Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

Let's Get Ready has been the most significant part of my four years in college. In my time volunteering with the with the Columbia LGR program at Frederick Douglass Academy (both as a tutor and director), I have learned more than I have in any college course. Teaching a class of five students is an intimidating task, but the resources provided by LGR made me feel confident going in to the classroom. Most importantly, I felt like I made a significant impact in the lives of the students in my class. I would recommend volunteering with LGR to any student--it's a great cause with extraordinarily high impact.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Personally, I've learned more about myself and my skills as a leader from LGR than any other extracurricular commitment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger--we need to bring LGR to every underserved high school!

October 24, 2011

more

October 24, 2011

Let's Get Ready is an incredible organization that is dedicated to not only teaching youth the skills they need to persevere in the college application process, but empowering them to take the skills and apply them throughout their education and their lives. As a four time site director, five year volunteer, verbal coach, and sometime office intern, I have worked with many students who, through the help of LGR, changed their opinion from "I can't go to college" to "I can go to college--and succeed". Not only do the students benefit from the program, which provides five-to-one tutoring and mentoring by current college students, but parents benefit as well; the program offers financial aid information to parents, and allows them to help their children navigate the tricky process, even if they've never been through it themselves. Coaches, too, are able to complete an exercise in mentorship, hone their teaching skills, and learn firsthand about the gaps in our education system and the need for change. As a site director, I have never been more proud than when a former student, who had gotten into a college in Connecticut, called me the summer before she began to ask me where to buy her books so she could be ahead of the class. This particular student had sacrificed much to get into school against her parents' wishes, and was set and ready to go--but still felt comfortable enough to reach out to her LGR family for support. That's what LGR is all about.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my experience as a Site Director. I have had programs in which students increased their SAT scores overall by 147 and 153 points; and most importantly where students learned about the college process and gained the confidence necessary to apply and succeed in college.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change around the curriculum a bit to make it focus more on college success than SAT scores--but I do recognize that that would include increasing the amount of time/week a student spent in class, thus further shrinking the student pool.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 24, 2011

more

October 24, 2011

I worked with LGR for three years as a college student and can honestly say it was the most important aspect of my undergraduate education. I will always be grateful to LGR for helping me meet such inspiring high school students and university volunteers. It is a truly special non-profit that empowers everyone that comes into contact with it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

deciding what I wanted to do professionally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

establish programs all over the country.

October 24, 2011

more

October 24, 2011

I have volunteered with LGR for over three years, serving as a math coach, verbal coach, site director, and office intern. One of the best aspects of this organization is that anyone involved can see almost immediate results - students improve very quickly, and watching participants complete compelling and heartfelt personal statements is a true joy. The writer in me has a deep appreciation for the careful attention given to student essays, and as someone interested in youth development, watching students grow into mature, caring, and capable individuals over the course of the semester is equally rewarding.

LGR highlights areas that students need to improve in while encouraging their burgeoning talents. Students are made to feel talented, and I think this speaks to the high quality college volunteers LGR recruits - coaches from diverse backgrounds dedicate themselves to student improvement, on both the academic and personal levels. From the moment you walk into an LGR classroom, it's clear that everyone involved has a passion for college access.

To see a student go from being entirely unsure about whether or not college could (or should) be in their future to having multiple admissions offers is a truly powerful thing. LGR will break your heart and then sew it back up again - the program shows how truly unequal and out-of-reach higher education is for so many in this country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A great deal of personal joy and growth comes from serving as a volunteer with LGR - I have learned how to interact with those younger and older than myself, how to formulate lesson plans, and how to acknowledge my own strengths and weaknesses. The program has inspired my own self-confidence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the length of the program so that students could have long-term support in their college application process - up to and through their freshman year of college.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Let's Get Ready is an outstanding organization that offers under-served high school students the chance to beat the odds and get into college.

This innovative model uses college students, who have recently been through the college application process, to coach high school students in the
areas of SAT prep, college applications, decision making and financial aid. Most of the students served are first generation college students, who have little support or help with a very overwhelming process. Let's Get Ready makes it a win-win for everyone. The college students gain valuable service hours, public speaking skills, and learn leadership and responsibility. The high school students get FREE SAT help, application assistance and gain confidence from knowing the process and having people believe in what they can do.

As a marketing advisor to this organization, I have been able to witness the remarkable success of this organization. Yes, the statistics are all there and they are doing SUCH wonderful things for the students and coaches. But the truly amazing thing that cannot be seen in the numbers is the genuine care and dedication to the organization by so many that are involved. The office staff believe in what they are doing and are dedicated to making the programs top-notch. The coaches are energetic, involved and they truly care about the success of the students. The students are engaged, motivated and excited. It is an inspiring group to be around!

Just as several microfinancing charities have proven that individuals can lift themselves out of poverty if they are given the power to do so, Let's Get Ready has proven that high school students can do the same when given the appropriate resources.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visting the programs and seeing the coaches and students in action. It is a moving experience to visit a Let's Get Ready program and see the motivation and energy. I've also seen the excitement and dedication of the office staff, who all truly believe in making this organization bigger & better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out about Let's Get Ready! They have a great model but just need more funding and more supporters.

September 26, 2011

more

September 26, 2011

I became aware of Let's Get Ready when I began helping my oldest son with the college admissions process about 7 years ago. Living in a suburb with a very good public school system, we were fortunate to have all the resources we needed to navigate a process which is daunting, complicated and very competitive. After attending a small local fundraising event for Let's Get Ready and meeting some of the motivated, bright students who had gone through the program, had subsequently gone off to college and were on a trajectory that would bring them success in their lives, I was drawn to the program and wanted to help. I had never really thought about the fact that low-income students typically apply to college at a great disadvantage socially and economically - if they apply at all.

Let's Get Ready is an innovative program that expands college access for motivated, low-income students by offering free intensive SAT preparation and college admissions counseling. Volunteer college students are trained as tutors and mentors, who provide the SAT instruction and college admissions guidance along with the encouragement and inspiration students need to succeed. Best of all, many of the high school students who attend Let’s Get Ready become program volunteer coaches (tutors) and site directors when they enter college.
Seeing the program in action is exhilerating. Many of the students come from broken homes, live in dangerous neighborhoods, travel great distances to come to the program and nevertheless are enthusiastic and grateful for the preparation they receive. The coaches are excited to work with these students and form lasting bonds with them. And because coaches and students are so close in age, they relate to each other in a way that is particularly impactful and meaningful to all parties involved.
In addition to receiving SAT test instruction which includes lessons in math, critical reading and essay writing, the students are helped with every step of the college admisssions process. They recieve help with college selection , college essays and also with filling out financial aid forms and obtaining scholarship money.
Being on the board, I have had the opportunity to meet several of the high school administrators and community organization partners with which Let's Get Ready runs its programs. They all have the highest praises for the program and contend that not only are more students attending college, but many are attending reach schools they never would have considered had it not been for their participation in the program.
The statistics confirm Let's Get Ready's success. Scores increase on average by 110 points, applications are completed on time, fafsa forms are filled out by deadline and 93% of our program participants go directly to college after graduatiing high school. Further many of the students come back to the program as coaches and some have even started programs on the campuses of the colleges they attend.
Let's Get Ready has changed the lives of over 10,000 high school students and offered a rewarding and life changing volunteer opportunity to over 4,500 college students since it's founding in 1998. And, it is fitting to state here that it was founded by a Harvard undergrad who realized that low -income high school stdents lacked the critical resources and supports that she had when applying to college. This is why the model works so beautifully. It was conceived by someone who had just gone through the process herself.
In summary, Lets Get Ready is the most cost-efficient and effective program out there. It offers both instruction and mentoring that helps large numbers of students change their lives and acheive their dreams of a college eduation in a way that no other exisiting program can.




The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

observing how nany students are going to college with financial aid and seeing the coaches grow as a result of their experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let's Get Ready needs to get the word out there to attract more funders so we can offer more programs.

April 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I work as a grant maker. I was introduced to Lets Get Ready through a typical grant review process and had no prior knowledge of or connection to the organization. Lets Get Ready provides college access services to under-served students; typically those on free or reduced lunch programs , no prior family having attended college, etc. The programs for high school juniors and seniors are run by college students in a win/win scenario. The high school students see the possibilities modeled by their peers and watch their scores climb, and the college students have rewarding service experiences.

At my grant review I met with a Mount Holyoke College student who started the Lets Get Ready program there on her own initiative. She was incredibly passionate and energetic about her experience. So was the Holyoke (MA) public school system, which lacks the funding to otherwise serve these students. Also beaming at my grant review was the college's community affairs office. And the results were right there in the numbers: thousands of students in the margins put on the college track; lengthy waiting lists of college students wanting to tutor and volunteer; consistently increased SAT scores; terrific acceptance and matriculation data.

I have personally reviewed hundreds of grants, and as a distribution committee member, sat in on meetings considering many hundreds reviewed by others over more than ten years. Lets Get Ready is the only organization I went back to after my funding recommendation specifically to volunteer my time and energies for the organization. That's how strongly I felt about the positive impact Lets Get Ready has on the lives of the young adults they serve

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Lets Get Ready has expanded its programs from New York and the mid-Atlantic throughout the New England region. Meticulous data is kept on program costs, participants and outcomes. As a grant maker I was charged with the careful review and analysis of LGR's budgets, operations and impact. Lets Get Ready graded out with straight "A"s .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lets Get Ready flies under the radar. It needs to establish its brand - bringing itself into the larger awareness of the significant players concerned with high impact youth services.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers