Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.925935
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

The LGBT Center of Raleigh has a good variety of literature and videos. We've met a lot of nice people through volunteering, and First Fridays. It's nice to view the new art every month that is on display. I'm enjoying getting to know the community through the Center. It is in a nice area of town, in a nice building. It is great to have a safe place to go, where everyone is made to feel welcome. Kelly, James and all the volunteers are fun to work with.
September 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 26, 2012

I joined the development committee that founded the LGBT Center of Raleigh in 2005, and have been heavily involved with this undertaking ever since. Having served on the board of directors for the las... more

September 20, 2014

This organization has changed my life in so many ways. It has meant a social outlet, as well as allowing me to become an activist for LGBT Seniors. I served on the board for 6 years, and now I continue as the program director of SAGE Raleigh (Services and Advocacy for GLBT Elders). I have met the most amazing people both as board members, staff, volunteers and patrons. Life changing is an understatement. I'm not sure where my life would be without the LGBT Center of Raleigh!
June 26, 2012

I joined the development committee that founded the LGBT Center of Raleigh in 2005, and have been heavily involved with this undertaking ever since. Having served on the board of directors for the last 4 years I have been overwhelmed at the growth this organization has achieved in such a short time. My work here has given me a new appreciation and respect for the diverse LGBT community, and it has given a meaning to my life that I never knew was possible. Also, as chairman of the Gay & Gray Initiative I have found another very important cause for a segment of the population that has traditionally been underrepresented and in dire need of services. As someone who has never before taken the role of "activist" this Center has pushed me in a new direction and made an important and meaningful change in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 7, 2013

I love the LGBT Center! This place brings everyone together and gives a good meeting place for various meetings, support groups, and social events. Everyone I have ever met here is super friendly and ... more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is literally my favorite place to go in Raleigh. I love that I can walk in the Center and always feel like I belong. Something that is too rare in life. There is always someone to talk to who sees things a little (or a lot!) different from myself and i find that the conversations I have on the weekends make me think all through the week. The sharing of minds that goes on here is phenomenal sometimes!
September 7, 2013

I love the LGBT Center! This place brings everyone together and gives a good meeting place for various meetings, support groups, and social events. Everyone I have ever met here is super friendly and welcoming. This is one of the first places I have ever been (in my life) that I truly felt like I belonged.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is doing an amazing work here in Raleigh, NC and assisting other centers in the area. This is an exceptional center with a fantastic board and executive leadership.
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The work and visibility of this organization is truly inspiring! Raleigh is very lucky to have such a fantastic group of people doing amazing work for our community. These are passionate folks who truly do a great service to the LGBT community.
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am so grateful for the opportunity to volunteer here. After just a short time being there, the other volunteers have gone out of their way to make me feel like "family", which is great since I don't have any other family nearby. I am so proud to be a part of this community, and to be able to give back - to "pay it forward".
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

To put it simply: the people who give their lives to the work done here are exceptional members of the LGBT community and society at large.
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with many nonprofits and been on the Board of a couple. The LGBT Center of Raleigh is as well-run an organization as I have ever come in contact with; the Board members ensure that by choosing good candidates and holding members responsible for their areas, as opposed to most volunteer boards where lots of talk gets done in meetings but then all is forgotten until the next one. And the paid staff of this Center are TOPS--I can't fathom anyone else in these roles than the ones we have, and it will be devastating when either feels the need to move on. Fortunately, the dedicated and fiercely loyal volunteer base will keep things going no matter what, but that is in part a testament to getting a solid, firm foundation long before this organization "went live".

We are so lucky to have this organization in Raleigh, and it continues to grow in leaps and bounds!
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have referred many homeless LGBT clients here and they have always been treated with respect, compassion and professionalism. This is not always the case with other nonprofits.
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer and someone who has received services from the center, I can honestly say I love this place and all the great work it does for the lgbt community, and it's allies.
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist Center visitors with our library, give them resource and referral information and offer a supportive ear when needed. Volunteer