Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

After suffering in silence and shame for over 25 years from living with HIV. Someone suggested i attend a weekend seminar. That seminar transformed me and allowed me to start the life I now have. I was able to, for the first time, talk about being diagnosed in the Navy and the way I was treated. The shame and isolation I experienced both emotionally and physically was paralyzing. At that weekend the volunteers provided a safe, loving, supportive environment. The facilitators were amazing and also allowed me the space and time to begin healing that shame. From the first phone call with Sunnie Rose the experience was incredibly loving.
I have worked with other agencies and recieved services, but none provide the service, or the support that Life Group does as well. The reason is that for the first time I was in a room with those affected by the disease and got to hear how my disease affected them. I was so isolated and had no idea that my family was as well. This experience coupled with the compassion with which they approach and provide services was the key to my returning to life.
I went to school and recieved my Masters Degree and I am currently applying to Ph.D. programs. This experience informs all that I do, and have done.
There is no other agency that provides this service, this support, and this compassion. They do not duplicate services of any kind, there is no where else to get what they provide except from them. Their work needs to be available to more, and accessible by many.
Life's are not just changed, but saved by this program.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

This is one of the best programs out there I am a donor and also a client
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

One weekend CAN change your life forever. Without the resources and support I received from LifeGroup I would not be here today. I now understand who I am and what my choices in life are. The generosity of the donation of money and support to LifeGroup has helped me gain control of my life by giving me the skills I needed to navigate insurance issues, medication choices, doctors, counseling, nutrition and care. I cannot thank LIFEGROUP enough for their time and volunteers. I'm alive because of Sunny and this life changing organization.
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I went to the weekend seminar feeling afraid and alone but I left with new insight and friends and a yearning for more in life which I now know I can have. I am grateful for the volunteers and staff who dedicate themselves to making this safe space possible for us all.
February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

I WAS CURIOUS AS TO WHAT 'THE LIFE GROUP' WAS ALL ABOUT... AND EXPRESSED MY INTERESTED IN ATTENDING. SUNNY ROSE CALLED ME PERSONALLY, (WHICH MADE MY MIND UP IMMEDIATELY) WHAT WITH THE EXURBERANCE, AND BEAUTIFUL DEMEANER, AND PASSION. I LIVE HERE IN PALM SPRINGS, AND THE 'WEEK-END' EVENT TOOK PLACE ON THE MARX ESTATE..... ALL THE VOLUNTEERS WERE WONDERFUL, CARING INDIVIDUALS, BUT I HAVE TO SAY BEING GREETED, WELCOMED AND HUGGED BY SUNNY, STARTED THE WHOLE BALL ROLLING.

I CAME AWAY WITH AN OVERALL SENSE OF SELF-EMPOWERMENT, CONFIDENCE AND LOVING MY LIFE (I HAD BEEN SUFFERING FROM TERRIBLE DEPRESSION), THROUGH ALL THE WORKSHOPS A FEW OF WHICH WERE ON HEALTH ISSUES WITH HIV+, DIET/EXCERCISE, SEXUAL PRACTICES, DATING, WORKSHOPS IN DEVELOPING CONFIDENCE, AND LOVING WHO WE ARE AND HOW MUCH I CAN BRING TO THE TABLE......

IT WAS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, AND I WOULD LOVE TO VOLUNTEER TO HELP HAVE A SUCCESSFUL WORKSHOP HERE IN THE DESERT. ALEX IRVINE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

HOLD MORE WORKSHOPS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I participated in The Life Group weekend in April 2011. I knew about the seminar from my previous volunteer work. I had spent time raising a child and I wanted to re-focus my life on what was important to me. The Life Group weekend was the perfect place for me. I re-aligned my priorities to best serve my health and well being. I reconnected with committed compassionate caregivers serving a worthy goal. I found myself to be wise and powerful when I had lost hope. I have immense gratitude for the synergy of The Life Group and it's volunteers.

Since that time I have become a volunteer myself. I give because I have been given much. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure adequate funding that this work can continue. Expand the service area so that this program can be experienced in more parts of the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 6, 2013

I had carried around shame for over two decades. Although I had been a volunteer for multiple organization over the years I had never addressed my personal shame as it related to HIV/AIDS. I found o... more

April 9, 2013

I had been HIV positive for 21 years when I attended this seminar. I had never told my story of being in the Navy and finding out I was HIV positive. I was 21 and they put me on a C-141 cargo plane as the only passenger and flew me from Hawaii to Travis Airforce Base where they locked me in a room with a sign that read "infectious disease do not enter." A women came in and interviewed me in a hazmat suit. I was then flown to San Diego and Miramar Marine Corps Airstation. I was then transported to Naval Hospital Balboa on a bus that I had to sit in the back of the bus alone. It was two weeks before someone touched me without gloves on and it was my mother when she arrived. I was so full of shame about that incident that I had never told anyone because when this all happened people were dying within six months of diagnosis and I survived. So, I carried the weight of that shame for all those years and finally at the weekend I was able to address the shame and have a new beginning that has been incredible. I have been living the most serene life since that weekend. I have not shame and completely feel free and present and alive. Thank you Life Group for giving me a life worth living.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

I had carried around shame for over two decades. Although I had been a volunteer for multiple organization over the years I had never addressed my personal shame as it related to HIV/AIDS. I found out in 1986 while in the Navy. The way it was handled was more than shaming it was damaging to my soul. In January 2009 I finally got to tell my story in a non-judgmental and supprotive environment. After two decades I was able to begin a path of healing that until the Life Group weekend had not been afforded me. My life has been transformed since that weekend in so many ways but the most important is that I have a deeper respect for myself and those in my life. I am so very grateful for the experience I had that weekend and know it never would have happened if not for this one of a kind organization. Thank you does not seem to be enough. So, I say this to those who provide this service. May you find the compassion and love in your life that you so freely offer during these weekends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

This group brought new life to me when I needed it most. The whole weekend was wonderful and it got me to be able to open up in a safe non threatening environment. I didn't really know how much I needed the support but Life group knew exactly what I needed. Love it so much that I might want to volunteer in some capacity in the near future. Give freely or yourself, your love, you time and your money knowing they are doin exactly what any great non profit should be doing serving the greater good of their clients. Wonderful wonderful group!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Where do I begin a review of the Life Group LA? My first awareness of TLGLA was in 2004 at a support weekend event I attended. It was an amazing experience and a unique concept . The short term and long term benefits of the weekend workshop continue to support me to this day. The organization is perhaps the most dedicated support system I know of for the HIV+ community in L A. They operate with limited budget to sustain their mission. Sunnie Beregr, the founder, has weathered the challenges in a depressed economic environment year after year, to insure the group's continued services. This is one of the most loved and cherished HIV+ support groups on the west coast and it is deserving of funding that will sustain it and grow the organization statewide and perhaps nationally as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways; psychologically and emotionally, it has sustained me over the past 7 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

grow it into a national organization. Their programs are unique and applicable to every HIV+ community in the US.

August 8, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 8, 2011

There is no other program in LA by any other organization that has no demographic boundary where we can go get all this info, support and understanding in one weekend. I am regretful that I did not go when I first tested HIV+. I would have discovered peace and a better understanding a year ago and not floundered around learning on my own how to access services I needed, understanding how best to take care of my condition and most of all stress less. This group of volunteers and staff were welcoming, knowledgeable and beyond supportive in every way. Charles D.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

learning how to best take care of myself and others while moving forward in relationships

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they always had enough money to do what they do

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

referred by a social group chat room

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I am no longer a victim. I now know what it will take to live a long healthy life.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers