Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I became associated with Liberty Hotline through an article in the local newspaper asking for volunteers. In my time with the hotline, I have participated in the rescue of all sorts of Arizona wildlife from eagles to baby rabbits. Liberty never turns an injured animal away, even if it is not a species that can be kept in their facility for a long period of time. They treat it and then find the proper location for it to rehab.
I also feed baby birds in their orphan care program and I see the loving care given every baby that comes to us.
These are wonderful people who give their time unstintingly to care for the wild animals of Arizona.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

caring for wild animals until they are capable of caring for themselves and living free as they were meant to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide enough money for a larger facility so more animals could be helped and we could open to the public for education about the animals around us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel useful.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I brought a bird into Wildlife that I had found injured. I was asked if I wanted to volunteer when fillinf out the paperwork. I checked yes. I was contacted by email soon after and asked if I wanted to come to an oreintation meeting. I attended and then was put on the schedule to helop every Thursday for 4 hours in the orphan room. Helping feed, and clean the cages fo the birds that were taken in for rehabilitation. I enjoyed every minute of my experience with Wildlife staff they were alll very kind and great teachers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had to tkae other birds into their care and they are so good with them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes needed

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Liberty Wildlife is staffed by a group of knowledgeable and extremely dedicated volunteers. The variety of jobs done by these people is just amazing.

I have learned so much by:

* Watching those who dedicate countless volunteer hours to managing the facility, and the small office
staff who do the 'business aspect' of keeping the organization operating, making each dollar work as hard as possible to help as many birds and animals as possible, is a lesson in teamwork and how to run an efficient and cost effective organization.
*Seeing how clean and scrubbed the mews and holding cages are every day. This shows that the daily care volunteers really care about the home and the health of the birds and animals.
* Watching the hand feeding team volunteers carefully measure the amount of food that each education raptor will be fed, adding raptor vitamins to ensure the bird receives all vital nutrients, then weighing each bird, logging that weight and the weight and type of food being served, into the daily log book. This shows how the volunteers understand the requirements of each and every bird, every single day.
*Seeing the Medical Service volunteers thoroughly examine every single animal, from tiny cottontail bunnies to large beautiful hawks, searching to find anything that may be broken, have an electrocution burn, gunshot wound, fish hook or fishing line embedded, and the other types of injury that humans seem to accidently or on purpose inflict on these wild creatures. This shows a depth of dedication to helping the bird or animal overcome the injury that one would expect to see in a hospital for humans.
* Watching the Orphan Care volunteers prepare and feed the hundreds, even thousands, of orphans- little birds, hawks, owls, rabbits etc is a lesson in organization! They even take extra care by wearing camouflage that conceals the face, hands and body, to avoid 'imprinting' tiny raptors while feeding them, to ensure they will be releaseable when they are old enough and strong enough to survive on their own.
*Seeing actual raptor foster parents raising orphaned babies of any size, including teaching them the skills necessary to survive in the outside world. This shows that non-releasable, non-education raptors have a positive impact in helping return their species to the wild.
*Watching the Education volunteers take education birds to festivals, churches, schools, nursing homes, and other events, showing the beauty of the birds up close, explaining how and why the bird became an education bird, describing where and how the bird would live in the wild. These birds are no longer able to fly free and soar on the wind, to hunt for themselves, to mate and raise a family, but they are willing partners in educating the public on what people can do to help secure a place in the world for their species.
*Manning the Hotline, where the public calls for assistance and information about what to do with orphan or injured birds, providing an opportunity to interact and educate the public. Helping them understand how to safely return a baby bird that has fallen out of the nest, what to do about an injured bird, is very rewarding.
*Calling a trained Rescue and Transport volunteer, who may drive many miles to pick up an injured or orphaned raptor. Knowing that there are volunteers out there who are willing to give their time (and gas!) to rescuing a raptor is a great feeling.

There are many other volunteers and areas at Liberty Wildlife that provide native birds, raptors and animals an opportunity to grow up, heal and return to their special place in the world.

Liberty Wildlife is a Living Example of their Mission Statement:

"Liberty Wildlife is dedicated to nurturing the nature of Arizona's wildlife through quality rehabilitation, community education and conservation services".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering on the Hotline and learning to become an Education volunteer. The lessons in teamwork, public education, conservation and preservation of Arizona raptors and animals have shown me that there is nothing that a small group of dedicated volunteers cannot do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the people or the process, but would love to see them move to a larger facility where the education process could be expanded to a larger audience. Teaching the public about raptors, birds and animals is the first step in transforming how the public treats raptors, birds and animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, I don't think they could improve the experience!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned so much about raptors and wildlife and met so many interesting people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Liberty Wildlife makes me feel like we can truly make a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

"We only save what we love, we only love what we understand" I herd this years ago and for the past 23 years have spent many a day in classrooms in front of coutless numbers of youngsters with a live Eagle for them to view. Hopefully they will understand them, in the hope that they will love them and their world so they will save them, as well as themselves.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our staff gets bigger and better each year. We get more request than we can fill, it is very rewarding to see the children get so involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more public sponsors to help with cost so we could do more programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

It works well as it is.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yea, a great deal, now I get to take Eagles out to have an effect on all I meet.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I'm giving back.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

This organization does a great job at what it does. They allow volunteers to get all sorts of experience. Also if a volunteer does not feel comfortable doing something, they are more than welcomed to say so. Liberty will not force people to do something they do not want to do. The people at liberty emanate a love for all wildlife and animals. The organization is well structured and are able to get many jobs done in a short amount of time.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen birds come very sick to the point, where one would think the bird would die. However, liberties staff has proved me wrong many times and has been able to save many birds and rehabilitate them back to full health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to raise awareness, so that people could donate money or so that we could get more volunteers. I would also try to expand liberty so that we could have more space and equipment.

