Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Center is awesome and without peer. It provides a variety of services that are not available from other organizations. I am proud to be even a small part of the Center's work. One day, I hope it'll be more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been involved at some level with the LGBT Center of Raleigh since it's inception and seen it grow from an idea discussed in someone's living room into what it is today. The Center has always been an open and welcoming place to those in the community, no matter who they are. There are a lot of hardworking volunteers and staff members who give it their all to ensure that the Center will always be a bright place for everyone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 14, 2013

I cannot express how proud I am to be a part of this organization. The Center brings people together in a meaningful way and creates a safe space for people regardless of where they are in their life ... more

October 4, 2013

The Center provides an invaluable service to the community. Its library is larger than some public libraries; the staff are incredibly helpful, friendly, and informed; and the atmosphere is inviting and welcoming to everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The move to a larger space with multiple rooms for workshops and meetings will help improve the experience of groups and individuals who attend events at the Center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013

I cannot express how proud I am to be a part of this organization. The Center brings people together in a meaningful way and creates a safe space for people regardless of where they are in their life journey. So many different people reach out to the Center for resources, such as parents, guidance counselors, tourists, and more. The staff and volunteers at the Center are always helpful and welcoming from offering coffee to visitors, answering questions, and sometimes just hanging out and talking with the people who stop by.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 13, 2012

Not only am I a volunteer, but I'm a patron. I was introduced to the center back in 2010. I've seen the center move locations, change directors and give birth to one of the largest LGBT Libraries in... more

October 4, 2013

One word can sum up what the LGBT Center does... Unite. The LGBT Center unites all of the LGBTQ Community and our allies. They offer many programs for all ages and genders. They participate with the DRA for First Friday and have 2 very amazing events throughout the year (LGBT Center of Raleigh Awards Gala and Out! Raleigh). The LGBT Center has definitely made a name for itself in the Triangle and beyond... and continues to grow by leaps and bounds! Having the largest LGBT Library in the Southeastern Region... you can find books and media on pretty much any topic. Be sure to check out the Center, and EVERYTHING it has to offer!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are currently working on a larger space... so there is nothing else I would change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2012

Not only am I a volunteer, but I'm a patron. I was introduced to the center back in 2010. I've seen the center move locations, change directors and give birth to one of the largest LGBT Libraries in NC. The LGBT Center of Raleigh is a community center that welcomes everyone! If you need a place to just come and sit.... get out of the house... there is always a warm welcoming smile to greet you. The center offers many groups for the community, Trans, Gay and Gray (50+ y/o), MClub, NAIL, Youth Coffee House, BInG (Bisexual Social Group), Open Mic night... and the list goes on. There is always something going on, and something to do. OutRaleigh is a festival that is offered annually through the center, and happens in May. If you missed it this year, be sure to check it out in 2013! And last of all... be sure to come out on First Friday of each month. They feature a local LGBT Artist, and offer a great spread! Thank you to the LGBT Center of Raleigh!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting so many great people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bigger space... that is the only thing I would change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned more about the social media world, and websites.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I love working w/ this organization. I hold them close to my heart! Great people! The LGBT Center of Raleigh makes me feel like I have a completely accepting place to go and hang out w/ no prejudice.

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

The LGBT Center of Raleigh provides an essential resource for the community. It is a place where visitors can find out information relating to the LGBT community...anything from LGBT related social events to support groups. Also, the Center is a great place to grab a cup of coffee, browse the library selection, and/or sit down and have a relaxing chat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Excellent resources or just a place to hang out and meet new friends. Large library of books and media, great staff. Always a good variety of people. A safe place to be yourself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I love coming here! This is an awesome place to come and feel welcome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger and let everybody know about it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

I'm an ally and a volunteer for the LGBT Center of Raleigh. It has been a place for education, social fun and life changing moments. I would recommend to anyone who wants to learn and experience the LGBT community to come hang out at the LGBT Center of Raleigh. Check out a book, come to First Friday or learn about all the resources that are there for you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is one of the most of wonderful and inspiring non-profits that I've ever had the pleasure of working with. Through their collection of impressive community outreach programs and youth services, the LGBT Center of Raleigh has done so much for the Triangle area. I consider myself lucky to have been able to be a part of their organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 19, 2012

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is building bridges. Just one look at the Center's website shows dozens of monthly opportunities get to know people who would never have crossed my path. As we get to know e... more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With the many new programs being offered by the Center to people of all ages, it needs even more space! I hope the Center can find a new building in Raleigh and open a satellite location in Durham. People need the Center and all the friends we find there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2012

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is building bridges. Just one look at the Center's website shows dozens of monthly opportunities get to know people who would never have crossed my path. As we get to know each other, we find common ground, build trust in each other, and break down artificial barriers that have divided us. Nobody does that better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist Center visitors with our library, give them resource and referral information and offer a supportive ear when needed. Volunteer