Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Life Skills for almost 10 years. Most recently serving on their Board. The management team is second to none. Their passion around serving those with developmental disabilities is truly amazing. I am pleased to serve on their board and proud to be associated with their vision of serving those individuals with developmental disabilities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Rarely does one find an organization run as well as LIfe Skills. Most are aware of the deeply compassionate care Life Skills clients receive, along with the massive increase in Autism services provided by the Touch Point arm of the organization. As a Board Member, I feel it is important to point out a few practical issues LIfe Skills (LS) solves. As a community based provider, LS clients feel the same pride as we felt when we got our own place. Living, working and interacting with the community is paramount to our clients. In decades past, people with disabilities were sent of to habilitation centers (barrack style living) at the advice of doctors. it was the only way people knew how to help in those days. Now we know greater quality of life for our clients is found in the community, which also exposes neighborhoods to more diverse lifestyles and allows neighbors to interact with our clients. The many LF clients who work, pay taxes and add their talents to their workplace. I am proud to be a small part of LS, it allows me a way to help change people's lives in a proven and practical way. -Weston McKee

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with Life Skills at numerous events this past year and it has been a life-changing and eye-opening experience. I can tell the top priority of the organization and the staff is the clients. My favorite event was the Family Event at the Missouri Botanical Garden. Each Life Skills client and his/her family were invited to experience areas of the garden after it had closed. The amount of joy and excitiment coming from each client made me truly believe this organization is changing lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with life skills for the first time and it was one of the best expriences I had ever had with volunteering. I would do it again for sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Life Skills at a few events and I have enjoyed every minute of it. It is easy to see how well their staff prepares and cares for each event they host. All of members of Life Skills were very courteous not only toward me as a volunteer but even more so toward all of the guests at their events. The dedication in the organization is wonderful, Life Skills is an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a senior in high school that found out about Life Skills through some of my parents' friends. My sister and I got together a group to work for a school-wide service day and have loved it ever since. This past summer, we worked mostly in preparation for the auction, and I could not have been more pleased. Each time my sister and I would come in, there was a list of things for us to do and we were instantly put to work. Volunteering was very enjoyable and always productive. While volunteering throughout the summer, my sister and I really got to see the progression of our work as we saw the things we helped with happen in the auction. I would volunteer again in a heartbeat!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became involved with LifeSkills as an entertainer at a fundraiser 3 years ago. It was fun, I got paid a few bucks and my involvement could have just ended there, but the passion and commitment I witnessed in all of the LifeSkills employees stirred something in me. I got in contact with the volunteer coordinator and have been involved in numerous events ever since. Not as a paid entertainer, but as a volunteer! Each and every event I've been involved with I have to just say WOW! And, what else can I do to be involved! And When's the next event? Not only do the many dedicated employee's serve LifeSkills clients, they go out of their way to take care of their volunteers! Their Passion, Commitment, Dedication....it's contagious! In addition to all of the wonderful praise and accolades one could go on about LifeSkills and it's mission to serve, they are just good caring people! Fun to hang around and kick back with after a succesfull event! I look forward to volunteering at many more events in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have volunteered to help Life Skills with a few different events and every time has been an absolute pleasure. Their staff are very dedicated to their work and providing enjoyable and helpful events. I would strongly recommend this organization to help anyone who struggles with, or knows someone who struggles with developmental disabilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a first time volunteer at the Life Skills golf tournament and charity dinner fundraiser, and my experience far exceeded my expectations! The Life Skills staff members had clearly invested countless hours into preparing for an event of such magnitude; it was really special to be a part of it all. From the silent auction to the oral auction after dinner, to just the production as a whole ran so smoothly. But at the heart of it all you could really tell all of the staff had their hearts in the right place. Making the lives of their clients better was clearly at the forefront of everyone's efforts, and was definitely the main focal point of the evening. I've already committed to volunteering at another event later this year, and I can't wait to be a part of the Life Skills team again!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for about two years and have enjoyed every occasion that I was given to help. I have seen truly caring individuals invest their time and talents to assure a better life for the clients. The feeling of Family permeates every event, fund raisers to in-house activities and community outings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers