Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.966855
| 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is unlike any other place I've ever heard of. they go far beyond just saving cats and dogs. Twenty two species of animals call Rikki's home. The volunteers are amazing...they never s... more

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to Life Unlimited of VA, aka Rikki's Refuge for many years. Living more than 400 miles away though, I only saw their facilities via pictures. I finally was able to make the trek this year and had the best time of my life. My first vacation in 16 years!
The people who
work and volunteer at Rikki's are amazing individuals. They care so much for each and every animal. they know all their names and when there are almost 1300 animals of all kinds, that's a lot of names to remember! The work is physically demanding and the hours are long but each person gives their all with a smile and a kind touch.
They do their very best and run on donations alone to feed and care for those that would not even be alive if Rikki's didn't exist. Differently abled, unwanted, ill, and old will find a home at RIkki's. The animals know they are safe. The animals know they will be fed and cared for until the end of their earthly days. I saw with my own eyes how well the animals are cared for and would trust one of my own to them any day.
They tirelessly fundraise and apply for grants so they can continue to care for the animals in their care. They promote education so today's children will continue their good work in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding and grants so the organization wouldn't have to struggle to get what they need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is unlike any other place I've ever heard of. they go far beyond just saving cats and dogs. Twenty two species of animals call Rikki's home. The volunteers are amazing...they never say "we can't". They somehow make great things happen and overcome problems where other rescues would say no, we can't help. Differently abled animals that would be killed anywhere else live and thrive there. Throw away animals with no place to call home now have wonderful lives because of Rikki's. I have been a supporter for quite some time and my first vacation in 15 years will be this year and I'm going to Rikki's!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I, too, learned about Rikki's Refuge through Wayne Morris on Facebook. Ever since I check on Rikki's daily through Facebook and I've donated many items for them. They are such wonderful people. They are kind and make sure that they keep in touch. They have helped so many cats and dogs in need and they are a no-kill rescue. Since I am too emotional to work at rescues, I try to do as much as possible for them by networking and getting their message across to as many people as possible.
Just by daily voting, we can all help Rikki's feed the many animals that live there.
Rikki's is one of the BEST rescues in the country!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. They are great the way they are. I wish that I could give them millions to feed all of their rescues.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Many nonprofits are founded and run by caring people; rescues attract volunteers willing to donate their time and Life Unlimited of VA, Inc (aka Rikki's Refuge) organizes these volunteers into a labor force for kindness. Rikki's actually thanks every individual (via social media such as Facebook, Pinterest, etc.) so donors and volunteers feel recognized and included in the organization, contributing ideas as well as money. Simple thanks and kindness pervades this organization, making interaction with them a joy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I learned of Rikki's Rescue thru artist Wayne Morris who does art work for Rikki's. When I found out that it is a no kill humane shelter that treats the residents with love and dignity I was immediately won over. I follow the face book page every day and enjoy hearing the stories of the staff members and animals living at the refuge, who I believe go above and beyond to maintain Rikki's Rescue. Life Unlimited of Virginia has changed my life by helping me understand the terrible plight of unwanted animals in our country. How they manage this huge task is amazing. Can you imagine tending to the daily needs of over 1400 different kinds of animals every day in all kinds of weather on a limited budget and still doing such a great job, I myself could never accomplish what is done at Life Unlimited. Bravo Rikki's Refuge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

How wonderful it would be if there were more no-kill rescues like Rikki's Refuge, Life Unlimited Of Virginia Inc. The animals are cared for as family. Your donation goes a long way at Rikki's Refuge. They have a handful of employees who work very hard to care for the animals. The annual budget is minimal, with almost no overhead. If you love animals, please try to come by for a tour. Their location is Central Virginia, in what is mostly an agricultural area. I bet most people have never seen a real peacock up close. So happy the time I was able to be there for the “peacock parade.” As a supporter & volunteer, I have helped with many events. Thank goodness for all the volunteers who help. As a result, all events & functions are handled by people who donate their time and talents. All donations to Rikki's Refuge far exceed other nonprofits. Your money is put to good use here. If anyone would like to know more, please have them contact me. Thank you for Rikki’s Refuge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have known of and been a supporter of Rikki's Refuge, Life Unlimited of Virginia INC, for many years. I recently moved down to Orange County, VA and now live within 15 minutes of Rikkis so I feel so blessed.

This animal sanctuary is incredible. Animals of all kinds - healthy, sick,
old, and young - are treated with kindness, dignity, and LOVE. The owner, Kerry, is a rock star! The employees and volunteers are just amazing - caring for so many animals is HARD grueling work in any and all kinds of weather conditions - and they do it with LOVE. I was most recently at the Refuge on July 4, and when you are there, surrounded by the animals (cows, sheep, goats, dogs, cats, donkeys, chickens, ducks, pigs, emus and so many more!) it is immediately evident that these animals are HAPPY and cared for with love and respect. I think the animals KNOW and can sense how very lucky they are to have landed in this place, for whatever reason, and will be allowed to stay there for the rest of their lives.

That's why I will always support RIkki's Refuge, Life Unlimited of Virginia INC, with my money, my time, and my voice.

Lolly Busey

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
February 24, 2013

Life Unlimited is a wonderful organization. I have visited their main branch, Rikki's Refuge, and it is an amazing place. This organization survives solely on donations, and 96% of all donated funds... more

April 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Rikki's helped me by accepting a FELV positive kitty when I could find no where else to take her. I made the trip all the way from Indiana to Virginia, and I was amazed at the numbers and kinds of rescued animals and the tender care and love they recieved from the whole staff. Kerry Hilliard knows the name and story of each and every animal! She is amazing, and the refuge she leads is awesome! Kerry has also given me wonderful advice with regard to my personal cats when I have sought her ideas. This is a truly wonderful organization. In addition to caring for all their 1300 or so rescued animals, they give programs in the community to educate children and adults about the importance of spaying and neutering pets, proper animal care, and they creatively use disabled animals as a bridge to show all living beings deserve love and respect, no matter what their health status or age or color! Truly, if I could give 10 stars, I would!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013

Life Unlimited is a wonderful organization. I have visited their main branch, Rikki's Refuge, and it is an amazing place. This organization survives solely on donations, and 96% of all donated funds are used directly in the rescue and care of their almost 1300 animal residents. They also do great community outreach and teaching of the public on the care, welfare and treatment of animals and through the use of differently abled animals demonstrated to children that any and all differently abled beings can live rich, full lives and should be treated with dignity and respect. Life Unlimited of Virginia is very worthy of any and all support you can give them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2011

this is a wonderful refuge that provides care to over 1200 animals. They spend 96% of the funds they take in on caring for the animals...they REALLY care! They deserve everyone's support and contributions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They accepted my FELV postive rescued kitty when no one else would.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they could expand!

April 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2011

Rikki's has saved so many animals who would have had no chance without them. They not only take in those in need, they are proactive in educating the public, especially children, about the importance... more

April 29, 2013

I have supported Rikki's Refuge for several years. They care about all life, opening their doors and their hearts to the creatures who have no hope, welcoming them, tending to all their needs. These animals may go on to find a home with someone else, but if they don't, they are cherished at Rikki's for the rest of their lives. And Rikki's also has a wonderful program of humane education so that children (and their families!) learn how important it is to treat others kindly, both animal and human. Rikki's is making the world a better place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2011

Rikki's has saved so many animals who would have had no chance without them. They not only take in those in need, they are proactive in educating the public, especially children, about the importance of humane treatment for all species. Teaching compassion changes the world for everyone

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have taken in cats from the rescue group I support, cats who most would consider unadoptable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their income to a million dollars a year!

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

For everyone who envisions an animal sanctuary is all sunlight and roses and birds landing on your shoulder to sing to you - it's NOT Disney! It's hard work to feed and shelter and medicate over 1,000 animals of all sizes and temperments, in all kinds of weather - yet the staff and volunteers of Rikki's Refuge do it willingly every day of the year. And they still find time to dispense love and kindness to every creature on the property. When you leave Rikki's after a day of volunteering you're often exhausted, sweaty and not the best-smelling person in the world - but you'll sure feel good about yourself and are already looking forward to the next time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is an amazing place with volunteers that have hearts of gold. They rescue so many unwanted, injured, senior, and handicapped animals and give them the life they would've never had before, and I can't thank them enough for it! If I lived closer, I'd volunteer there as well!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make cat shelters, create better footing for the dogs, feed the goats, plant feed crops for the pigs, repair a donated vehicle.... Volunteer