Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

The Life Group L.A provides weekend seminars that offer education, support and unconditional love to all who participate. It is the most transformative program that I have ever experienced, where fear, despair and isolation are replaced with courage, hope and a renewed sense of community. With compassion and non-judgement (and lots of hugs!) lives are changed in a most positive way! Attending one of these weekends is a gift that truly keeps on giving, where spirits are lifted and new friendships are forged. I cannot say enough good things about the Life Group. Please come experience it for yourself! Oh, and by the way, did I mention that it's free? See you next time...xoxo...carla

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

The Life Group LA runs by compassionate volunteers! What makes the Life Group LA different is they are providing education guiding people to change themselves to become healthy happy people. more

September 4, 2013

I have grown from a person who only thinks and focuses on herself to a person who think about herself and Life Group as her 2nd family. I have learned to be dedicated to what I do and love my work. I have made great friends. I have witnessed many changes and miracle. I am honored to be a part of the Life Group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

The Life Group LA runs by compassionate volunteers! What makes the Life Group LA different is they are providing education guiding people to change themselves to become healthy happy people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

I have never seen these many volunteer angels until I volunteer at the Life Group! They are hard workers who are dedicated to help improving quality of life of themselves and others. I am blessed to be a part of the LIfe Group, LA family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have had the privilege of volunteering for Life Group LA on two occasions and was stuck by how they had created a caring and cohesive, creative and supportive community for their clients. Midway through the weekend the sharing that took place was profound and the sense of hope palpable. This is an organization well worth supporting!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Everett C Alexander

This is my 8th year facilitating with Sunnie & the Life Group Family. I first attended as a client and was transformed by the experience so much that I trained to be a facilitator.

I have been HIV+ for 34 years. Involved in many AIDS Service Organization's
and on the board of many over the years. I was also a LA County Commissioner on HIV.

The Life Group is by far the most compassionate, loving & giving of all the others, bar none.

We still face the stigma & challenges of living with HIV/AIDS, however, The Life Group LA gives us a place to go to be a part of, not apart from; a place to belong, to connect, to live in the Sunlight of the Spirit once more. A place to reconnect with who we are not what we have, a place to love & be loved by many from many places and perspectives.

The color of your skin, the language you speak, your country of origin, your sexual orientation or your resume or bank account do not matter in this place.

One more time: 40+ people came together with many, many differences. As the life group does so well, by end of day one, unconditional love was becoming the norm not the exception. By end of the weekend nothing was left but unconditional love compassion & deep respect for all through all and with all.

I am as always honored to do this to see the souls of people blossom and come into full measure. Thank you all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013

more

February 28, 2013

This organization embodies the true spirit of community service. The seminars that they put together not only provide the best and most update information about HIV care, but also show to the attendees the power of volunteering since these events mobilize an amazing group of volunteers that follow the powerful leadership of Sunnie Rose. I am honored every time that I am invited to serve as speaker for these educational programs. Octavio Vallejo, MD, MPH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

Native Fusion volunteered to conduct a nutritional workshop a couple of months ago. We all enjoyed being of service to Life Group LA . The lives of the participants who came to the workshop are an inspiration to us all. What resilience, what humor! We had not laughed as hard as we did that day in a long time! Their willingness to share and do this work is not about charity, it is about being precious and free!

Armida A
Native Fusion
www.nativefusion.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013

more

February 11, 2013

I really love this organization and feel honored to be an invited guest. It's a feel-good organization that gives great education and services to those with HIV/AIDS/Cancer, and their families. There is no B.S., and yet there's lots of love. I've been a presenter for their weekend seminars, sharing the mind's role in improving and creating wellness. I've found that I enjoy and get value out of sitting in on the other presentations (rather than just showing up, doing my thing, and then leaving), and having great conversations with the people attending that leave *me* feeling healed; even though I came to serve/give.

Sunnie attracts lovely, caring people to her organization. She protects those she serves from scammers and negative energy. She truly cares, and gives gives gives. The events I've also been involved with have been a load of fun too! The Saddle Up LA event has become something we hold on our calendar each year, and the only fund raiser. It would be so great to get more attention and funding to this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 13, 2011

It has been a long road for me to commit to a volunteer role at The Life Group LA. After being a client three years ago, I knew I wanted to give back in some way to the group. I volunteered for some h... more

April 5, 2012

Even before receiving the 2011 Volunteer of the Year Award from The Life Group, it is hard for me think to of many non-profits that have made such a difference in my life. The Life Group L.A. , in my opinion, defines itself as a community. And because it is a very inclusive community, so many people feel welcomed and served at the POZ Life seminars, the weekly emotional group meetings, and all the other events the group is involved with. I hope any of the readers of this message can share everything I feel is so special about The Life Group L.A. with me (and it's exceptional leader, Sunnie Rose). Many Hugs, David

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2011

It has been a long road for me to commit to a volunteer role at The Life Group LA. After being a client three years ago, I knew I wanted to give back in some way to the group. I volunteered for some hours at POZ Life weekends, volunteered at your Gay Rodeo and Gay Pride booths, raised money at Saddle Up LA, and eventually spent entire POZ Life weekends with the Tech Team. I got to know Sunnie, the Executive Director, and the other volunteers. I even found a best friend who I tragically lost in a still unexplained incident. I can’t think of another group I am more invested in than The Life Group L.A. Your board members and facilitators spent 36 hours with me over
two weeks and guided me to become a new emotional group facilitator for the Life Group L.A. I am humbled by the feedback they gave me. I am lifted up by the support I received and used to successfully complete the training. Thank you so much!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've gained friends who are the best people in the world while helping people sort out the challenges of being affected by HIV.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd find a way to give a decent salary to the Executive Director. She's literally working pennies for each hour she puts into this group.

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I decided to return to volunteering in 2009, after the Great Recession butchered most of the social service program's funding. It created a great volunteer need and I rose to answer the call. I was blessed to find TLGLA through a person named Rod. He told me about the organization. After talking with Sunnie I volunteered for the first time, Jnauary 2010. Since then I haven't missed one weekend, nor fundraising opportunity. There's so many things that make this grass roots non-profit such a powerful place. It starts with its volunteers. Each one is pure love, understanding, compassion, and dedication with a personality of what the organization's ideals represent. Each of us brings our own magic to the table to create an overwhelmingly positive environment for our clients. TLGLA lets each of us do what we do best; we take the clients who are affected or afflicted with HIV through a weekend of educational awareness programs, healing groups, and emotional support groups to enrich and empower those making long term decisions about their status. Doing what we do best creates an environment where the client leaves at his or her best. TLGLA strives to make sure both the client and volunteer are as equally loved, appreciated, and understood. At the end of a weekend we walk awa with the feeling of emotional and spiritual fulfillment. All of our clients leave amazingly lifted, and ascending to new levels, knowing they are not alone. All services are provided free of charge, and our weekend continues to grow. I don't know what I would have happened had I not met Sunnie, and began volunteering for TLGLA, and I'm thankful I don't have to focus on that. Instead I've walked away with the most amazing, solid, and real friends, as well as amazing memories from my time with them.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It educating me in HIV, helping to give back to our community in such a special way, gaining true friends and feeling loved in our organization, and the feeling of emotional and spiritual fulfillment with everything I give.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Gain as many donors as possible, so we could expand our model, and increase the servics offered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wouldn't change a thing. For the first time I've come across an organization that met 100% of my core fundamental ideals. I have nothing that I would want to change from perfect.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteering opened the door to new friends, and I stay in contact with them regularly. Each weekend teaches me something new, whether it be through our presenters or volunteers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Blessed and thankful for being introduced to this group.

August 9, 2011

more

August 9, 2011

I am a volunteer speaker for The Life Group LA, and each time I present to the clients I walk away in awe... The program is the most empowering, uplifting and life changing event for HIV infected clients.

Working with Sunnie, the other volunteers and clients is truly a gift for me- Thank
you all!

Michelle J Sherman, RPh, FASCP, AAHIVE
www.MichRx.com

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

POZ Life Weekend

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers