Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have enjoyed working with Legal Counsel for the Elderly and assisting their clients in the preparation of wills and powers of attorney. The training provided was very helpful and the responsiveness of the organization to questions has been very quick.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013

more

January 3, 2013

Smart programs, dedicated staff, meaningful impact. As a nonprofit professional and graduate of Indiana University's School of Public and Environmental Affairs, I gained the opportunity to work with and study a variety of nonprofit organizations. Legal Counsel for the Elderly (LCE) ranks first on my list of the best nonprofits I've had the privilege to serve. Enthusiasm for their mission and devotion to their constituents is strongly felt throughout the organization. When combined with carefully crafted programs and thoughtful application of resources, LCE greatly exceeds the criteria of a model organization. Serving an area of great need in the District, LCE makes meaningful use of every donor dollar and if you are looking to support one organization, put LCE at the top of your list.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

My time working with AARP Legal Counsel for the Elderly (LCE) after law school was truly life changing. LCE is a group of passionate advocates for the elderly community in the District of Columbia. I had the opportunity to work with talented legal professionals and volunteers who prioritized every client and treated everyone with respect no matter the issue and no matter the person's circumstances. My favorite part of working with LCE was the one-on-one client interaction. Books cannot give you that type of interaction. It was a great learning experience that taught me a person-centered approach to advocacy, and I know my time with LCE will impact the rest of my career.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

LCE has a tremendous volunteer network, and it could not touch so many lives without the support of its passionate community of volunteers.

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

The AARP Legal Counsel for the Elderly provides free legal services to the vulnerable elderly in Washington, DC. As a leader in the aging services in the Districts, I've seen first hand how they've helped seniors save their homes from predatory lending and tax sales, get the services they need to stay in their homes and apartments, helped nursing home residents get the quality care they deserve and help recognize and report Medicare fraud. They also perform a host of other sevices including wills, powers of attorney, ID theft prevention, benefits access and more. Because AARP provides office space and expenses for overhead, donations go directly to serving clients. They also do an amazing job of partnering with the big law firms in DC who provide pro bono help to people who really need it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers