Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
174 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

I visited Rikki's Refuge in early this year, from Australia. I was impressed by the dedication and love shown by the volunteers and employees for the 1300 plus animals that they have. I highly recomme... more

July 18, 2014

Rikki's Refuge provides love and care for all species of animals. Many of these animals would end up euthanized if Rikki's did not take them in.
The staff are lovely and the care and love shown to the animals is fantastic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013

I visited Rikki's Refuge in early this year, from Australia. I was impressed by the dedication and love shown by the volunteers and employees for the 1300 plus animals that they have. I highly recommend this lovely place to everyone, it is so rare to find a place that cares as much as they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I learned about Rikki's Refuge through Facebook because of my love of animals. I have seen and heard wonderful things about the Refuge over the last couple of years and wish I could do more than vote for them when I get the chance but we have our own feral cat colony to care for on our farm in Wisconsin. You can see how well the animals are cared for by the wonderful, hard working people at Rikki's Refuge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more help and resources so they could do more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Many nonprofits are founded and run by caring people; rescues attract volunteers willing to donate their time and Life Unlimited of VA, Inc (aka Rikki's Refuge) organizes these volunteers into a labor force for kindness. Rikki's actually thanks every individual (via social media such as Facebook, Pinterest, etc.) so donors and volunteers feel recognized and included in the organization, contributing ideas as well as money. Simple thanks and kindness pervades this organization, making interaction with them a joy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I learned of Rikki's Rescue thru artist Wayne Morris who does art work for Rikki's. When I found out that it is a no kill humane shelter that treats the residents with love and dignity I was immediately won over. I follow the face book page every day and enjoy hearing the stories of the staff members and animals living at the refuge, who I believe go above and beyond to maintain Rikki's Rescue. Life Unlimited of Virginia has changed my life by helping me understand the terrible plight of unwanted animals in our country. How they manage this huge task is amazing. Can you imagine tending to the daily needs of over 1400 different kinds of animals every day in all kinds of weather on a limited budget and still doing such a great job, I myself could never accomplish what is done at Life Unlimited. Bravo Rikki's Refuge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I became friends with Vincent Cat on Facebook and found at the other end a wonderful, caring and hard working refuge. Not only do they do help cats and dogs, but all manner of animals that other places would be turned away. And the help doesn't end with animals. As an artist I found inspiration in the many photos of the great critters who call Rikki's home. I hope one day to complete a book of cartoons inspired by these critters. To sound cliche a vote for Vinny and crew is a vote for a better future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

Any one family, supporting the amount and diversified animals that this family has is simply incredible! I stay friends with 'Vincent Cat' on Facebook because he's a true inspiration of helping those in need that can't speak for themselves with people words. The consistent updates and photos for the last few years that I've known him has brought joy to my life when all I really needed was a reason to smile. As long as he'll keep me as a friend, I do believe we'll be distant friends for life!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Rikki's holds a part of my heart. I learned about Rikki's when help was needed for 2 death row cats to get Transported there and I decided to help. After that, I wanted to go see where the cats were going and I was invited to visit. So I made to ride from NY to VA. And I fell in love. With the animals, the people and the land. They take the animals no one wants and love and care for them for the rest of their lives. It doesn't matter if they are sick, unwanted have birth defects, missing parts....they are LOVED. The people their know they have souls. I have been to visit twice and will be back again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I found Rikki's Refuge when I joined Facebook and love keeping track of all their news. I quickly became Vincent Cat's online girlfriend and we shared lots of stories and escapades with all their Facebook friends. They help all animals which come their way, either in providing a home for life or finding a home for animals through their vast numbers of contacts. I would love to go there in real life but I doubt whether that would ever happen as I live in the UK. However, we know a lot of the animals as though they were our own. We do help with donations and gifts of food whenever we can afford it and I know those donations and gifts are put to the best possible use. Long live Rikki's Refuge!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to Rikkis Refuge via facebook, we live in the UK, and follow Rikkis progress via their postings. They are a very caring organisation and offer good advice when requested. Their procedure for ensuring that their animals are adopted by the right individual, family etc. is absolutely superb and we wish more rescue organisations had the same system. We try to support them whenever we can from donations, to voting or writing reviews. Pity we don't live nearer as we would definitely have got our family pets from them and I would definitely recommend them to any of my friends who live in the area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 8, 2013

Through reading about the animals and everyone at Rikki's I have learnt so much about what we can do help each other. Through looking at the problems that can happen to our lovely animals I have lear... more

April 8, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is an amazing place with fantastic people, they save countless lives and never turn an animal in need away. I came across them via the internet and am planning a visit this year, I live in the UK. In a round about way they have helped animals here also as I now volunteer in this country. Long may they be able to continue there work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

Through reading about the animals and everyone at Rikki's I have learnt so much about what we can do help each other. Through looking at the problems that can happen to our lovely animals I have learnt that by pulling together we can help our animal friends and each other. I take a keener interest in my local animal centre volunteer and raise funds. I would not be doing this if I had not come across a cat called Vincent and through him met some truly amazing people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make cat shelters, create better footing for the dogs, feed the goats, plant feed crops for the pigs, repair a donated vehicle.... Volunteer