Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.966855
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I learned about Rikkis through my childrens dance studio. My children and family have been so taken by the good work this charity does. So many animals with so many needs all im a safe place with wonderful people that care. Animals are a gift from God, these vulnerable creatures give so much love and happiness to so many people. My kids are states away but love to hear the stories of the animals at Rikkis and see all the pictures of the animals. I believe that Rikkis may be one f the most unique charities I have ever encountered, any donation to the is pricledd in the amount it can hep the animals..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to Rikki's on countless occasions. The wonderful people there have always been so kind and let me know the best place to put my donation as sometimes the needs in other areas are greater than others.

I have donated cash, cat food, dog food, and a dog house. I thought I was
doing so well, until I realized just how much they go through of each of those. However, no matter how small the donation (even $1) they are VERY thankful for. It is obvious that those who volunteer or work there care so much about the animals.

They provide a service that not many would do. How fantastic for all those animals. All 1300 of them :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2011

Rikki's Refuge volunteers and donors, helping homeless and handicapped animals, are what the word "compassion" is all about. more

April 21, 2013

I am so impressed by the extraordinary care Rikki's Refuge gives to each and every animal in their care. They tirelessly help the hurt or sick animals, no matter what species. They have given physical therapy to a chicken, saved a baby pig with homeopathy, take in cats with feline leukemia when any other shelter would euthanize them, and keep all animals for life if they don't get adopted out. Reading emails from Vincent and Opie makes me smile when I read the things that go on at Rikki's. They took in a cat I had found which had feline leukemia and nursed him to health and he actually got adopted out to a volunteer who had other cats with feline leukemia. I will always be in debt to Rikki's and will always support them. Rikki's Refuge is what love and compassion is all about. Thank you so much to all at Rikki's Refuge and also to all who donate to Rikki's.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2011

Rikki's Refuge volunteers and donors, helping homeless and handicapped animals, are what the word "compassion" is all about.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They took in a cat I trapped which had feline leukemia virus which is very contagious to other cats and shouldn't be in the same house as other cats. The cat I took them, named Sonny Corinthos, was eventually adopted out. They give me advice on my own cats when I have questions and even know better methods in handling feral cats than veterinarians know.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to give them more money to continue the excellent work they are doing.

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 8, 2013

Through reading about the animals and everyone at Rikki's I have learnt so much about what we can do help each other. Through looking at the problems that can happen to our lovely animals I have lear... more

April 8, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is an amazing place with fantastic people, they save countless lives and never turn an animal in need away. I came across them via the internet and am planning a visit this year, I live in the UK. In a round about way they have helped animals here also as I now volunteer in this country. Long may they be able to continue there work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

Through reading about the animals and everyone at Rikki's I have learnt so much about what we can do help each other. Through looking at the problems that can happen to our lovely animals I have learnt that by pulling together we can help our animal friends and each other. I take a keener interest in my local animal centre volunteer and raise funds. I would not be doing this if I had not come across a cat called Vincent and through him met some truly amazing people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I can only say, they are an organization that saves lives of all and any animal of any type. They are sent from heaven, they work countless hour to preseve lives that have only a voice that is herd with ones heart. God bless Rikkis Refuge and all the fine people that work there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I live in Spain and know Rikki's Refuge from Facebook. I've seen lots of videos of how they are great with animals and I decided to help them with money because I'm to far away to volunteer. If ever I go to the US I will sure visit them. The great thing is that there aren't oy cats and dogs but all kind of animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

The only thing you can really say about Rikki's is that they never stop doing good works. They have taken animals in that no one else wants and keeps them until their time with us is over. There is ... more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to Rikkis a number of years ago by a friend. I am so impressed with how much work they do with what they have. It is amazing to hear how they work with so many different kind of animals and do so much for each one. It is also wonderful to be part of a network of friends - people who are all working towards the same goal. It is a phenomenal group of volunteers, Board members and donors who all help in their own way. My husband and I are proud to be a part of this and call these people friends.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The only thing you can really say about Rikki's is that they never stop doing good works. They have taken animals in that no one else wants and keeps them until their time with us is over. There is no better bang for your buck than contributing to Rikkis. They use coupons, shop well and don't turn down offerings of food and supplies. They have a wonderful group of volunteers who are there day in and day out. Rikkis is the most together group I have ever had the privilege to support. I love them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 23, 2012

My first trip to Rikki's Refuge (Life Unlimited of Virginia, Inc) was in 2003. I am a volunteer for a cat rescue group (CARE) in Richmond and one of our volunteers was donating a SUV. We stopped by ... more

April 6, 2013

A land locked Noah's ark. You drive down a dirt road past cows and chicken pens (one has a dog peacefully sleeping inside with chickens around him) and you pass a large goat resting in a goat/dog house. You are greeted by a large turkey and his "wives" and then the tour begins. Brightly painted cat houses with large fenced yards and peacocks strutting alone the ridges of the houses. There are huge pigs, small pigs, horses (one an abandoned movie star), cows, emus and then the dogs. You will meet an abandoned police dog that had been injured on duty, now living his life at Rikkis. Huge blood hounds, coon hounds and multiple mutts all happy to see you. It is a huge undertaking to care for all these once unwanted creatures, but you will see volunteers and those that can be hired working continuously to keep everyone fed, clean and healthy (and most come to Rikkis sick and injured). Kerry Hilliard's spirit and energy and dream made this a reality. When you see the reaction of those that visit you realize the magic of this sanctuary. Hundreds of acres with sanctuary for natural wildlife and education on humane treatment for all creatures. Yes, there is a rainbow .There is no other refuge like Rikkis. Those of us who support Rikkis know that there is no waste of any funds, any food, any donation of any sort that is given to the refuge.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2012

My first trip to Rikki's Refuge (Life Unlimited of Virginia, Inc) was in 2003. I am a volunteer for a cat rescue group (CARE) in Richmond and one of our volunteers was donating a SUV. We stopped by Ukrop's and filled the back with donated day old vegetables and found our way to the refuge. When we arrived I was delighted to see many species of creatures all living in harmony and safety. Nanny the goat must have smelled the carrots and other good food because when opened the tail gate she jumped in and started choosing her favorites. I am a responsible business woman but on this day I became a little girl trying to absorb a peacock romancing a goat, pigs that just wanted to be petted and a bevy of cats and dogs. The cats had tables and chairs and those wonderful wire cages with space to interact and/or have privacy. I loved the dogs and saw a very frightened border collie in the corner. He watched me cautiously but would not trust himself to come to me. I have no idea why I chose this little dog but I knew he was coming home with me. After some checking of my animal rescue background, Kerry said that I could take Popei home that day. She had driven a long way to a rural area to rescue him from being put to sleep. The vet just could not bring himself to kill this frightened little dog and called Kerry. As usual, she would not or could not say no. Popei came home with me and it took a year of patience and love before he would come when called or even consider coming in the house. He preferred his large, heated doghouse. I cannot even imagine how Kerry manages all the rescues, the daily maintenance and the demands of caring for so many creatures. She is a woman with a big heart and so much talent. Can you believe she said yes when my rescue group called her to ask if she would take a cat that had one leg removed, part of another, no control of body functions, etc. and let him live in her bit of heaven? She said yes and Vincent has become a spokescat for those who cannot speak and a symbol of a true animal rescue refuge. Please anyone reading this - do all you can to support this unique refuge - you will probably never find another like Rikkis. Dianne Inman, Richmond, VA

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend your day just walking around visiting a little piece (and getting bigger!)of heaven here on earth .The volunteers are the angels tending to Gods special creatures!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2012

The founder of Rikki's Refuge took the time to help educate me about feline leukemia when I adopted an adult cat who tested positive for it. One year later, following her advice, Franklin is doing ver... more

April 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I was first introduced to Rikki's Refuge on Facebook, and over time became friends with it's founder, Kerry Hilliard. Rikki's not only cares for over 1200 animals, but is also a no-kill sanctuary and takes in all species, all of whom receive daily care, shelter, love and appropriate veterinary care. Adoptions through RIkki's are done with great care and responsibility, requiring interviews and home visits, and the signing of a contract for the animal's welfare. Rikki's is actively involved in their own community as well, providing education in various venues, for animal rescue/care/welfare issues...and has a huge social media presence...which has proven to be a successful outreach for them. Thousands of people all over the world have sought advice from Rikki's, so their impact is world-wide. Rikki's helped us immensely when we adopted an adult cat with feline leukemia. Kerry took the time to personally educate us about feline leukemia and helped ease our anxieties. Because of her advice, our FeLV+ kitty had two good years with us and none of our other cats contracted the virus. Also because of Kerry teaching us how cats with and without feline leukemia can co-exist peacefully and safely, we'd do it again. We donate when we are able to because our resources are pretty limited, but I know even the smallest donation is gratefully accepted and it's use is considered wisely, as Rikki's is extremely transparent with their financials. We especially like the fact that this sanctuary is an ALL SPECIES sanctuary, because Rikki's Refuge believes all life has value and is precious. Our support of Rikki's Refuge will be life-long, because we agree with them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The founder of Rikki's Refuge took the time to help educate me about feline leukemia when I adopted an adult cat who tested positive for it. One year later, following her advice, Franklin is doing very well and is healthy (remains asymptomatic). She gave me the confidence to keep him and care for him. I have also been involved in a few cases of setting up state to state transports for cats that Rikki's Refuge has rescued. Networking on various social media is usually how transports are initially set up. I appreciate the financial transparency of Rikki's Refuge. I can easily find out how money is being spent to maintain the refuge, provide vet. care, and food/supplies. I appreciate the committed attitude of Rikki's, toward their staff and volunteers, toward the refuge mission, toward all the animals in their care. Additionally, Rikki's Refuge is not really "animal specific" and they take in dogs, cats, horses, rabbits, pigs, goats....ALL kinds of animals! What I like the most, is the personal interaction with Rikki's Refuge. I'm not just reading a newspaper article or hearing about them on the news...I AM TALKING DIRECTLY TO THEM! Every day! This makes me feel like I am involved in a deeper way, and that's really nice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make cat shelters, create better footing for the dogs, feed the goats, plant feed crops for the pigs, repair a donated vehicle.... Volunteer