Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering at the LGBT center summer 2013 and have found it to be a place where anyone can feel comfortable! Great people, amazing programs and it's a warm community. A lot of diversity in many aspects as well as being flexible with new initiatives. This place is geared toward providing programs that interest all. I'm proud to be associated with the LGBT Center of Raleigh!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand . . . expand . . . expand. Things are growing fast!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Thank you for your support and empowerment of the LGBT community in Raleigh and across North Carolina. For me as a volunteer of the LGBT Center of Raleigh, the center has become a place of empowerment, expression, and safety for social justice and advocacy for the whole community. From the availability of the Library, to the many programs and groups that utilize the center for socialization to focused projects. The work of the LGBT center of Raleigh has far exceeded the expectations of its founders and those that first imagined an open community center to serve the needs and interests of the LGBT community in North Carolina. Edward

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

The Center provides a generally low-stress environment with friendly people, so it's a great place for anybody who wants to gain volunteering experience and already has a lot on their plate. The leaders communicate with all the volunteers well. It has a wonderful library and lots of resources, and it's a good place for community members and allies to just hang out. Obviously you shouldn't disturb any events taking place, but you can come in almost anytime the Center is open if you need a friendly place to be. I know that sometimes I just need to be around people like me, and I tend to go to the Center when I feel that need.

There are programs for all four letters in the acronym. I can't speak for the gay and bi programs, but I can say that the Center provides some great support for transgender people. The trans* support group and supper club have friendly people in them with a wide range of gender identities. I've heard horror stories about gender policing within trans* groups in other cities, but I've never experienced anything like that here. This group is respectful and a lot of fun. I feel pretty comfortable in the group as a non-binary person. The lesbian/queer women's initiative is run by two trans-friendly people, so trans lesbians and queer women should have minimal problems in those programs.

I had limited experience with the youth coffee house program when I was still in high school, and I recommend it. It provides a low-pressure environment for LGBTQ teens to meet other people their age in the community.

I'll go ahead and promote my own program while I'm at it too. I run the open mic night. I aim to provide a safe, welcoming environment where the attendees feel free to express themselves without judgement. Not to brag, but I get a lot of great feedback about it. You should check it out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They're already getting a bigger location next year, and I don't have anything else to add.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I absolutely love volunteering at The LGBT Center. Meeting all the new and interesting people that I probably would never get a chance to meet in a normal day life. I recommend to everyone to stop by and check out what the Center has to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More activities

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I've been volunteering at the LGBT Center of Raleigh and have loved my experience from the start. I was always looking for ways to be better involved with the LGBT community and I found more than that at the center. It is truly a family that I have found.

James and Kelly are truly great
leaders. When my mother moved in with me recently due to financial difficulties I was stressed. I told them the situation just looking for a friendly ear but they went above and beyond and offered support. They researched community resources for my mother and were willing to help her out. They truly are great leaders at the center.

I also have made some truly amazing friends while volunteering. All of the volunteers are so much fun and delightful. When I volunteer it feels more like I am hanging out rather than a job. The volunteers also try to help out as much as possible.

It is a truly amazing resource in the community to get involved with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I can't imagine another place I'd spend time volunteering than at the LGBT Center of Raleigh. The place is filled with warmth and a genuine sanctuary vibe. I've been able to help others just by having a conversation, and in turn they've helped me too. I've learned so much from fellow volunteers and the wonderful Kelly and James. I've been able to enjoy some awesome bands helping out at events that the LGBT Center helps with and meet a ton of great people. The Center brightens my week and keeps me motivated during my busy work schedule. There's a ton of resources for visitors to use and the library is ridiculous! It's so large! First editions, fiction, memoirs, movies, it's amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They're already doing it. Soon we're moving to a bigger location with more places for all the books :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Raleigh Center was the first place I went upon coming out. I'm so glad they exist and provide a safe and nurturing place for the community in the Triangle region. The people are warm, welcoming and make you feel part of them. Love this place, the people and my gosh do they have an awesome library :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

It is difficult to list all of the things that make the LGBT Center of Raleigh a worthwhile organization that, only 3 years after its founding, I had a hard time imagining not being in my life. From the awesome staff and core volunteer group, to the amazing library, continually-growing progamming, and dedicated Board of Directors, the GLBT community in this area has so much to be grateful to the LGBT Center of Raleigh and its Director, James Miller, for.

Keep it Coming!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Center is a great place to meet other people in the community. It offers resources that cannot be found in other organizations. The Center is a place that anyone can go and not be scared of being judged or ridiculed. There are a number of groups at the center that everyone can get involved in. No matter what your age or likes you can find a place to fit in. The people who go there are friendly and very supportive of one another. The staff is great and more than willing to help you with anything from just talking to connecting you with professional resources that you may need. The doors are open and it is a safe and warm place to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to reach the youth and have more things set up geared to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Center is a great place to get involved in your community and meet people. You feel like you are making a difference and helping. You make good friends too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A more open policy

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist Center visitors with our library, give them resource and referral information and offer a supportive ear when needed. Volunteer