Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
165 Reviews
1234.963645
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I became friends with Vincent Cat on Facebook and found at the other end a wonderful, caring and hard working refuge. Not only do they do help cats and dogs, but all manner of animals that other places would be turned away. And the help doesn't end with animals. As an artist I found inspiration in the many photos of the great critters who call Rikki's home. I hope one day to complete a book of cartoons inspired by these critters. To sound cliche a vote for Vinny and crew is a vote for a better future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

Any one family, supporting the amount and diversified animals that this family has is simply incredible! I stay friends with 'Vincent Cat' on Facebook because he's a true inspiration of helping those in need that can't speak for themselves with people words. The consistent updates and photos for the last few years that I've known him has brought joy to my life when all I really needed was a reason to smile. As long as he'll keep me as a friend, I do believe we'll be distant friends for life!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Rikki's holds a part of my heart. I learned about Rikki's when help was needed for 2 death row cats to get Transported there and I decided to help. After that, I wanted to go see where the cats were going and I was invited to visit. So I made to ride from NY to VA. And I fell in love. With the animals, the people and the land. They take the animals no one wants and love and care for them for the rest of their lives. It doesn't matter if they are sick, unwanted have birth defects, missing parts....they are LOVED. The people their know they have souls. I have been to visit twice and will be back again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I found Rikki's Refuge when I joined Facebook and love keeping track of all their news. I quickly became Vincent Cat's online girlfriend and we shared lots of stories and escapades with all their Facebook friends. They help all animals which come their way, either in providing a home for life or finding a home for animals through their vast numbers of contacts. I would love to go there in real life but I doubt whether that would ever happen as I live in the UK. However, we know a lot of the animals as though they were our own. We do help with donations and gifts of food whenever we can afford it and I know those donations and gifts are put to the best possible use. Long live Rikki's Refuge!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to Rikkis Refuge via facebook, we live in the UK, and follow Rikkis progress via their postings. They are a very caring organisation and offer good advice when requested. Their procedure for ensuring that their animals are adopted by the right individual, family etc. is absolutely superb and we wish more rescue organisations had the same system. We try to support them whenever we can from donations, to voting or writing reviews. Pity we don't live nearer as we would definitely have got our family pets from them and I would definitely recommend them to any of my friends who live in the area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I visited Rikki's Refuge in early this year, from Australia. I was impressed by the dedication and love shown by the volunteers and employees for the 1300 plus animals that they have. I highly recommend this lovely place to everyone, it is so rare to find a place that cares as much as they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 8, 2013

Through reading about the animals and everyone at Rikki's I have learnt so much about what we can do help each other. Through looking at the problems that can happen to our lovely animals I have lear... more

April 8, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is an amazing place with fantastic people, they save countless lives and never turn an animal in need away. I came across them via the internet and am planning a visit this year, I live in the UK. In a round about way they have helped animals here also as I now volunteer in this country. Long may they be able to continue there work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

Through reading about the animals and everyone at Rikki's I have learnt so much about what we can do help each other. Through looking at the problems that can happen to our lovely animals I have learnt that by pulling together we can help our animal friends and each other. I take a keener interest in my local animal centre volunteer and raise funds. I would not be doing this if I had not come across a cat called Vincent and through him met some truly amazing people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2012

The founder of Rikki's Refuge took the time to help educate me about feline leukemia when I adopted an adult cat who tested positive for it. One year later, following her advice, Franklin is doing ver... more

April 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I was first introduced to Rikki's Refuge on Facebook, and over time became friends with it's founder, Kerry Hilliard. Rikki's not only cares for over 1200 animals, but is also a no-kill sanctuary and takes in all species, all of whom receive daily care, shelter, love and appropriate veterinary care. Adoptions through RIkki's are done with great care and responsibility, requiring interviews and home visits, and the signing of a contract for the animal's welfare. Rikki's is actively involved in their own community as well, providing education in various venues, for animal rescue/care/welfare issues...and has a huge social media presence...which has proven to be a successful outreach for them. Thousands of people all over the world have sought advice from Rikki's, so their impact is world-wide. Rikki's helped us immensely when we adopted an adult cat with feline leukemia. Kerry took the time to personally educate us about feline leukemia and helped ease our anxieties. Because of her advice, our FeLV+ kitty had two good years with us and none of our other cats contracted the virus. Also because of Kerry teaching us how cats with and without feline leukemia can co-exist peacefully and safely, we'd do it again. We donate when we are able to because our resources are pretty limited, but I know even the smallest donation is gratefully accepted and it's use is considered wisely, as Rikki's is extremely transparent with their financials. We especially like the fact that this sanctuary is an ALL SPECIES sanctuary, because Rikki's Refuge believes all life has value and is precious. Our support of Rikki's Refuge will be life-long, because we agree with them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The founder of Rikki's Refuge took the time to help educate me about feline leukemia when I adopted an adult cat who tested positive for it. One year later, following her advice, Franklin is doing very well and is healthy (remains asymptomatic). She gave me the confidence to keep him and care for him. I have also been involved in a few cases of setting up state to state transports for cats that Rikki's Refuge has rescued. Networking on various social media is usually how transports are initially set up. I appreciate the financial transparency of Rikki's Refuge. I can easily find out how money is being spent to maintain the refuge, provide vet. care, and food/supplies. I appreciate the committed attitude of Rikki's, toward their staff and volunteers, toward the refuge mission, toward all the animals in their care. Additionally, Rikki's Refuge is not really "animal specific" and they take in dogs, cats, horses, rabbits, pigs, goats....ALL kinds of animals! What I like the most, is the personal interaction with Rikki's Refuge. I'm not just reading a newspaper article or hearing about them on the news...I AM TALKING DIRECTLY TO THEM! Every day! This makes me feel like I am involved in a deeper way, and that's really nice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

rikki's is a wonderful place that does so much good!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

The day I was able to visit Rikki's, I was greeted by staff and furry friends. I brought supplies which were promply unloaded. I was taken on a tour by an employee and she was delightful. She told stories of all the animals, how they arrived at Rikki's, and how long they had been there. She showed me habitats that volunteers had built and the animals living in them. All the animals knew her and responded to her voice when she spoke to them. I wish I could visit more. Rikki's helps animals near and far. They set up rescue travel plans, raise money for other animals in need, and Vincent the cat is sooo friendly. Each animal is given what they need despite the cost. I wish I lived closer so I could volunteer on a regular basis.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make cat shelters, create better footing for the dogs, feed the goats, plant feed crops for the pigs, repair a donated vehicle.... Volunteer