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

Liberty Wildlife plays a central role in protecting wildlife and educating the public in our community. This organization has a hotline that the public can be freely accessed every day of the week from approximately 8:00 am to 9:00 pm. As a hotline volunteer, I can attest how useful this resource is to the community as we get calls ranging from injured wildlife to homeless pets to tempering unwanted wildlife encounters. In almost all these cases, we are able to assist these callers even if it is simply referring them to other community resources that can better aid them in resolving the issue.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The positive feedback I get from community callers when I give them the resources they need to resolve their issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Introduce more paid positions, so it wouldn't relay almost exclusively on volunteers.

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

Volunteering with Liberty Wildlife has been the best decision of my life. I get to work hands on with Arizona animals ( and some outsiders) and directly contribute to saving their lives. I am a part of the daily care team and I am responsible for feeding the birds, cleaning their enclosures and providing any assistance to the medical services staff. Everyone I meet I tell them about Liberty because all that they do to save the species in Arizona inspiring. The staff is incredibly devoted and kindhearted. I am often trying to recruit people to come volunteer here because it has made such a positive impact on me! I mean come on, who wouldn't want to wake up and save a hawk or an owl all before breakfast?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life. I am a biology major and Liberty works to save the wildlife of Arizona , therefore contributing to keeping our environment a safe place for people and animals to live in harmony.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. except maybe more recognition for what we do!

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

I obtained an internship with Liberty Wildlife over the summer of 2010. I met extraordinary people passionate about wildlife and conservation. I built skills necessary for the biology field in animal capture and animal behavior as well as basic medical services. I was trained in areas of rehabilitation as well as public education. This non-profit organization is a great opportunity for anyone passionate about Arizona's beautiful wildlife.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Animal behavior, Hands on capture techniques, public education of conservation, networking, team building and leadership.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funds to exponentially increase results towards conservation, expand the facility and increase intake capacity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

I decided to volunteer at Liberty Wildlife back in 2009. I started out feeding the owls and was amazed by their beauty and grace. I started volunteering in late fall so I had missed the baby season and didn't get the full picture of just how important Liberty's role is until the orphaned baby owls started pouring in during the spring of 2010. Enclosures that had two non-releasable owls now held twenty owls a piece!

Baby owlets are placed in an enclosure with a set of foster parents who feed and protect them until they are old enough to feed themselves. Those foster parents treat the owlets like their own kids and it was a joy and a privilege watching them grow so fast!

Owl feeders are encouraged to go in with food, deposit it, and leave as quickly as possible so the babies don't become too familiar with humans. Babies who need medical attention are treated by medical technicians who feed them wearing camo suits and used puppets to hand in the food so the babies won't imprint on humans. The point? Liberty wants to release absolutely any wild creature that can be released back into its natural environment.

I'm in the beginning of my second baby owlet season at Liberty. We already have 6 babies! I don't know what I look forward to more; watching the babies lose their white fuzz, start to hop around their enclosures and learn to feed themselves; or seeing them moved to flight cages so they can learn to fly and hunt in preparation for their final release.

I was given the privilege of releasing one of these beautiful and fierce creatures in the fall of 2010. He had come in as a helpless infant and had grown into an adult owl. I took him to a mountain preserve and opened his traveling box. He knew exactly what to do. He took two hops and went soaring up into the air. He never looked back and why should he? He was strong, healthy, able to look after himself, and wanting what all of us wants: a chance to live the type of life he was born to live.

Thank you Liberty Wildlife. It's all about letting wildlife be wildlife.



By that time I was also working

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching orphaned or injured wildlife be rehabilitated and released back into the wild.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to see more volunteers.

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at LIberty Wildlife for two years now. This facility rescues and rehabilitates birds of all kinds (and some mammals and reptiles), and provides permanent homes and care to birds and animals that cannot be re-released into the wild. As a volunteer, I have provided food, fresh water, and clean surroundings to the rescued birds and animals. I have assisted in their medical care. I've had the privilege of releasing a healthy, rehabilitated bird back into the wild. I've had the honor of educating the public about these wonderful creatures, with a hawk or falcon or owl standing on my gloved hand.
This is an amazing organization and does an incredible job helping the public understand how to better care for our environment and wildlife, in addition to caring for all the creatures that enter its doors. The volunteers are dedicated and their highest priority is the care, safety, comfort and well-being of the birds and animals in their care. I am proud to be a volunteer with Liberty Wildlife, and I would encourage anyone to support their work. I will continue to volunteer with them as long as I possibly can!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the healed birds released back into the wild; knowing that our education team has helped care for wildlife by teaching the public about human impact on the environment (for example, using lead sinkers in fishing or lead bullets in hunting can result in fatal lead poisoning in predatory animals); watching people bring animals into Liberty's care and seeing their joy at knowing they have helped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the organization is well-run, and I would not make any changes.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers