Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.966855
Write A Review
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

Rikki's Refuge is one of the best sanctuaries in the USA that I know of! Every life counts at Rikki's and they are doing everything to make sure their animals get the very best of lives! Taking care of well over 1200 animals, and paying attention to all of their (often special) needs on a daily basis, is a miracle not many rescues or sanctuaries can manage. Rikki's does!
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Rikki's Refuge/Life Unlimited takes in and cares for many kinds of animals, large and small. They do amazing work and deserve any help they can get. Community outreach is a huge part of what they do, and Virginia is better for being home to this fantastic organization.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Rikki's Refuge stepped in to save a kitty that was abused and neglected by its owner. Rikki's took all the responsibility to make sure this kitty is safe and would find a loving home. I happen to see the post on Facebook and Rikki's made all things possible with the help of the volunteers involved. The kitty is safe now. Very well taken care of and since day one, she touched our hearts and our home is her new forever home. I will be forever grateful to Rikki's for the unconditional love they are giving these pets and animals everyday of their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more volunteers to help and support this organization.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

Rikki's Refuge cares for over 1200 animals and is a no-kill shelter. Everyone there is friendly and loves animals. They are very active in the community and deserve as much support as they can receive from us all. I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

As a volunteer for Rikki's, I can say with absolute certainty that this is a place that goes above and beyond to help any animal that comes into their care. From cats to dogs and horses to guinea pigs... more

September 29, 2014

Rikki's Refuge is an incredible no-kill sanctuary for animals of all shapes and sizes. The dogs, cats, pigs, horses, emus, guinea pigs, sheep, goats, etc., live out their lives in a safe and caring environment. Considering that there are over 1200 animals that call Rikki's home, it truly takes a village of dedicated volunteers. Having spent many hours there, I honestly am in awe of how well they keep everything running so smoothly. But, none of this would happen without those willing to give of their time, resources and help from others. I believe in Kerry and her vision of what Rikki's Refuge stands for and for those who support her every step of the way.
April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for Rikki's, I can say with absolute certainty that this is a place that goes above and beyond to help any animal that comes into their care. From cats to dogs and horses to guinea pigs, no animal at Rikki's goes without the proper care or love. I have enormous respect for everyone who works so tirelessly at Rikki's.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is the most honest animal rescue that I have had the honor of being associated with. The love and compassion they give to each and every animal that comes into their care should be used as a guideline for every animal rescue in existence. I am proud to be a volunteer at Rikki's.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

Having been a fan of the larger animal refuges, like Farm Sanctuary, I was happy to find that there is one local to me; but I was awestruck when I saw how much they actually do & how many animals they've saved. Amazing organization. - Elijah Aust, Charlottesville, VA
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love the work that Rikki's Refuge, aka Life Unlimited of Virginia, does. They save and provide a safe harbor for countless number of rescued animals that otherwise would be euthanized in shelters and farms. The refuge provides a safe home for 22 species of unwanted animals. The tireless work that the volunteers and staff do to feed and care for these animals is amazing and worthy of my donations throughout the year. I've been supporting Rikki's for over 10 years and look forward to supporting the work that they do for many more to come. I tell all my family and friends to support them, and I say to them - don't worry about me and gifts - give what you can to Rikki's and I'll be happy for that. It's just a great charity doing great work for the animals that I love. The ratio of funding going directly to the animals compared to the administrative or overhead costs is really good. I know my support is going for what I intended and the work done with my donations is outstanding, kind, considerate, and so important. I love Rikki's!
July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 7, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is a no-kill animal sanctuary in Virginia that is home to nearly 1300 animals of 22 different species. I have been a donor and supporter of Rikki's since its inception in 1998. Rikki'... more

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Rikki's Refuge is my favorite charity, and I have been supporting them since they opened in 1998. Rikki's takes in animals that would otherwise have been destroyed: old, disabled, behavior problems. With 1300 animals of 22 different species, and over 600 cats, Rikki's is a wonderful, live-filled sanctuary. ALL operating expenses for Rikki's come from donations, and it takes a lot of funding to keep the sanctuary open 24/7/365.

I retired and moved to Kauai, from the DC metro area, one year ago. Rikki's continues to be a big part of my life, and has been a major influence in my new life as a retiree: I now work with a non-profit feral cat organization. I am involved in fund raising, trapping cats to be spayed and neutered, and fostering kittens. I have been able to reach out to Rikki's Executive Director, Kerry Hilliard, for advice on my new "work." Ms. Hilliard has always taken the time to provide encouragement and helpful hints about rescuing and working with feral cats, and she has shared the joys and sorrows I've experienced with that work. Ms. Hilliard is a font of information on cats, given that there are over 600 cats at Rikki's, and she is always, ALWAYS there to share that information with anyone who asks -- either via email, or through Facebook.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find some way to make sure Rikki's Refuge ALWAYS has the funds needed to feed and care for all of their animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

Rikki's Refuge is a no-kill animal sanctuary in Virginia that is home to nearly 1300 animals of 22 different species. I have been a donor and supporter of Rikki's since its inception in 1998. Rikki's takes in animals that would otherwise be destroyed, especially those who are disabled, elderly and/or with behavioral issues. Rikki's is staffed almost entirely with volunteers, so that for any donations made to this 501(c)3 charity, well over 95% goes towards food and shelter and veterinary care for the animals. Rikki's also does a great deal of community education: traveling to local events with several of their "differently abled" animals, to demonstrate that all animals, and be inference, all humans, have value. Rikki's also has a "spokescat" and a "spokesdog," both of whom are differently abled. The spokescat is missing part of his back legs, and the spokesdog is blind: both of these wonderful animals would have been destroyed had some kind soul not contacted Rikki's to give them a home. I have visited Rikki's a number of times. and I am always truly overwhelmed at the feeling of love that is everywhere. Rikki's operates solely on donations, and because of the nearly all-volunteer staff, they somehow manage to get buy on about one dollar a day per animal. Because of Facebook, Rikki's also has a world-wide following. This nonprofit organization is nothing less than wonderful, and I am proud to be a part of their family, and a supporter and donor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2011

Rikki's is an amazing place, full of love for all living beings -- no matter how many legs, whether they have fur or feathers. I have been contributing to Rikki's since its inception over 10 years ago. It's great to have a sanctuary that absolutely will not kill, that will take care of animals of all species, no matter what their problems. I found Rikki's over 10years ago because I had a 13-year-old Shepherd-Husky mix female who had become mentally unglued following my divorce. It had become impossible for me to take care of my best friend, and so I embarked on a search to find someone or some place that would take care of my friend for the rest of her natural life. I found Rikki's on the Internet, sent Kerry -- who runs the place -- a note, and then went to visit. I then made what was one of the most difficult decisions of my life -- to give away my best friend, instead of putting her down. Kerry and company took my Sheba in, and loved her and cared for her for about six months, until she died of a series of strokes. Ihave been a contributor to Rikki's ever since, because I know that such places are needed and that they are always, always short of funds. It's nice to know that Rikki's is there, and that it will take in animals of all species -- I think there are 24 species there now, and over 1200 animals. Other shelters and sanctuaries usually deal with only one species, such as a certain breed of dog or cat. But, Rikki's does not discriminate, and that makes them a model of what a sanctuary should be. I am thankful every day that Rikki's is there, and that it provides a "live your life by our example" model.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Taking care of my aged dog, and witnessing the good will spread when Rikki's animals conduct fund-raising events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that it had the funds needed to sustain it all the time! Expand the faclities for cats with various medical issues.

July 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

I visited Rikki's Refuge in early this year, from Australia. I was impressed by the dedication and love shown by the volunteers and employees for the 1300 plus animals that they have. I highly recomme... more

July 18, 2014

Rikki's Refuge provides love and care for all species of animals. Many of these animals would end up euthanized if Rikki's did not take them in.
The staff are lovely and the care and love shown to the animals is fantastic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013

I visited Rikki's Refuge in early this year, from Australia. I was impressed by the dedication and love shown by the volunteers and employees for the 1300 plus animals that they have. I highly recommend this lovely place to everyone, it is so rare to find a place that cares as much as they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I learned about Rikki's Refuge through Facebook because of my love of animals. I have seen and heard wonderful things about the Refuge over the last couple of years and wish I could do more than vote for them when I get the chance but we have our own feral cat colony to care for on our farm in Wisconsin. You can see how well the animals are cared for by the wonderful, hard working people at Rikki's Refuge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more help and resources so they could do more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make cat shelters, create better footing for the dogs, feed the goats, plant feed crops for the pigs, repair a donated vehicle.... Volunteer