Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have helped this organization in a limited role, but I have seen enough of it to say that it performs a VITAL role in the community. HIV is not "just" a medical condition; it is a condition that affects the whole person, and the people around them, in relationships and families. So, beyond medical care and medications, the social services are vitally important. I am a professional (clinical social worker) who has worked in HIV social services for over 22 years, and I have lived with HIV myself for 23 years. Having the opportunity to participate in a previous version of this organization was what I credit for my long-term survival. Having services like Sunnie's can make the difference between just surviving and truly thriving. Sunnie has skills, heart, and most importantly, integrity. I have worked in non-profits that do not have integrity, and they are awful; it is an injustice. Sunnie runs a tight ship, and there is no "monkey business"; her hands are clean and her services are sincere and effective, and I have the long-standing credentials and breadth and depth of experience as a client and as a professional to be able to say that. I'm very proud of Sunnie and the all work that the staff and volunteers of the Life Group do, and I give them my highest recommendations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the organization, overall, needs more support. It should be receiving more funding, grants, and personal/private/public donations, of all kinds. It's a bit of an "unsung hero" in the community, because "bigger" organizations have better visibility and "PR", when a smaller organization like this is doing SO much good in the community to actual people in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Everett C Alexander

This is my 8th year facilitating with Sunnie & the Life Group Family. I first attended as a client and was transformed by the experience so much that I trained to be a facilitator.

I have been HIV+ for 34 years. Involved in many AIDS Service Organization's
and on the board of many over the years. I was also a LA County Commissioner on HIV.

The Life Group is by far the most compassionate, loving & giving of all the others, bar none.

We still face the stigma & challenges of living with HIV/AIDS, however, The Life Group LA gives us a place to go to be a part of, not apart from; a place to belong, to connect, to live in the Sunlight of the Spirit once more. A place to reconnect with who we are not what we have, a place to love & be loved by many from many places and perspectives.

The color of your skin, the language you speak, your country of origin, your sexual orientation or your resume or bank account do not matter in this place.

One more time: 40+ people came together with many, many differences. As the life group does so well, by end of day one, unconditional love was becoming the norm not the exception. By end of the weekend nothing was left but unconditional love compassion & deep respect for all through all and with all.

I am as always honored to do this to see the souls of people blossom and come into full measure. Thank you all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 6, 2013

I had carried around shame for over two decades. Although I had been a volunteer for multiple organization over the years I had never addressed my personal shame as it related to HIV/AIDS. I found o... more

April 9, 2013

I had been HIV positive for 21 years when I attended this seminar. I had never told my story of being in the Navy and finding out I was HIV positive. I was 21 and they put me on a C-141 cargo plane as the only passenger and flew me from Hawaii to Travis Airforce Base where they locked me in a room with a sign that read "infectious disease do not enter." A women came in and interviewed me in a hazmat suit. I was then flown to San Diego and Miramar Marine Corps Airstation. I was then transported to Naval Hospital Balboa on a bus that I had to sit in the back of the bus alone. It was two weeks before someone touched me without gloves on and it was my mother when she arrived. I was so full of shame about that incident that I had never told anyone because when this all happened people were dying within six months of diagnosis and I survived. So, I carried the weight of that shame for all those years and finally at the weekend I was able to address the shame and have a new beginning that has been incredible. I have been living the most serene life since that weekend. I have not shame and completely feel free and present and alive. Thank you Life Group for giving me a life worth living.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

I had carried around shame for over two decades. Although I had been a volunteer for multiple organization over the years I had never addressed my personal shame as it related to HIV/AIDS. I found out in 1986 while in the Navy. The way it was handled was more than shaming it was damaging to my soul. In January 2009 I finally got to tell my story in a non-judgmental and supprotive environment. After two decades I was able to begin a path of healing that until the Life Group weekend had not been afforded me. My life has been transformed since that weekend in so many ways but the most important is that I have a deeper respect for myself and those in my life. I am so very grateful for the experience I had that weekend and know it never would have happened if not for this one of a kind organization. Thank you does not seem to be enough. So, I say this to those who provide this service. May you find the compassion and love in your life that you so freely offer during these weekends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2013

more

February 28, 2013

This organization embodies the true spirit of community service. The seminars that they put together not only provide the best and most update information about HIV care, but also show to the attendees the power of volunteering since these events mobilize an amazing group of volunteers that follow the powerful leadership of Sunnie Rose. I am honored every time that I am invited to serve as speaker for these educational programs. Octavio Vallejo, MD, MPH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

Native Fusion volunteered to conduct a nutritional workshop a couple of months ago. We all enjoyed being of service to Life Group LA . The lives of the participants who came to the workshop are an inspiration to us all. What resilience, what humor! We had not laughed as hard as we did that day in a long time! Their willingness to share and do this work is not about charity, it is about being precious and free!

Armida A
Native Fusion
www.nativefusion.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013

more

February 11, 2013

I really love this organization and feel honored to be an invited guest. It's a feel-good organization that gives great education and services to those with HIV/AIDS/Cancer, and their families. There is no B.S., and yet there's lots of love. I've been a presenter for their weekend seminars, sharing the mind's role in improving and creating wellness. I've found that I enjoy and get value out of sitting in on the other presentations (rather than just showing up, doing my thing, and then leaving), and having great conversations with the people attending that leave *me* feeling healed; even though I came to serve/give.

Sunnie attracts lovely, caring people to her organization. She protects those she serves from scammers and negative energy. She truly cares, and gives gives gives. The events I've also been involved with have been a load of fun too! The Saddle Up LA event has become something we hold on our calendar each year, and the only fund raiser. It would be so great to get more attention and funding to this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Large and well funded non profits in Los Angeles and around the country do not even come close to doing what the Life Group does when it comes to education and social events for people with HIV. And they do all of this on a shoe string budget! Sunnie and her volunteers should be supported not only by the city of LA but also by large foundations. Their work is groundbreaking and effective.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 13, 2011

It has been a long road for me to commit to a volunteer role at The Life Group LA. After being a client three years ago, I knew I wanted to give back in some way to the group. I volunteered for some h... more

April 5, 2012

Even before receiving the 2011 Volunteer of the Year Award from The Life Group, it is hard for me think to of many non-profits that have made such a difference in my life. The Life Group L.A. , in my opinion, defines itself as a community. And because it is a very inclusive community, so many people feel welcomed and served at the POZ Life seminars, the weekly emotional group meetings, and all the other events the group is involved with. I hope any of the readers of this message can share everything I feel is so special about The Life Group L.A. with me (and it's exceptional leader, Sunnie Rose). Many Hugs, David

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2011

It has been a long road for me to commit to a volunteer role at The Life Group LA. After being a client three years ago, I knew I wanted to give back in some way to the group. I volunteered for some hours at POZ Life weekends, volunteered at your Gay Rodeo and Gay Pride booths, raised money at Saddle Up LA, and eventually spent entire POZ Life weekends with the Tech Team. I got to know Sunnie, the Executive Director, and the other volunteers. I even found a best friend who I tragically lost in a still unexplained incident. I can’t think of another group I am more invested in than The Life Group L.A. Your board members and facilitators spent 36 hours with me over
two weeks and guided me to become a new emotional group facilitator for the Life Group L.A. I am humbled by the feedback they gave me. I am lifted up by the support I received and used to successfully complete the training. Thank you so much!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've gained friends who are the best people in the world while helping people sort out the challenges of being affected by HIV.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd find a way to give a decent salary to the Executive Director. She's literally working pennies for each hour she puts into this group.

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

This group brought new life to me when I needed it most. The whole weekend was wonderful and it got me to be able to open up in a safe non threatening environment. I didn't really know how much I needed the support but Life group knew exactly what I needed. Love it so much that I might want to volunteer in some capacity in the near future. Give freely or yourself, your love, you time and your money knowing they are doin exactly what any great non profit should be doing serving the greater good of their clients. Wonderful wonderful group!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I decided to return to volunteering in 2009, after the Great Recession butchered most of the social service program's funding. It created a great volunteer need and I rose to answer the call. I was blessed to find TLGLA through a person named Rod. He told me about the organization. After talking with Sunnie I volunteered for the first time, Jnauary 2010. Since then I haven't missed one weekend, nor fundraising opportunity. There's so many things that make this grass roots non-profit such a powerful place. It starts with its volunteers. Each one is pure love, understanding, compassion, and dedication with a personality of what the organization's ideals represent. Each of us brings our own magic to the table to create an overwhelmingly positive environment for our clients. TLGLA lets each of us do what we do best; we take the clients who are affected or afflicted with HIV through a weekend of educational awareness programs, healing groups, and emotional support groups to enrich and empower those making long term decisions about their status. Doing what we do best creates an environment where the client leaves at his or her best. TLGLA strives to make sure both the client and volunteer are as equally loved, appreciated, and understood. At the end of a weekend we walk awa with the feeling of emotional and spiritual fulfillment. All of our clients leave amazingly lifted, and ascending to new levels, knowing they are not alone. All services are provided free of charge, and our weekend continues to grow. I don't know what I would have happened had I not met Sunnie, and began volunteering for TLGLA, and I'm thankful I don't have to focus on that. Instead I've walked away with the most amazing, solid, and real friends, as well as amazing memories from my time with them.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It educating me in HIV, helping to give back to our community in such a special way, gaining true friends and feeling loved in our organization, and the feeling of emotional and spiritual fulfillment with everything I give.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Gain as many donors as possible, so we could expand our model, and increase the servics offered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wouldn't change a thing. For the first time I've come across an organization that met 100% of my core fundamental ideals. I have nothing that I would want to change from perfect.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteering opened the door to new friends, and I stay in contact with them regularly. Each weekend teaches me something new, whether it be through our presenters or volunteers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Blessed and thankful for being introduced to this group.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers