Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

I WAS CURIOUS AS TO WHAT 'THE LIFE GROUP' WAS ALL ABOUT... AND EXPRESSED MY INTERESTED IN ATTENDING. SUNNY ROSE CALLED ME PERSONALLY, (WHICH MADE MY MIND UP IMMEDIATELY) WHAT WITH THE EXURBERANCE, AND BEAUTIFUL DEMEANER, AND PASSION. I LIVE HERE IN PALM SPRINGS, AND THE 'WEEK-END' EVENT TOOK PLACE ON THE MARX ESTATE..... ALL THE VOLUNTEERS WERE WONDERFUL, CARING INDIVIDUALS, BUT I HAVE TO SAY BEING GREETED, WELCOMED AND HUGGED BY SUNNY, STARTED THE WHOLE BALL ROLLING.

I CAME AWAY WITH AN OVERALL SENSE OF SELF-EMPOWERMENT, CONFIDENCE AND LOVING MY LIFE (I HAD BEEN SUFFERING FROM TERRIBLE DEPRESSION), THROUGH ALL THE WORKSHOPS A FEW OF WHICH WERE ON HEALTH ISSUES WITH HIV+, DIET/EXCERCISE, SEXUAL PRACTICES, DATING, WORKSHOPS IN DEVELOPING CONFIDENCE, AND LOVING WHO WE ARE AND HOW MUCH I CAN BRING TO THE TABLE......

IT WAS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, AND I WOULD LOVE TO VOLUNTEER TO HELP HAVE A SUCCESSFUL WORKSHOP HERE IN THE DESERT. ALEX IRVINE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

HOLD MORE WORKSHOPS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

When AIDS support organizations in Los Angeles started closing their doors, Sunnie Rose Berger stepped up. She made sure individuals affected and infected with HIV and AIDS would continue to receive amazing support programs that would allow them to learn, to grow, to share, to cry, to feel, to nurture, to be nurtured, and simply be themselves in the new world they were now experiencing. Whether clueless about HIV/ AIDS, newly diagnosed, long time survivor or in love with someone whose life has forever changed LIFE GROUP is there for them. None of this would be possible without Sunnie Rose Berger stepping up and making sure her community did not lose the support they needed. LIFE GROUP LA now not only supports Los Angeles but other cities around the country, from Palm Springs to Las Vegas and beyond. God bless Sunnie. May the light always shine down on this organization. Please make your donation today!

Rebel J. Morris
supporter, volunteer, donor for Life Group LA
for the past 10 years

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 4, 2013

This organization, The Life Group LA (TLGLA), is not only exquisitely effective, it has an immense and loving heart. The people involved are primarily donating their time: administrative, volunteers and professionals, for the various support groups, trainings and their highly acclaimed weekend seminars.

The TLGLA leadership team is dedicated to providing the highest quality services to those who use their organization. It only takes one interaction with Sunnie and her team to recognize the depth of their love and concern for their clients. This organization runs on a shoe-string budget, it is not a top-heavy bureaucracy filled with redundancy, so your donations get to the people who are served.

If you have money to donate to an non-profit organization, or better yet, time in your life to volunteer, TLGLA is the organization you should consider. Your experience will not only benefit the community, it will make you acutely aware that good exists and thankful that you were lucky enough to have discovered a place that will fill your heart with joy and reinforce the oft lost concept of the innate goodness of humankind.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

The Life Group L.A provides weekend seminars that offer education, support and unconditional love to all who participate. It is the most transformative program that I have ever experienced, where fear, despair and isolation are replaced with courage, hope and a renewed sense of community. With compassion and non-judgement (and lots of hugs!) lives are changed in a most positive way! Attending one of these weekends is a gift that truly keeps on giving, where spirits are lifted and new friendships are forged. I cannot say enough good things about the Life Group. Please come experience it for yourself! Oh, and by the way, did I mention that it's free? See you next time...xoxo...carla

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I participated in The Life Group weekend in April 2011. I knew about the seminar from my previous volunteer work. I had spent time raising a child and I wanted to re-focus my life on what was important to me. The Life Group weekend was the perfect place for me. I re-aligned my priorities to best serve my health and well being. I reconnected with committed compassionate caregivers serving a worthy goal. I found myself to be wise and powerful when I had lost hope. I have immense gratitude for the synergy of The Life Group and it's volunteers.

Since that time I have become a volunteer myself. I give because I have been given much. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure adequate funding that this work can continue. Expand the service area so that this program can be experienced in more parts of the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 16, 2011

The Life Group LA affords persons infected and affected by HIV/AIDS to attend a POZ life weekend without charge to the attendee to gather information about the disease, treatment, nutrition, complimen... more

September 7, 2013

Working with the LifeGroupLA since its inception is a privilege. The volunteers and facilitators under the leadership of Sunnie Rose Berger offer a service of our Southern California Community unlike anything that is going on. In particular with offer the PoZ Life weekend 4x/year and anyone infected or affected by this pandemic can attend the two day seminar without charge. The POZ life weekend offers education and emotional support to those diagnosed with AIDS as well as to their family and friends.
The LifeGroupLA model of compassionate presence has transformed my life. I am definitely more peace filled after my 22 years of working in the role of Presenter and now Board Member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more funds so they can expand their work to include a wider range of populations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2011

The Life Group LA affords persons infected and affected by HIV/AIDS to attend a POZ life weekend without charge to the attendee to gather information about the disease, treatment, nutrition, complimentary therapies. There are ongoing support groups in the community for our clients also without charge. The volunteers are well trained in theShanti model of compassionate presence and provide an environment of care and support unequaled in the Southern California area. I am a volunteer in the HIV/Aids community for 20 years. When Shanti closed its doors, Sunnie stepped up to the plate and has done much personally and professionally to have TLGLA survive to serve. Personally, I am a better woman, nurse and volunteer because of the work with TLGLA and the wonderful individuals who give abundantly to the clients who come to us for education and emotional support during a most challenging time. I have met families and partners of our clients who attend the POZ weekend and the transformation from "aloneness" to meeting a community of caring individuals at TLGLA is renewing and life affirming for me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A knowing that a group of individuals can and do support others devastated by a diagnosis. And the support is caring and based in scientific knowledge presented by a board array of professionals who answer the difficult questions for folks truly frightened. And a ton of long term relationships from volunteers and clients alike Many of our clients join TLGLA as volunteers, board members, or take training as facilitatiors to give back to the community after their positive experience with POZ.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding and a bigger board to extend the work to the many who can benefit from education and emotional support while dealing daily with their HIV/AIDS.

September 4, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

The Life Group LA runs by compassionate volunteers! What makes the Life Group LA different is they are providing education guiding people to change themselves to become healthy happy people. more

September 4, 2013

I have grown from a person who only thinks and focuses on herself to a person who think about herself and Life Group as her 2nd family. I have learned to be dedicated to what I do and love my work. I have made great friends. I have witnessed many changes and miracle. I am honored to be a part of the Life Group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

The Life Group LA runs by compassionate volunteers! What makes the Life Group LA different is they are providing education guiding people to change themselves to become healthy happy people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

I have never seen these many volunteer angels until I volunteer at the Life Group! They are hard workers who are dedicated to help improving quality of life of themselves and others. I am blessed to be a part of the LIfe Group, LA family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

In a time when services for people with HIV/AIDS are being cut, the work of the Life Group LA is more important than ever. Their Poz Life Weekends provide specific information about HIV/AIDS, treatments, side effects and cutting edge research. The weekends also provide emotional support and vital connections for people living with HIV and the people who support them. The educational and emotional components are perfectly balanced. The weekends are a mix of both newly diagnosed and long time survivors of HIV. I have had the honor of speaking at many of the weekends and have totally enjoyed it. The audiences were engaged and asked a lot of questions. And audience members learned from each other as well. Also, as an HIV services provider, I have referred many clients to the weekends and usually described then as "life altering" and thanked me for the referral.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If they had the money, I would love to see them do MORE Poz Life Weekends all across LA County.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have had the privilege of volunteering for Life Group LA on two occasions and was stuck by how they had created a caring and cohesive, creative and supportive community for their clients. Midway through the weekend the sharing that took place was profound and the sense of hope palpable. This is an organization well worth supporting!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have helped this organization in a limited role, but I have seen enough of it to say that it performs a VITAL role in the community. HIV is not "just" a medical condition; it is a condition that affects the whole person, and the people around them, in relationships and families. So, beyond medical care and medications, the social services are vitally important. I am a professional (clinical social worker) who has worked in HIV social services for over 22 years, and I have lived with HIV myself for 23 years. Having the opportunity to participate in a previous version of this organization was what I credit for my long-term survival. Having services like Sunnie's can make the difference between just surviving and truly thriving. Sunnie has skills, heart, and most importantly, integrity. I have worked in non-profits that do not have integrity, and they are awful; it is an injustice. Sunnie runs a tight ship, and there is no "monkey business"; her hands are clean and her services are sincere and effective, and I have the long-standing credentials and breadth and depth of experience as a client and as a professional to be able to say that. I'm very proud of Sunnie and the all work that the staff and volunteers of the Life Group do, and I give them my highest recommendations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the organization, overall, needs more support. It should be receiving more funding, grants, and personal/private/public donations, of all kinds. It's a bit of an "unsung hero" in the community, because "bigger" organizations have better visibility and "PR", when a smaller organization like this is doing SO much good in the community to actual people in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers