Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

As the volunteer housemother, I know this organization very well. The women we have helped have been very grateful. We not only house some mothers but have helped others who just need supplies. We are in the process of opening a daycare to further help our moms on their road to independence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Some people dream or talk about doing great things…and some people just do them. Though it’s tough to admit it I’m undoubtedly a dreamer, and occasionally a talker. For many years now I have dreamed of winning the lotto and have always talked about buying a large apartment complex to house single mothers where I would let them live for free while putting them through school. It would be a place that provided these women with a real chance at life…a chance to end the cycle of poverty...and while I was dreaming, others were doing.

Most don’t know it but there is a little house in Hernando County that sits on the grounds of a church. It was run down and shabby not long ago. There also exists in Hernando County a group of doers…a group of dedicated people who recognized that a big dream often starts with small steps. They called upon the community to help restore the “Little House” and had the fortitude to take a dilapidated structure and transform it into a home that will transform the lives of it’s residents. It will be home to young, single moms and their babies who are at risk of becoming homeless. The moms will have shelter, food, toys, acceptance and mentors. They will participate in a three year program and the goal is to have prepared each young mom in terms of skills, initiative, personal vision, maturity, and overall wellness. The Life Center will enable her to step into a life of healthy, responsible independence and self-sufficiency that she has created for herself rather than living a life which she has little or no control over. So many people in our community have given and continue to give to this worthy cause. The dedicated people who have worked tirelessly (and continue to do so) are simply wonderful. They have a heart to serve others and to give these young women and children a shot at a great life.

This organization needs help to ensure that it can continue on and work miracles in the lives of young people that need this kind of support. I run a community website and volunteer my services to The Life Center of Hernando by managing their Facebook page and bringing awareness through my site.

I believe in the power of one. If one person is a doer then the world is better. If just one person completes this program and has a great life as a result then it was a success. Dreaming big is essential to living your best life, but it is equally as important to recognize that sometimes just doing something small is great…and it’s certainly better then doing nothing at all (while waiting to win the lotto). The Life Center is helping these young women take the small steps necessary to reach their big dreams.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I am looking forward to becoming a volunteer at The Life Center of Hernando. When I heard Barbara share her vision about The Life Center, I immediately knew this was what God's purpose was for me. I knew that because this WAS my story. I was that unwed 16 year old mom who was homeless, with no where to turn and no one to help. Through the grace of God, I have overcome sooooo many tragedies and I know they were a part of my life so that one day I would be able to help others. Well that time has come. I have been in prayer about what God wanted me to do, but it wasn't until I wrote it down on paper that the following week Barbara showed up at my church. I am looking forward to sharing hope, encouragement, LOVE, guidance, wisdom and life experiences to young people who are so deseparately seeking this. I know I was and I found all of that through GOD'S love for me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been involved with The Life Center of Hernando for several years, so much work has been done to enable us to help and inspire young mothers with children to get their education, and teach them responsible home skills, cooking, balancing menus, checkbooks, educating their children and dealing with everyday skills they may have missed due to a young pregnancy...we have had fantastic times with people sharing menus, teaching us so we can teach others, and we are preparing for our future families....this is a great organization, and we are hoping to create a safe harbor and learning environment...thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been working with The Life Center for two years after meeting Barbara Lemoine at a Hernando Youth Iniative Summit and becoming immediately smithen with Barbara's dedication and focus. The Little House, funded by The Life Center, is a home that will address the needs of our community's most vulnerable members - homeless moms and their infants. It will provide a chance for these young moms to evolve out what could be a very vicious cycle of poverty and pregnancy. In addition, The Life Center serves it's community by directly supporting and supplementing programs in place such as New Generation and the Homeless Coaltion. The Little House offers young women a practical alternative to abortion. The Little House will teach and live Christian values but will also show how Christian beliefs can evolve from words to actions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

In the short time I have been with The Life Center, I have met the most dedicated and wonderfully caring people. Their coordination of donations and volunteers is outstanding; their goals are great, but I am certain they are also attainable. The way this group helps single mothers learn to take care of themselves and their children, receive education, and build new lives is inspirational. I am only too proud to be part of this association!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers