let
us know we did not need to prepare for our time of storytelling. You gently entered our home and soon had us talking about life in specifics and general. We have taken so many pictures from over the years. However, we have had nothing like this DVD with our voices and expressions that say tell so much. I watched the DVD today. It was so wonderful I had to remind myself to breathe! Greg and I, and our kids and grandkids will cherish our DVD forever. Thank you again.
Laurie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Kate interviewed my mother twice for a total of almost 4 hours. The first time was to record her experiences as a pilot in WWII as a WASP (Women's Airforce Service Pilots) and the second was to fill out the rest of her life story. She loved being able to tell her stories and I was amazed to hear some I had never heard before. Our whole family is so grateful to have the DVDs of her amazing life story. It is wonderful that my grandchildren, who all knew her during her last few years, will always be able to hear her voice and remember their great-gramma and know about her ground-breaking exploits - priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow it to have more funding to be able to help more familes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

We gifted our Grandpa a Life Chronicles taping last Christmas. It was by far one of the most special, memorable days of our lives. To have that day taped and stored for our family and our future families... is PRICELESS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

> Dear Kate and friends, > I just wanted yo all to know how much your organizational has meant to all of us. Unbelievably, it has only been 6 months since Tammy's passing, and now the holidays are up... more

August 11, 2013

On October 13, 2011, my son and his wife Tammy welcomed their second son, Jacob, into the world, joining their 3 year old AJ. Within 1 week of delivery, Tammy was diagnosed with stage IV colon cancer. I needed to find a way her boys would have something to remember her by. Everything I found was not enough...I goggled legacy and LifeChronicles came up. I wrote to Kate that day, and heard from her within hours. It was not easy to try and convince Tammy to do this. We had a date set but then the inevidible happened; over Memorial Day of 2012, she was admitted to hospice. Tammy did not know if she had the strength to do the filming and could not decide. Very late on a Friday night, she agreed saying "I don't want my boys to forget me". I called Kate very late that Friday night, and on Sunday the team arrived. Aimee and Aj arrived on Sunday for 3 hours of filming. Somehow, Tammy mustered the strength to give her children a most wonderful gift, her last gift to them. Tammy passed on June 25, 2012 at the age of 38, eight months after diagnosis; no family history of cancer, pregnancy masking many symptoms, hormones feeding the tumor.
There are not enough words to show our gratitude to all the members of LifeChronicles. These are wonderful, caring and loving volunteers; they are committed to helping those in need at their final hours so those left behind can hold on to loved ones; not just memories but visuals.
I sent LifeChronicles more than the 30-35 pictures they requested, and they used every one. I also sent their wedding video-they married on a beautiful beach in Bermuda, as part of a cruise wedding that 26 of us went on.
Our video is priceless. Life Chronicles provided us with as many copies as We needed. Most importantly, AJ and Jacob have wonderful video of their Mommy, with her life chronicled through pictures and video. This was a gift I could never have thought was possible. But LifeChronicles made it happen. We are eternally grateful...
I had the good fortune of meeting Kate a few months ago when she traveled to the east coast. She is a warm and wonderful lady, kind and caring; I expected nothing less. I am truly blessed to call her my friend...
Please know that LifeChronicles would "move mountains" for anyone in need. They don't require a fee for services; they just ask, if you are able, to make a donation. They are all committed to helping those in time of need...God bless them all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would change. This was a life altering experience...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

> Dear Kate and friends,
> I just wanted yo all to know how much your organizational has meant to all of us. Unbelievably, it has only been 6 months since Tammy's passing, and now the holidays are upon us. Each day continues to be a struggle knowing she will never be with us again and
honoring her memory through her young children, AJ and Jacob. Steve, her husband, feels this as well, while continuing on without his soulmate and partner in life's journey. I have purchased two small trunks, one for each child, to preserve momentoes of their mother. Added to this, will be the video your organization created. I just wanted you all to know what Life Chronicles has meant to us. You have given us a medium to preserve Tammy, her voice, her love, her soul, for her children and all of us left behind. The days ahead will be difficult, but knowing we have a piece of her, with her wishes and love for her children preserved, will make their journey in life a bit easier. Her dying wish to Steve was that her children never forget her. We have all made a vow that AJ and Jacob will never forget their Mommy....If any family would ever like to speak to me about the I importance of a legacy, feel free to contact me. Tammy was so weak and fragile, we didn't know how this could be done. Kate, you told me how amazing this process is, that she would muster the energy to complete the taping. You were right, she did, and with so much grace, poise and dignity. And for this, we are eternally grateful. I say this for any family wavering: should we do this, should we even ask the loved one or family to follow through and do a taping? I, too, was wavering and afraid to ask. But Tammy, knowing what would be, made the decision for us. She was and still is an inspiration to us all...
> Once again, thank you. I cannot say it enough...
> Most Sincerely,
> Vicki McDowell
>

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2013

more

August 2, 2013

My mom had end stage cancer and was about to enter hospice, and I am so happy I'd discovered LifeChronicles while she was still alert and able to tell some stories and laugh a bit. Both my folks sat for Kate and her terrific crew and we have a dvd which will be shown to children and their grandchildren, some of whom never got to meet the folks.

What a fantastic idea, what a great non-profit service! Imagine if you could see film of your own great grandparents, or their parents...what a great way to let the future know of the past, and the people that got us here.

Can't say enough about LifeChronicles.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2013

more

February 22, 2013

In 2003 my Mother died from Esophageal Cancer. That same year I was diagnosed, after surgery, with stage III Ovarian Cancer. As I moved though the years I became distraught over the fact that I could not remember my Mothers beautiful voice and have been kicking myself ever since for not recording it. And now in 2013 as I am preparing for my transition from life to death as a result of my cancer I most definitely wanted to leave a recorded voice message for my husband, David. So I brought the subject up with one of my Assisted Hospice caregivers and she pointed me to Life Chronicles and Kate Carter. I contacted Kate though their website and within a day or two I heard back from her. We set up an appt for a taping the very next week.
She said not to script or even think about what I was going to say and she answered a few other questions I had over the phone. There is something about Kate's voice that is encouraging and clear.
I had originally intended for my voice recording to be about 5 or 6 minutes. Though the encouragement I received from Kate during the taping we had about 1/2 hour when we were done. I was amazed at how quickly and easily all of their equipment was set up, left no doubt in my mind that the finished product will be truly amazing. Can't wait to see it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

In 2009, I was diagnosed with metastatic GIST, which is a rare variety of cancer; there are currently two basic meds used to control it. After 3 years of treatment, the medications lost their efficacy and I was told I had somewhere between two and six months to live. The oncological social worker I see told me about Kate and LifeChronicles. I contacted her and last week she and another volunteer came to my apartment and very efficiently set up their cameras, gave me some idea of how the interview would work and we were off and running. We taped for about two hours, starting at the beginning and moving up to the present. It would be hard for me to overstate the catharsis this provided me....memories came back that I realized, once I was dead, would die with me. This video gave me an opportunity to leave my story for friends and family, including generations not yet born. Even if I hadn't led a farily interesting life, my story and those of thousands of others will be recorded and available for future generations. Kate was entirely professional, had the right questions, and helped guide the story. Please give them a call and if you can donate to this fine non-profit. (Though they will record your story without a donation). It was, all in all, an excellent experience and one I would encourage others to get involved in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband John was diagnosed with esophageal cancer at the age of 42. His chances then were 1 in 10 of surviving this type of cancer. He had never been a smoker, was healthy and had no history of digestive problems. We tried everything we could, even traveling to NYC to get second opinions. John fought this terrible disease with dignity, humor and bravery. He lost his own mother to cancer when he was 7 and knew the emotions our young daughters would go through eventually. After chemo, radiation and surgery, nine months later, we received the wonderful news that John was in remission! It was wonderful that we could put this behind us and move on to the life we knew we would have together. After a wonderful family reunion trip to Disneyland, seven months after he was given a clean bill of health, a scan gave us the awful news that the cancer had returned and had spread. At that point, he was given one year to live. We decided to take our girls on trips all over the country to vacation how we would have, had we been able to raise our kids together. We crammed a lifetime into the time we had left. During this time, John was writing letters to me and the girls, teaching them how to ride bikes or how to cook. Things that he wanted them to know before he left this world. The last week of my husband's life, Dr. Tom Mouser from HCI came to our home to see John. He was so compassionate to John, speaking to him softly and kindly and holding his hand. It was so comforting to my family. He mentioned Life Chronicles. He explained that they would come in, interview him, the girls with him, and our family and we could say anything we wanted. It was a chance to have John say what he wanted and have it recorded forever. The last day John was in our home, Kate Carter came into our lives as a stranger, and left as a person I considered a personal friend. She gently explained what we could do, how anything recorded would be precious to all of us. She set up her video camera and began to interview John and then John with just me. It was such a beautiful moment to say things to my husband and him to say things to me, knowing it would be ingrained in my heart forever. Our girls then came and sat on the bed with our dog. Our girls were 7 and 10 at the time. I remember him telling the girls how much he loved them, how proud he was of them and how his cancer was NOT their fault. It just happened and it could not be controlled. We hugged, laughed, talked about our wonderful family trips together and how we would be together again someday. John left our home an hour after the interview to move into a hospice facility. He passed away three days later. I was always concerned my girls would forget his mannerisms and his voice. We have that on video now. His voice telling them that he loves them is something they will have for the rest of their lives. That is priceless and Life Chronicles made that happen. I didn't have to do anything. Dr. Mouser set it up, Kate flew to our city and came to our home. It was all handled with compassion and respect. It is something my girls and I will always be grateful for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

crew as a camera person/grip for a taping; transcribe footage in our office; scan and format photos destined for inclusion in an edited video. Volunteer