Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

It is an amazing organization with a unique mission. The overall goal is to connect cancer patients with legal and financial advisors who can deal with the non-medical side of cancer for the patient while the patient focuses their strength and energy on recovering and/or enjoying their last few days. LINC recently launched a medical/legal partnership ("MLP") with the VCU Massey Cancer Center and the local legal aid providers where LINC's legal and financial services are being incorporated into the everyday standard of care for their patients, meaning that not only do their patients receive the medical care they need, they also receive immediate assistance in getting their legal and financial affairs in order. I would encourage anyone interested in learning more about LINC's mission to get involved by contacting the Executive Director, Denise Kranich.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

LINC is relatively unique in its ability to provide legal, financial, and community referrals to cancer patients and their families. LINC has a volunteer network of over 150 attorneys and financial planners who provide important non-medical services to these brave individuals on a pro bono or low cost basis. I have been actively involved with LINC for a little more than one year -- it is one of the proudest things that I do. I was sensitized to LINC's mission by my daughter's recent journey through 14 months of chemotherapy. The success stories of clients who have avoided bankruptcy, executed wills and estate planning documents, resolved employment issues, etc. are truly moving. LINC provides hope, compassion, and empathy for many who often have nowhere else to turn -- LINC takes pride in having worked for 17 years to "link" cancer patients who need (or can't afford) help with a circle of professionals who can provide it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I have been involved with LINC since its earliest years and have seen the numbers of clients served grow tremendously as the need for help has grown. LINC staff go out of their way to help regardless of where the caller is from and what the need might be. The numbers of volunteer attorneys and financial professionals who selflessly donate their time have grown as well. As a cancer patient and survivor myself, I know how important it is to have support from others, and how important it is to get answers to questions quickly or to have issues resolved quickly. For many of LINC'S clients, time is critical. LINC's staff and volunteers go out of their way to make sure their client's needs are met. It is a great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012

more

September 25, 2012

I am a 30 year old woman diagnosed with lymphoma in 2006 and again in 2010. After which I faced job discrimination due to my re-diagnosis, and began to run out of resources. A family member found LINC and sent me several write-ups on some notable health blogs. I visited their website and got in touch. I honestly had no idea anyone like them even existed. Their soul cause is finding Virginia's cancer patients & survivors the legal & financial resources for their treatment and post treatment needs. It's my hope that more patients become aware of this amazing service run by people who truly care about your future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I've had the privilege of helping LINC clients with financial issues since 2007. No other organization that I'm aware of handles the range of client issues with as much professionalism and compassion as LINC. That "No cancer patient goes without needed support services" is more than a nice vision statement - it truly is the central commandment of this dedicated group of volunteers, staff, and board members.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

It has been a true honor to be affiliated with LINC for over a decade. To hear the many stories about local cancer patients who have been helped with their legal and financial challenges is heartwarming. The lawyers, financial planners and LINC staff serve with great empathy and on a pro bono basis. The Richmond community is lucky to have these folks advocating so generously. Thank you to all who steadfastly do this work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012




After reading an article in the ADVANCE newsletter about LINC, that the VCU Massey Cancer Center publishes, I was compelled to learn more. I was waiting for an appointment with my bone marrow doctor for my 4 year cancer follow up.

The article talked about how LINC provides
resources for people like me. I had no idea there were resources like this. After following up with the contact information, an attorney, Chris Bernhart, called me. After a lengthy conversation, Chris referred me to Sarah Gonzales from LINC. Sarah gave me even more hope and assured me I was not alone and that there were indeed people out there willing to help me. Sarah gave me several names of organizations that provided free advice for people like me that owed thousands of dollars in debt due to cancer. LINC connected me with Charlie Atwill, at Atwill Financial Consulting group. My wife, Ellen, and I met with Charlie and his associate, Justin. When Ellen and I walked out of Charlie’s office we both felt like a huge burden was lifted. We felt we had a plan and there was hope.

I am so thankful and blessed to be cancer free and doing well. I am not sure how everything will all play out with my financial situation, but I do know that I feel much better and hopeful because of LINC’s assistance.

Reed Whitener

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give a cancer patient peace of mind when a pro bono lawyer visits to draw up a will. Volunteer