Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.904765
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

As a volunteer with SAGE Raleigh, which is a program of the LGBT Center of Raleigh, I have come to meet so many wonderful people in our community. In this day, when senior LGBT folks are more likely to be isolated and overlooked by others, the Center has provided a valuable safe space where our elders can gather comfortably and get to know one another. We can help others who need a ride to a doctor's office or a trip to the market to shop, learn about HIV and other diseases, get educated about financial matters and the latest technology, and have a plain old good time at social events. This has been a life-changing experience for me, and I know many other older LGBT people who have benefited mightily because of the Center and its commitment to SAGE Raleigh.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it a lot more money to carry on its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

The LGBT Center of Raleigh has been a resource that is indispensable to the LGBTQ community. I am always proud to be able to tell guests we have the largest specialized library for gender and sexual minorities in the state and one of the largest in the Southeast. We're able to serve the community in more ways than I can ever imagine and I can't wait to see where else it goes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

I've greatly enjoyed the time I've spent at the center. I've met some great people, had a lot of fun, and really felt like I've made a difference. The programs at the center give our community wonderf... more

August 10, 2014

I've been volunteering at the LGBT Center of Raleigh for over a year now and I can't express how much it means to me. I love meeting new people, and the Center is a safe and welcoming environment for members of our community outside of the typical bar and club scene. I've made great friends and had a wonderful time, but at the same time the Center has also allowed me to become a better Queer/Trans ally just by allowing me to connect with and relate to them in real life. There has never been a day when I volunteered that I didn't leave feeling like I'd accomplished something, even if it was just answering questions or providing good company. Every time someone comes in who needs information, is new to the area, or just needs an understanding group to lean on, I get a sense of what the Center really stands for. There are a lot of ways I could spend my free time and many ways I could volunteer, but I wouldn't pick any of them over what the LGBT Center of Raleigh means to our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

I've greatly enjoyed the time I've spent at the center. I've met some great people, had a lot of fun, and really felt like I've made a difference. The programs at the center give our community wonderful opportunities to come together and strengthen each other. I've recommended it to many friends as chance to volunteer, a resource for literature and support, and fun place to hang out with some amazing people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

An awesome organization. Their new space is very welcoming. The staff is young and fun and relatable. I don't know a lot about what they do, but I know they put on Out Raleigh, a big street fair in May that brings the community together. They also had a hand in helping Stonewall Kickball start in Raleigh, which has also done amazing things to bring the community together. It truly is the center of the community thanks to the efforts of the staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

As an ally, I was happy to find this LGBTQA hub where I have met awesome volunteers, visitors, and staff. The Executive Director cares extremely about the facility and runs an amazing center with his right hand lady, Kelly. I have always felt very welcome and appreciated as an occasional volunteer; and feel that this center does everything it can to make sure everyone feels the same. I'm glad that there are people like this organization who are supplying a safe haven for those on the fringe of society. Thanks for all you do!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more groups, glad the Ally group finally started up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I just wanted to let you know that I love our LGBT Center in Raleigh, NC for numerous reasons. The staff and volunteers are extremely knowlegable and friendly. I've participated in many of their programs such as their Friday Faith Forums, Transgender 101 and 102 classes, their Youth Coffee Houses, Game Night and Allies Group. There is always something to do at the center. Their library is huge and one is able to check out LGBT related books and DVDs.

One great aspect of the Center is that they have strong programs for transgender people while other LGBT groups sometimes think the "T" is silent. Their Monday "T-Time" allows time and space for transgender people to embrace their community and have "safe" discussions about issues facing them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The LGBT Center of Raleigh is such a great resource for the Raleigh community. All the programs are high-quality and run by amazing people who truly love what they do and care for the community! The monthly featured LGBT artists are phenomenal, and the volunteers and staff are some of the most genuine, kind-hearted, and fun-loving people you will ever meet. Every time I'm there, I inevitably have a fit of laughter and sometimes a good cry (caused by helping someone from the community, of course!). There's a reason the Center is often the fist call media makes regarding a breaking LGBT-related story and centers from around the country have been known to consult the Center for help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering at the LGBT center summer 2013 and have found it to be a place where anyone can feel comfortable! Great people, amazing programs and it's a warm community. A lot of diversity in many aspects as well as being flexible with new initiatives. This place is geared toward providing programs that interest all. I'm proud to be associated with the LGBT Center of Raleigh!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand . . . expand . . . expand. Things are growing fast!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Thank you for your support and empowerment of the LGBT community in Raleigh and across North Carolina. For me as a volunteer of the LGBT Center of Raleigh, the center has become a place of empowerment, expression, and safety for social justice and advocacy for the whole community. From the availability of the Library, to the many programs and groups that utilize the center for socialization to focused projects. The work of the LGBT center of Raleigh has far exceeded the expectations of its founders and those that first imagined an open community center to serve the needs and interests of the LGBT community in North Carolina. Edward

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

The Center provides a generally low-stress environment with friendly people, so it's a great place for anybody who wants to gain volunteering experience and already has a lot on their plate. The leaders communicate with all the volunteers well. It has a wonderful library and lots of resources, and it's a good place for community members and allies to just hang out. Obviously you shouldn't disturb any events taking place, but you can come in almost anytime the Center is open if you need a friendly place to be. I know that sometimes I just need to be around people like me, and I tend to go to the Center when I feel that need.

There are programs for all four letters in the acronym. I can't speak for the gay and bi programs, but I can say that the Center provides some great support for transgender people. The trans* support group and supper club have friendly people in them with a wide range of gender identities. I've heard horror stories about gender policing within trans* groups in other cities, but I've never experienced anything like that here. This group is respectful and a lot of fun. I feel pretty comfortable in the group as a non-binary person. The lesbian/queer women's initiative is run by two trans-friendly people, so trans lesbians and queer women should have minimal problems in those programs.

I had limited experience with the youth coffee house program when I was still in high school, and I recommend it. It provides a low-pressure environment for LGBTQ teens to meet other people their age in the community.

I'll go ahead and promote my own program while I'm at it too. I run the open mic night. I aim to provide a safe, welcoming environment where the attendees feel free to express themselves without judgement. Not to brag, but I get a lot of great feedback about it. You should check it out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They're already getting a bigger location next year, and I don't have anything else to add.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist Center visitors with our library, give them resource and referral information and offer a supportive ear when needed. Volunteer