Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I became interested in the Lexington Rescue Mission after hearing testimonials from some of their clients at a banquet. It was very moving to hear how the Mission had opened up to them, helped them find a job, help with their rent, fed them and now they are on the road to recovery in many aspects of their lives. In a busy world it is an honor to devote time to such a wonderful place.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I have supported the Lexington Rescue Mission for many years when several of the guys from the recovery program walked a few blocks to attend church with us. I'm blessed to get to call them friends. It's so inspirational to attend their graduations to see how God has used the folks at LRM to grow these men toward faith, family and sobriety. I've also been able to volunteer at the annual Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. What a joy! I am confident my meager donations will be used to bring love and healing to many hurting people in Lexington.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I started volunteering at the Mission over 10 years ago, and I have been donating money also. This place does all in the name of Jesus Christ. They serve wonderful meals to anyone in the community, as well as providing housing for homeless men. I started working 8 years ago, and have not been able to volunteer regularly since then, but the mission has grown and expanded its services to the community in so many ways! It's a privilege to be able to support them in any way!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Lexington Rescue Mission is an awesome place. My son and I have volunteered there for a few years now in several didn't things. As a 9 yr old he loves it. He loves to serve the people and hear there stories. I have also taken many of my friends who aren't religious , but now love to serve cause of th love and help shown and seen at the mission. The staff is awesome. Like a huge family. We see all sorts of people who ask for help and volunteer and it's great how the reactions are when they are treat like humans and not anything less. This is a great place and I would love to see it grow in our community as it's grown on me...
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I got the privilege to serve a meal and to donate to this wonderful organization. They help so many people and I am proud to be able to help them help others.
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I personally know Jim Connell, the Executive Director. He has a heart for the down and out of the Lexington Community. The Mission does a great service to the community by offering not just a hand out but a hand up. They have a variety of programs that they offer to both men and women. It is not just a hot meal and a place to stay for the night. They really want to help people get on the path to recovery and to be self-sustaining. They offer their services to all in need and do it all on a very tight budget. The Mission is a vital part of the Lexington Community. They have a great staff who work hard to serve those in need. I have visited the mission and you will not find a more friendly staff anywhere else. They are dedicated to the mission and vision of the organization and work hard to see that everyone who shows up at the door is helped in some way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more PR so that more folks in the community know about the fine work the mission is doing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I am a pastor of a church here in Lexington and have had experiences with Lexington Rescue Mission for the past seven years. I have volunteered as a teacher, helped serve meals, and other activities and always found them to be exemplary in their organization and the attitudes that teach servant ministry. Some of our people have asked where they could volunteer and they always bring back positive feedback about the experience and the dedication of the staff. I also have engaged in ministry and friendship with those who have been served and they have a deep gratitude for the LRM. They fill a need here that is unique and vital, and it comes from the hearts of Jim and Becky and their sacrifice to God.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I'm an attorney, a graduate of the United Way's "Get on Board" 14 week board member training program, a board member of a statewide non-profit and am now married to the person who oversees "Get on Board" for central Kentucky so I have had a lot of experience with nonprofit boards and all of their failings. The Lexington Rescue Mission is beyond reproach. Every board meeting is done in order, on time and all of our board members are prepared for the meetings, knowledgable about the subject matter and volunteer their time and talents to the mission outside of their board service. Beyond that, all of the employees of the Lexington Rescue Mission have a heart for the mission and the clients we serve and our founder and executive director, Mr. Jim Connell is exceedingly knowledgeable and hard working. I am so blessed to be a part of the Lexington Rescue Mission and plan to remain involved long after my board service, for the rest of my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

I have only recently begun volunteering at LRM, but it has been an amazing experience so far. The staff and administrators are wonderful to work with and the entire operation has a positive, life-affirming attitude that I find to be infectious. It genuinely raises my own spirits to be there and I wish I had more time and talents to offer. The most rewarding aspect is that you can directly see the results of the great work being done there. This mission is utterly devoted to its work and it shows.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My children and I volunteered here once. It was a great experience. We were taken on a tour and introduced to other volunteers. We helped cook the meal and serve it. This is a wonderful place and if we lived closer I would volunteer more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers