Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.954555
Write A Review
November 28, 2014

more

November 28, 2014

Kate and her team taped my father in 2005, about three months before he passed. It has always been a source of comfort for my mom and our family because it just shows daddy talking about his life and captures the essence of his personality. Fast forward to 2014, I just called my mom to see how her Thanksgiving was. Mom has spent the last few winters in Baja, has made all new friends who know us but had never met my dad. Mom had a great Thanksgiving, she said that she shared her video of Daddy all afternoon. She was showing it to one person, then someone else came by and she would share it with them . It was so enjoyable and she had so much fun, it was like she was introducing him to all her friends down there. I think they all enjoyed it also, they were able to see the resemblance between me and my dad, and my other siblings they have met. They caught the little things I his talk, his beliefs, his character, his essence that made us the people they all know today.
I will always be thankful we talked my dad into doing this taping. He was reluctant at first but the team from Life Chronicles are such professionals and so good with just getting them to talk about what they want to say. Now we have a legacy to pass on to our children and grandchildren so they know who he was and why we are.
Cyndi Davis Connolly, proud daughter of Kenneth A. Davis 1933-2005

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I came across Life Chronicles by chance through a medical support site called "Smart Patient." I had thought about telling my story in a way that would benefit my family, partner, and others but I did not know how to exactly go about it. Then, to my surprise, as I was going through some of the threads, I came across a couple that expressed their deepest feelings of what they were going through medically and mentioned what an incredible experience it was to have told their story through Life Chronicles. I immediately got on the website and without any hesitation I made the call and spoke to Mary, Kate Carter's assistant. Mary was extremely comforting and kind on the phone that without any further delay we scheduled Kate's trip to Connecticut, for a visit. I did not know what to expect, but as soon as we started videotaping, I felt at ease instantly. As I was telling my story, Kate was asking me questions relating to my upbringing, family, illnesses, partner, struggles and so on. Before I knew it an hour had passed by and the videotaping was over. Kate could have not been more professional, kind, and compassionate. I am so grateful to have had this opportunity to share my life story in this manner and at this time in my life. I am happy that I am able to share my life story with others and who can possibly benefit from my experiences. I recommend Life Chronicles to everyone who want to chronicle their life story. Their work is truly a gift! -Natacha- Ridgefield, CT
November 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Kate came to Boston to film my husband, me, and our children on October 31. My husband has advanced Stage 4 colon cancer and has been given 2-3 months to live. Through Kate's filming my husband was able to ell the children about himself and his love for them. This is a true gift for life for them. This was all done at no cost to us. I have never had such a fantastic experience as this one. This is a non profit that truly does what it says it does. More people need to know about LifeChronicles and the great work that Kate and her team do for people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope that more money gets donated to support the work and that more families can be reached.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Kate and her team taped my Mom and I in 2004, 2 months before my Mom passed. I had always wanted to do this and thought it was too late as she was in the end stages of dementia. We went ahead, and I am so glad we did. Our video is a treasured gift that we now have of our Mom. For a number of years I watched it faithfully every year on her birthday after she passed, but I had skipped a few years lately. I just watched it again tonight and cried tears of joy throughout it. It was like I had a warm visit with my Mom this evening. Thank you Life Chronicles for this 'visit' with my Mom, and for the amazing work you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Kate,
Thank you for flying to the Midwest to interview our family during a critical time in my husband's cancer treatment. The cold and snow here did not keep you from warming our hearts that we opened up to share stories about our life with Greg. You came to Minnesota on short notice and let
us know we did not need to prepare for our time of storytelling. You gently entered our home and soon had us talking about life in specifics and general. We have taken so many pictures from over the years. However, we have had nothing like this DVD with our voices and expressions that say tell so much. I watched the DVD today. It was so wonderful I had to remind myself to breathe! Greg and I, and our kids and grandkids will cherish our DVD forever. Thank you again.
Laurie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My daughter and I both decided to volunteer with LifeChronicles as a bonding experience. What we witnessed through many tapings was so much more than we ever expected. Kate and her staff have the process down, it is sacred work. LifeChronicles opened a dialogue between my daughter and myself that I didn't think was possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Kate Carter!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Shock and awe. Yes that described my feelings after I watched a Life Chronicle video of someone I thought I knew! I was shocked that this woman had accomplished so much in her shortened life after personal tragedies I was not aware of and in awe of the positive impact she had on numerous human beings with her love of God and human beings from all walks of life. The video is inspirational..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

FInd a way to support it. I joined the organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Kate interviewed my mother twice for a total of almost 4 hours. The first time was to record her experiences as a pilot in WWII as a WASP (Women's Airforce Service Pilots) and the second was to fill out the rest of her life story. She loved being able to tell her stories and I was amazed to hear some I had never heard before. Our whole family is so grateful to have the DVDs of her amazing life story. It is wonderful that my grandchildren, who all knew her during her last few years, will always be able to hear her voice and remember their great-gramma and know about her ground-breaking exploits - priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow it to have more funding to be able to help more familes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

We gifted our Grandpa a Life Chronicles taping last Christmas. It was by far one of the most special, memorable days of our lives. To have that day taped and stored for our family and our future families... is PRICELESS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

A great experience for my patient! She was so nervous about recording her story for her children but quickly became at ease. Through this opportunity she has been able to record her life story as well as her hopes and dreams for her children. What an amazing gift she has left for her children!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

crew as a camera person/grip for a taping; transcribe footage in our office; scan and format photos destined for inclusion in an edited video. Volunteer