Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been associated with Life Skills for 4 years, first as a fund-raising and event volunteer, then as co-chair of their golf tournament/dinner auction fundraiser, and now as a member of their board. I was immediately touched by the people they serve, realizing that they, through no fault of their own, needed help from an outside organization like Life Skills. People with developmental disabilities can be productive members of society if they're given a chance, and the wonderful people at Life Skills do just that. I had always wanted to give back to the community in some way, and volunteering with Life Skills has been an extremely rewarding experience for me!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I set out to give back to my community, however I received much more than I could ever give. Time and time again, my heart has been touched not only by the amazing clients we serve, but by the amazing people that deliver that service. This organization is anchored by the perseverance of our clients and employees. More amazing stories, to be continued...

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Life Skills for almost 10 years. Most recently serving on their Board. The management team is second to none. Their passion around serving those with developmental disabilities is truly amazing. I am pleased to serve on their board and proud to be associated with their vision of serving those individuals with developmental disabilities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Rarely does one find an organization run as well as LIfe Skills. Most are aware of the deeply compassionate care Life Skills clients receive, along with the massive increase in Autism services provided by the Touch Point arm of the organization. As a Board Member, I feel it is important to point out a few practical issues LIfe Skills (LS) solves. As a community based provider, LS clients feel the same pride as we felt when we got our own place. Living, working and interacting with the community is paramount to our clients. In decades past, people with disabilities were sent of to habilitation centers (barrack style living) at the advice of doctors. it was the only way people knew how to help in those days. Now we know greater quality of life for our clients is found in the community, which also exposes neighborhoods to more diverse lifestyles and allows neighbors to interact with our clients. The many LF clients who work, pay taxes and add their talents to their workplace. I am proud to be a small part of LS, it allows me a way to help change people's lives in a proven and practical way. -Weston McKee

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers