Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

After suffering in silence and shame for over 25 years from living with HIV. Someone suggested i attend a weekend seminar. That seminar transformed me and allowed me to start the life I now have. I was able to, for the first time, talk about being diagnosed in the Navy and the way I was treated. The shame and isolation I experienced both emotionally and physically was paralyzing. At that weekend the volunteers provided a safe, loving, supportive environment. The facilitators were amazing and also allowed me the space and time to begin healing that shame. From the first phone call with Sunnie Rose the experience was incredibly loving.
I have worked with other agencies and recieved services, but none provide the service, or the support that Life Group does as well. The reason is that for the first time I was in a room with those affected by the disease and got to hear how my disease affected them. I was so isolated and had no idea that my family was as well. This experience coupled with the compassion with which they approach and provide services was the key to my returning to life.
I went to school and recieved my Masters Degree and I am currently applying to Ph.D. programs. This experience informs all that I do, and have done.
There is no other agency that provides this service, this support, and this compassion. They do not duplicate services of any kind, there is no where else to get what they provide except from them. Their work needs to be available to more, and accessible by many.
Life's are not just changed, but saved by this program.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

This is one of the best programs out there I am a donor and also a client
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

The Life Group LA was founded with love and compassion. They provide much needed programs, services, support, advocacy and resources for individuals who have been infected or affected by HIV. I'm a huge supporter of this organization. I believe in the leadership and management of Life Group LA and know they always provide the highest level of care to their clients. Thank you Life Group LA and Sunnie for all the work you do each day in this community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

This is the most inspiring,caring, inspirational non profit group you could be part of, the love that goes out to help and support others is overwhelming and brings community's together that have never even met into a huge family of support, encouragement along with the educational knowledge offered one is there for.
There isn't 1 person who walks into this group and isn't welcomed with open arms, love and compassion, you are everything to them and everything is about building a stronger more educated you for a more fulfilling life and brighter outlook mentally and physically.
1 weekend can transform a person they never thought they could be, The Life Group LA reaches a hand out, helps pick you off the floor and walks with you through this journey your on, they help you
realize things about yourself you never thought could have existed in a positive manner.
The Life Group LA is a a must check out/be part of group!!!
The Journey begins here!
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

The Life Group LA is a terrific organization that helps those with HIV. I've supported them since their inception because I believe in the good work they do.
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

One weekend CAN change your life forever. Without the resources and support I received from LifeGroup I would not be here today. I now understand who I am and what my choices in life are. The generosity of the donation of money and support to LifeGroup has helped me gain control of my life by giving me the skills I needed to navigate insurance issues, medication choices, doctors, counseling, nutrition and care. I cannot thank LIFEGROUP enough for their time and volunteers. I'm alive because of Sunny and this life changing organization.
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I went to the weekend seminar feeling afraid and alone but I left with new insight and friends and a yearning for more in life which I now know I can have. I am grateful for the volunteers and staff who dedicate themselves to making this safe space possible for us all.
February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

I WAS CURIOUS AS TO WHAT 'THE LIFE GROUP' WAS ALL ABOUT... AND EXPRESSED MY INTERESTED IN ATTENDING. SUNNY ROSE CALLED ME PERSONALLY, (WHICH MADE MY MIND UP IMMEDIATELY) WHAT WITH THE EXURBERANCE, AND BEAUTIFUL DEMEANER, AND PASSION. I LIVE HERE IN PALM SPRINGS, AND THE 'WEEK-END' EVENT TOOK PLACE ON THE MARX ESTATE..... ALL THE VOLUNTEERS WERE WONDERFUL, CARING INDIVIDUALS, BUT I HAVE TO SAY BEING GREETED, WELCOMED AND HUGGED BY SUNNY, STARTED THE WHOLE BALL ROLLING.

I CAME AWAY WITH AN OVERALL SENSE OF SELF-EMPOWERMENT, CONFIDENCE AND LOVING MY LIFE (I HAD BEEN SUFFERING FROM TERRIBLE DEPRESSION), THROUGH ALL THE WORKSHOPS A FEW OF WHICH WERE ON HEALTH ISSUES WITH HIV+, DIET/EXCERCISE, SEXUAL PRACTICES, DATING, WORKSHOPS IN DEVELOPING CONFIDENCE, AND LOVING WHO WE ARE AND HOW MUCH I CAN BRING TO THE TABLE......

IT WAS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, AND I WOULD LOVE TO VOLUNTEER TO HELP HAVE A SUCCESSFUL WORKSHOP HERE IN THE DESERT. ALEX IRVINE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

HOLD MORE WORKSHOPS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

When AIDS support organizations in Los Angeles started closing their doors, Sunnie Rose Berger stepped up. She made sure individuals affected and infected with HIV and AIDS would continue to receive amazing support programs that would allow them to learn, to grow, to share, to cry, to feel, to nurture, to be nurtured, and simply be themselves in the new world they were now experiencing. Whether clueless about HIV/ AIDS, newly diagnosed, long time survivor or in love with someone whose life has forever changed LIFE GROUP is there for them. None of this would be possible without Sunnie Rose Berger stepping up and making sure her community did not lose the support they needed. LIFE GROUP LA now not only supports Los Angeles but other cities around the country, from Palm Springs to Las Vegas and beyond. God bless Sunnie. May the light always shine down on this organization. Please make your donation today!

Rebel J. Morris
supporter, volunteer, donor for Life Group LA
for the past 10 years

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 4, 2013

This organization, The Life Group LA (TLGLA), is not only exquisitely effective, it has an immense and loving heart. The people involved are primarily donating their time: administrative, volunteers and professionals, for the various support groups, trainings and their highly acclaimed weekend seminars.

The TLGLA leadership team is dedicated to providing the highest quality services to those who use their organization. It only takes one interaction with Sunnie and her team to recognize the depth of their love and concern for their clients. This organization runs on a shoe-string budget, it is not a top-heavy bureaucracy filled with redundancy, so your donations get to the people who are served.

If you have money to donate to an non-profit organization, or better yet, time in your life to volunteer, TLGLA is the organization you should consider. Your experience will not only benefit the community, it will make you acutely aware that good exists and thankful that you were lucky enough to have discovered a place that will fill your heart with joy and reinforce the oft lost concept of the innate goodness of humankind.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers