Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

The Life Group L.A provides weekend seminars that offer education, support and unconditional love to all who participate. It is the most transformative program that I have ever experienced, where fear, despair and isolation are replaced with courage, hope and a renewed sense of community. With compassion and non-judgement (and lots of hugs!) lives are changed in a most positive way! Attending one of these weekends is a gift that truly keeps on giving, where spirits are lifted and new friendships are forged. I cannot say enough good things about the Life Group. Please come experience it for yourself! Oh, and by the way, did I mention that it's free? See you next time...xoxo...carla

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I participated in The Life Group weekend in April 2011. I knew about the seminar from my previous volunteer work. I had spent time raising a child and I wanted to re-focus my life on what was important to me. The Life Group weekend was the perfect place for me. I re-aligned my priorities to best serve my health and well being. I reconnected with committed compassionate caregivers serving a worthy goal. I found myself to be wise and powerful when I had lost hope. I have immense gratitude for the synergy of The Life Group and it's volunteers.

Since that time I have become a volunteer myself. I give because I have been given much. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure adequate funding that this work can continue. Expand the service area so that this program can be experienced in more parts of the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 16, 2011

The Life Group LA affords persons infected and affected by HIV/AIDS to attend a POZ life weekend without charge to the attendee to gather information about the disease, treatment, nutrition, complimen... more

September 7, 2013

Working with the LifeGroupLA since its inception is a privilege. The volunteers and facilitators under the leadership of Sunnie Rose Berger offer a service of our Southern California Community unlike anything that is going on. In particular with offer the PoZ Life weekend 4x/year and anyone infected or affected by this pandemic can attend the two day seminar without charge. The POZ life weekend offers education and emotional support to those diagnosed with AIDS as well as to their family and friends.
The LifeGroupLA model of compassionate presence has transformed my life. I am definitely more peace filled after my 22 years of working in the role of Presenter and now Board Member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more funds so they can expand their work to include a wider range of populations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2011

The Life Group LA affords persons infected and affected by HIV/AIDS to attend a POZ life weekend without charge to the attendee to gather information about the disease, treatment, nutrition, complimentary therapies. There are ongoing support groups in the community for our clients also without charge. The volunteers are well trained in theShanti model of compassionate presence and provide an environment of care and support unequaled in the Southern California area. I am a volunteer in the HIV/Aids community for 20 years. When Shanti closed its doors, Sunnie stepped up to the plate and has done much personally and professionally to have TLGLA survive to serve. Personally, I am a better woman, nurse and volunteer because of the work with TLGLA and the wonderful individuals who give abundantly to the clients who come to us for education and emotional support during a most challenging time. I have met families and partners of our clients who attend the POZ weekend and the transformation from "aloneness" to meeting a community of caring individuals at TLGLA is renewing and life affirming for me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A knowing that a group of individuals can and do support others devastated by a diagnosis. And the support is caring and based in scientific knowledge presented by a board array of professionals who answer the difficult questions for folks truly frightened. And a ton of long term relationships from volunteers and clients alike Many of our clients join TLGLA as volunteers, board members, or take training as facilitatiors to give back to the community after their positive experience with POZ.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding and a bigger board to extend the work to the many who can benefit from education and emotional support while dealing daily with their HIV/AIDS.

September 4, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

The Life Group LA runs by compassionate volunteers! What makes the Life Group LA different is they are providing education guiding people to change themselves to become healthy happy people. more

September 4, 2013

I have grown from a person who only thinks and focuses on herself to a person who think about herself and Life Group as her 2nd family. I have learned to be dedicated to what I do and love my work. I have made great friends. I have witnessed many changes and miracle. I am honored to be a part of the Life Group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

The Life Group LA runs by compassionate volunteers! What makes the Life Group LA different is they are providing education guiding people to change themselves to become healthy happy people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

I have never seen these many volunteer angels until I volunteer at the Life Group! They are hard workers who are dedicated to help improving quality of life of themselves and others. I am blessed to be a part of the LIfe Group, LA family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

In a time when services for people with HIV/AIDS are being cut, the work of the Life Group LA is more important than ever. Their Poz Life Weekends provide specific information about HIV/AIDS, treatments, side effects and cutting edge research. The weekends also provide emotional support and vital connections for people living with HIV and the people who support them. The educational and emotional components are perfectly balanced. The weekends are a mix of both newly diagnosed and long time survivors of HIV. I have had the honor of speaking at many of the weekends and have totally enjoyed it. The audiences were engaged and asked a lot of questions. And audience members learned from each other as well. Also, as an HIV services provider, I have referred many clients to the weekends and usually described then as "life altering" and thanked me for the referral.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If they had the money, I would love to see them do MORE Poz Life Weekends all across LA County.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have had the privilege of volunteering for Life Group LA on two occasions and was stuck by how they had created a caring and cohesive, creative and supportive community for their clients. Midway through the weekend the sharing that took place was profound and the sense of hope palpable. This is an organization well worth supporting!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have helped this organization in a limited role, but I have seen enough of it to say that it performs a VITAL role in the community. HIV is not "just" a medical condition; it is a condition that affects the whole person, and the people around them, in relationships and families. So, beyond medical care and medications, the social services are vitally important. I am a professional (clinical social worker) who has worked in HIV social services for over 22 years, and I have lived with HIV myself for 23 years. Having the opportunity to participate in a previous version of this organization was what I credit for my long-term survival. Having services like Sunnie's can make the difference between just surviving and truly thriving. Sunnie has skills, heart, and most importantly, integrity. I have worked in non-profits that do not have integrity, and they are awful; it is an injustice. Sunnie runs a tight ship, and there is no "monkey business"; her hands are clean and her services are sincere and effective, and I have the long-standing credentials and breadth and depth of experience as a client and as a professional to be able to say that. I'm very proud of Sunnie and the all work that the staff and volunteers of the Life Group do, and I give them my highest recommendations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the organization, overall, needs more support. It should be receiving more funding, grants, and personal/private/public donations, of all kinds. It's a bit of an "unsung hero" in the community, because "bigger" organizations have better visibility and "PR", when a smaller organization like this is doing SO much good in the community to actual people in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Everett C Alexander

This is my 8th year facilitating with Sunnie & the Life Group Family. I first attended as a client and was transformed by the experience so much that I trained to be a facilitator.

I have been HIV+ for 34 years. Involved in many AIDS Service Organization's
and on the board of many over the years. I was also a LA County Commissioner on HIV.

The Life Group is by far the most compassionate, loving & giving of all the others, bar none.

We still face the stigma & challenges of living with HIV/AIDS, however, The Life Group LA gives us a place to go to be a part of, not apart from; a place to belong, to connect, to live in the Sunlight of the Spirit once more. A place to reconnect with who we are not what we have, a place to love & be loved by many from many places and perspectives.

The color of your skin, the language you speak, your country of origin, your sexual orientation or your resume or bank account do not matter in this place.

One more time: 40+ people came together with many, many differences. As the life group does so well, by end of day one, unconditional love was becoming the norm not the exception. By end of the weekend nothing was left but unconditional love compassion & deep respect for all through all and with all.

I am as always honored to do this to see the souls of people blossom and come into full measure. Thank you all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 6, 2013

I had carried around shame for over two decades. Although I had been a volunteer for multiple organization over the years I had never addressed my personal shame as it related to HIV/AIDS. I found o... more

April 9, 2013

I had been HIV positive for 21 years when I attended this seminar. I had never told my story of being in the Navy and finding out I was HIV positive. I was 21 and they put me on a C-141 cargo plane as the only passenger and flew me from Hawaii to Travis Airforce Base where they locked me in a room with a sign that read "infectious disease do not enter." A women came in and interviewed me in a hazmat suit. I was then flown to San Diego and Miramar Marine Corps Airstation. I was then transported to Naval Hospital Balboa on a bus that I had to sit in the back of the bus alone. It was two weeks before someone touched me without gloves on and it was my mother when she arrived. I was so full of shame about that incident that I had never told anyone because when this all happened people were dying within six months of diagnosis and I survived. So, I carried the weight of that shame for all those years and finally at the weekend I was able to address the shame and have a new beginning that has been incredible. I have been living the most serene life since that weekend. I have not shame and completely feel free and present and alive. Thank you Life Group for giving me a life worth living.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

I had carried around shame for over two decades. Although I had been a volunteer for multiple organization over the years I had never addressed my personal shame as it related to HIV/AIDS. I found out in 1986 while in the Navy. The way it was handled was more than shaming it was damaging to my soul. In January 2009 I finally got to tell my story in a non-judgmental and supprotive environment. After two decades I was able to begin a path of healing that until the Life Group weekend had not been afforded me. My life has been transformed since that weekend in so many ways but the most important is that I have a deeper respect for myself and those in my life. I am so very grateful for the experience I had that weekend and know it never would have happened if not for this one of a kind organization. Thank you does not seem to be enough. So, I say this to those who provide this service. May you find the compassion and love in your life that you so freely offer during these weekends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2013

more

February 28, 2013

This organization embodies the true spirit of community service. The seminars that they put together not only provide the best and most update information about HIV care, but also show to the attendees the power of volunteering since these events mobilize an amazing group of volunteers that follow the powerful leadership of Sunnie Rose. I am honored every time that I am invited to serve as speaker for these educational programs. Octavio Vallejo, MD, MPH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers