Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I'm an attorney, a graduate of the United Way's "Get on Board" 14 week board member training program, a board member of a statewide non-profit and am now married to the person who oversees "Get on Board" for central Kentucky so I have had a lot of experience with nonprofit boards and all of their failings. The Lexington Rescue Mission is beyond reproach. Every board meeting is done in order, on time and all of our board members are prepared for the meetings, knowledgable about the subject matter and volunteer their time and talents to the mission outside of their board service. Beyond that, all of the employees of the Lexington Rescue Mission have a heart for the mission and the clients we serve and our founder and executive director, Mr. Jim Connell is exceedingly knowledgeable and hard working. I am so blessed to be a part of the Lexington Rescue Mission and plan to remain involved long after my board service, for the rest of my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

I have only recently begun volunteering at LRM, but it has been an amazing experience so far. The staff and administrators are wonderful to work with and the entire operation has a positive, life-affirming attitude that I find to be infectious. It genuinely raises my own spirits to be there and I wish I had more time and talents to offer. The most rewarding aspect is that you can directly see the results of the great work being done there. This mission is utterly devoted to its work and it shows.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My children and I volunteered here once. It was a great experience. We were taken on a tour and introduced to other volunteers. We helped cook the meal and serve it. This is a wonderful place and if we lived closer I would volunteer more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

I volunteered here a little bit ago and it was a great and eye opening experience. I went with my youth group and we helped serve a meal to the people who stopped in. I never realized how many people are in need of something as simple as food. It was really eye opening to me and helped me realized how fortunate I have been in my life. The people who run this organization were very kind to us and made us feel like we were a part of it. This organization is saving lives both physically and spiritually.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Hi, My name is Linda M. and I have volunteered and still do on occasion volunteer for the LRM. I have always known about the LRM being a native of Lexington but never had any idea how fulfilling and grateful this organization can make one feel. I became a "guest" at one of the LRM's Transitional Houses back in June of 2012. Being a guest you are required to meet 20 hours of volunteer work. I chose LRM. And let me tell you it has changed my perspective and outlook on life as well as saved it. I am a recovering addict/alcoholic that without the goodness, kindness and support of this amazing organization I would have ended up only God knows where. Volunteering for LRM taught me gratitude and how to reach out my hand (as they did) and help another human being with a hand up (not a hand out). I recommend anyone wanting to give back to their community to give till it hurts to LRM, because you will be helping another not hurt so much and gaining a world of blessings. You have nothing to lose and EVERYTHING to gain by giving what you can. But don't take my word for it......though .experience IS the best teacher.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

I am a youth leader at a church in Kentucky. I was looking for a place for our kids to do a mission project when I discovered Lexington Rescue Mission several years ago. What a wonderful experience. They made the kids feel right at home. Took us on a tour to show us their misitry before our work that day. The kids had a very eye opening experience serving meals to those less fortunate that day. I am so glad we chose to do it at Lexington Rescue Mission. It seemed to be a great organization that really cares for those they serve. We haven't physically been back since but I keep up with them on the Internet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Volunteering is something that I have always wanted to do but never really knew how to go about getting started. Then one fateful day in 2009 I recieved a speeding ticket and entered into a deferral program which required me to complete some community service. The Lexington Rescue Mission happened to be one of the options in the program. My first time at The Mission I knew it was something special. The people there were genuine and really seemed to care for the people coming in for assistance and meals. The more I went the more I felt myself connecting not only with my fellow volunteers but also with the people coming in to The Rescue Mission for help. Every time I went in to volunteer I learned something new about programs and different ways The Lexington Rescue Mission helps those in need in our community. By the time my "community service" was completed I knew that this was not the end of my journey with The Lexington Rescue Mission. I had learned so much about how the work they do here changes peoples lives an and in turn had started changing my life and my heart. I wanted to do more and be more involved with such a great organization. Three years later I am still actively involved with the Lexington Rescue Mission not only as a volunteer but also in fund raising and other community driven activites. I would highly recommend The Lexington Rescue Mission to anyone wanting to help and get more involved in their community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

The Lexington Rescue Mission didn't even exist in my world 4 months ago. The truth is I may never had known, had it not been for a new friend that I met 4 months ago. He shared his story and the impact that the LRM had on his life. The care, the acceptance, and the love that was provided to him reached so much farther than just his physical needs. LRM (clients and their staff) touched his soul, transformed his mind, and changed his life. God's love in the true form of service and acceptance was so attractive that I had to find out for myself and see LRM in action. My first volunteer experience was one that confirmed my friend's story. People, side-by-side, serving each other's needs, to not only build up and support the body of Christ, but also to introduce others to the healing process. No matter what your story is or where you came from, there were others prepared to stand next you and help you in your story of life. I have been volunteering at the rescue center for the last 3 months and just recently, my family became donors in this great organization that truly rescues those and includes them in this great mission. When I think of the LRM and their impact on the Kingdom, I can't help to be reminded and encouraged by God's words in Matthew 25:40. Thank you LRM for allowing me to be a part of something divine and to improve my story through giving and serving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012

more

September 25, 2012

The Lexington Rescue Mission is a Godsend to those that need and use their services, but also those of us who serve and give. For almost 10 years my family and I choose LRM to give our time and resources. Not only because it's what we are called to do, but because every time we do, WE are blessed. The people who walk through the door who are hungry or need a little help end up brightening up the day of those who are helping them. My children have also served for all these years and they have seen that they are needed, even though they are young and as they grow, they will take that with them int the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the love and care given by all who serve there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Gives me more patients.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That what I do makes a difference.

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

My daughter had the opportunity to be a part of the Lexington Rescue Mission staff as a social worker in their homeless prevention progam. She came to them through the Mission's partnership with AmeriCorps. Lindsey was a recent BSW graduate looking for her first job. Not only does the Lexington Rescue Mission reach out to those in our community who are in need of help, the Mission has a history of reaching out to the young professionals who are eager to put their educational training into action. Lindsey completed her year of service through AmeriCorps and stayed another year as a paid staff member. Her professional and personal growth was inspired by the dedicated staff and volunteers of t he Lexington Rescue Mission. It was a difficult decision for her to leave in order to attend graduate school. The experience she gained working with the homeless and nearly homeless through the Lexington Rescue Mission's outreach programs were invaluable as she pursued a MSW. Lindsey speaks highly of the level of service that the Mission provides to our city and continues to maintain friendships with the staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers