Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

My name is Daniel; and I volunteered for life chronicles in March 2012, and it was an event I will always remember. I have been in media production for about seven years now, but I have never work on a project like this. Life Chronicles is a great program that gives families lasting memories. I was deeply moved while I shot and listened to the family's recount of their lives. This was a life changing event for me, and I would volunteer again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2012

more

April 1, 2012

I was diagnosed with ALS 4 years ago. I had already done some video work to share with my 2 sons when I am gone. I was referred to Life Chronicles during this process. I was skepticle to say the least, but was inspired to pursue a quality taping after talking with Kate. The speed at which she put together this very difficult process was amazing. The quality, professionalism, and respect was/is what makes Life Chronicles special..Kate makes a delicate situation bearable and even fun. Thank you to Kate and Life Chronicles for giving me and my boys this gift. Loren Dils

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

I contacted LifeChronicles for my friend. I was told that Kate is out on personal matters for some days. But within hours of sending an email Kate responded. She was always available for us and she cleared her calendar to accommodate us within days. She was somehow able to get a Board of Director to come and tape within a very short notice. The cultural differences were most kindly accommodated. The comfort of the person who was being taped was always foremost. Unfortunately, my friend decided not to tape a couple of hours before taping was due. Kate and the Steven graciously accepted it and said that they were ready to re-tape whenever we were ready again. Thank you LIfeChronicles for the wonderful service that you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 16, 2012

more

March 16, 2012

My husband was diagnosed with stage 4 stomach cancer in June at age 44 and given six months to live. One day at the Kimmel Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins, I saw a flyer for LifeChronicles and sent a message to Kate via email. My husband was an extraordinarily private man, and was uncomfortable with the idea of having a stranger come into our home to videotape him. Kate responded to my questions immediately and did everything she could to assure us my husband's legacy for our children could still be preserved. Using short videos my husband made himself--love letters to each of our sons, one to me, short tutorials he made about shaving and dating and tying ties, combined with pictures, other home videos and music--and even adding on a last minute clip-- LIfeChronicles made an incredible tribute to my husband which we will always treasure. He passed away in November and one of my sons has already viewed the video--he started it just to learn how to tie a tie for the funeral, but then watched the whole thing! My other son is not yet ready to view the video, but when he is, I know he will feel close to his dad, as if he were still with us in some measure. Thanks, Kate. CS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

I became involved with LifeChronicles nearly 14 years ago when founder, Kate Carter shared her vision of creating an organization that would help those who were dying to leave messages to family members and friends that they were leaving behind. I have been a volunteer and experienced first hand, the power of what LifeChronicles provides. On a daily basis LifeChronicles is contacted to help people as they face one of their greatest challenges of their lives--transitioning out of life and making sure that the memory of them, and their love for the most important people in their lives is captured. LifeChronicles provides a service and a gift to people that is timeless. The therapeutic value is tremendous for those who are taped and those who are left behind. When someone is inspired to give back to their community they want to know that their contribution will have an impact and their funds will be used wisely. I know that this is the case with LifeChronicles.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

We lost our daughter, Jessi, in 2008. Life Chronicles left us with wonderful, visual memories.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

We (four kids) did not know what to give our parents for their 75th birthdays then heard about Life Chronicles. An acquaintance told me about a family member who was terminally ill, and how Life Chronicles flew out to IL to interview this family member before she passed, and all pro bono. After checking Life Chronicles out online and talking to the founder, Kate, I knew I would love for my parents to leave their story for posterity. They are healthy but not getting any younger, so I convinced my siblings this would be the perfect gift. We contributed what we could afford (no pressure at all) and Kate took it from there. Our parents loved the idea but were a bit apprehensive about the process. Kate and her crew made them feel at ease throughout and my parents were thrilled with the final product, a professionally filmed 90 minute interview spanning our parents' childhood through the present. My sister and I just watched the DVD together and couldn't agree more. This is such a great keepsake, a wonderful gift to pass on to future generations of our family. I recommend Life Chronicles without reservation. Helene

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2011

more

November 28, 2011

I am so blessed to have Life Chronicles come into my life. Last summer, the last time I was to see my mom, the crew came to her home, and made the video. Mom died on Thankgiving, and although I had already recieved the video, I hadnt yet had the courage to watch it. We watched as a family the day after she died - and what an incredible gift to have her voice, her face, her hands, her memory and her story on film forever. It was very professionaly done, and I feel like it is an incredible gift that we will cherish for generations to come. I highly recommend this wonderful non-profit service to anyone who cherishes someone who will be gone one day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

this is a gift for my entire family, now that my mom is gone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

this organization is perfect! They did a fantastic job, and it was FREE. We were so happy to make a donation that was comfortable for us. They have made it so this incredible service is available to everyone, regarless of income.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Life Chronicles was making videos at the Friendship Center my mom attended.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Given my, my sons, my siblings and all thier children a piece of our own history, to cherish forever.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2011

more

October 27, 2011

Although it's been a little over a year since I've volunteered my time, I miss working at LifeChronicles very much. I think about the founder, Kate Carter, and the organization all the time, and how much it's impacted me over the course of time I got to be there, and continues today. I really admire her work, and the work that gets done there everyday! I am so grateful for the time I got to be there, and all the hours i put in. Kate Carter and LifeChronicles truly carry a big spot in my heart. I hope to be able to go back soon and put in some more time. All the best!! Xoxo

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experience the results of this organization in my life everyday. Everyday whether it's putting my time aside to help somebody else, or going out of my way to hold a door open for someone, it's the qualities of compassion and kindness that is instilled throughout the whole LifeChronicles experience that engraves great qualities in my life everyday.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. It's Remarkable as is!

October 6, 2011

more

October 6, 2011

Parkinson's is slowly taking my father's voice and physical abilities. This summer, while Daddy still had the cognitive and physical ability to speak and share stories, Life Chronicles filmed him and my mom. Without knowing it, my mom and dad shared their legacy. We (their children and grandchildren) were able to recall on camera important moments, and laugh and cry with them. Kate expertly guided us through the experience. My mom and dad are now reviewing their raw footage and collecting photos and music to add to the video. My mom tells me it is THE greatest gift that she and my dad can leave us. We all agree.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visiting my parents last winter (they live 3000 miles away) I could see how frail my parents had become and what a toll my dad's Parkinson's and the stress of 24/7 caregiving was taking on my parents. I knew I had to do Life Chronicles with them. I am so happy that their voice will live for generations to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to clone Kate so that more and more people who have ailing loved ones can share their legacy. I'd let every hospice and nursing home in the country know about Life Chronicles. I'd make sure religious organizations spread the word. And I would find a way to feature Kate's work on Oprah's network.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Through another for profit organization

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To be an advocate for Life Chronicles everywhere I can

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

crew as a camera person/grip for a taping; transcribe footage in our office; scan and format photos destined for inclusion in an edited video. Volunteer