Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is one of the most of wonderful and inspiring non-profits that I've ever had the pleasure of working with. Through their collection of impressive community outreach programs and youth services, the LGBT Center of Raleigh has done so much for the Triangle area. I consider myself lucky to have been able to be a part of their organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 19, 2012

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is building bridges. Just one look at the Center's website shows dozens of monthly opportunities get to know people who would never have crossed my path. As we get to know e... more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With the many new programs being offered by the Center to people of all ages, it needs even more space! I hope the Center can find a new building in Raleigh and open a satellite location in Durham. People need the Center and all the friends we find there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2012

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is building bridges. Just one look at the Center's website shows dozens of monthly opportunities get to know people who would never have crossed my path. As we get to know each other, we find common ground, build trust in each other, and break down artificial barriers that have divided us. Nobody does that better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The LGBT Center of Raleigh has grown a lot since I stumbled upon it a couple of years ago. And, I guess, so have I. It might have been because of OutRaleigh. I might have visited it before then. I can't remember now. But since that time, I have learned more about myself and the world around me, from interaction with the wonderful people I have met at the Center and at Center sponsored events.

I didn't know anything about the Trans community. Now, I know a different version of normal that I had never encountered before. I hadn't given thought to what it would like to be "Gay and Gray", despite being both...but I've met so many wonderful older people at the Center that I can think now about how life just continues on and things get better if you've made good friends, and done good things. One of the items on the calendar says "We welcome people of all ages, identities, genders, colors, and sports team preferences." That's about how important these differences in people turned out to be.

But it takes a place like The LGBT Center to bring people together so that they can realize that it's just all about love for one another and what we have in common, and not about how you are different from me, and how I am different from you. The LGBT Center of Raleigh has given Raleigh a place where people can go, planned and executed fun events that people can attend, given us a library full of books that people can read and enjoy, laughter together during elections, despite a State voting for our marriages not to be recognized, and has a lot of growth planned for the future. I can't wait to see where it's at a year from now. Wherever it is, I'll be there too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2012

more

December 19, 2012

The LGBT Center was a lifeline for me in my coming out process. Through the center I've been able to make friends, get involved in my community and help others. The good work that the center does is absolutely amazing and it has groups to meet the needs of the whole community. When I was coming out, I asked if there was a small support group for lesbian women. There wasn't one, so they started one and it's proved very helpful for me and many other women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I joined the development committee that founded the LGBT Center of Raleigh in 2005, and have been heavily involved with this undertaking ever since. Having served on the board of directors for the last 4 years I have been overwhelmed at the growth this organization has achieved in such a short time. My work here has given me a new appreciation and respect for the diverse LGBT community, and it has given a meaning to my life that I never knew was possible. Also, as chairman of the Gay & Gray Initiative I have found another very important cause for a segment of the population that has traditionally been underrepresented and in dire need of services. As someone who has never before taken the role of "activist" this Center has pushed me in a new direction and made an important and meaningful change in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a transgender person under 30 in the triangle, I often felt singled out. There was nothing for me. The support groups in the area where generally attended by an older crowd with different types of problems. I didn't want a support group so much as a chance to meet people my age. The LGBT Center did more than that. It has become my home away from home. The activities the Center provides for the trans community have allowed me to connect with people in my age group. I have formed some amazing friendships within the entire community. I have never felt more supported than I do right now.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is a fabulous resource for our community. As an active member of the Gay & Gay and RDU Primtimers groups I have found both to be friendly and welcoming. The staff at the Center are always nice and uplifting, and our executive director James Miller has brought new life and energy to our organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Not long after I moved to North Carolina from Alabama, I found myself longing for a community of not just friends, but those who could personally understand questions of gender identity and expression. When I first stumbled across the LGBT Center of Raleigh in 2010, I knew I'd found exactly what I'd been seeking, and dove in immediately as a volunteer. Over the past two years, I've developed the close friendships I'd dreamed of having--a support network of caring folks who known first-hand the issues LGBTQ individuals cope with on an oftentimes daily basis. With programs for the age-identity-interest gamut--Gay & Gray, Trans Initiative, BInG, Open Mic Night, MClub, First Friday, Youth Coffee House (to name a few)--I've become immensely proud of how quickly the Center has soared. With 2012's OutRaleigh festival attracting nearly 10,000 LGBTQ-ally groups and individuals to Downtown Raleigh, it's clear that the Center is needed and cherished by the LGBTQ community and the Triangle in general. I count myself fortunate to have a hand in building the First Friday Program, as well as serving on the 2013 OutRaleigh Executive Committee. The Center is not just a community center--it's my second home.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have yet to meet visitors who haven't been touched by the service they've received. Whether they need a comfortable, non-judging space to vent or just sit and decompress, or talk with a volunteer about how to get involved, every visitor is treated like family. We cherish our community and work hard to see it thrive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to win the lottery and expand its footprint. More space would translate to an even greater impact!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing. I cannot put a pricetag or emphasize mightily enough how much this organization means to me.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Not only have I developed invaluable skills with regard to understanding 501(c)(3) organizations, but I've made lifelong friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Every single time I volunteer, I get a rush from knowing that I have the ability to help others who are looking for the same things I was seeking when I found the Center.

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I came to Raleigh with very few friends to speak of. The two friends that I did have introduced me to the LGBT Center of Raleigh and now I love every minute I spend there as a volunteer,and I especially love all the amazing and sincere people I have met that help to make the Center work. I can't imagine how many of our patrons would be missing out if the Center didn't push so hard to make sure that everyone who comes in or calls feels welcome and gets all the help and resources we can offer. Being able to serve the LGBT community is a wonderful thing, being able to do it with other people just as dedicated as you are is a gift that you don't find often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

An awesome place to work and play. The community is so well represented and everyone has something to contribute. The library is unbelievable, there are activities almost daily, and everybody can feel welcome. The annual OutRaleigh event gives us a chance to speak to the entire city of Raleigh and we share our mission throughout the year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

cover the phones to make sure we catch any and all individuals who need support. Volunteer