Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with the Legal Counsel for the Elderly for over 20 year, and it is a terrific organization. The staff is totally dedicated to the mission and wonderful to work with. LCE fills a critical need in the District of Columbia protecting the rights of the city's elderly population.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

From personal experiences, I know that Legal Counsel for the Elderly is dedicated to its mission of providing representation for elderly residents of the District of Columbia. The staff of lawyers is led by Jan May, who not only is expert is elderly law but provides counsel to the greater community, works to achieve legislative goals and provides advice to the executive branch of city government. I should note my belief that the program works independently of AARP, its creator, so it can advocate for its clients without regard to any commercial interests. A solid program that should be replicated elsewhere.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Simplify access to its offices and redesign its computer system.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

As a Masters of Social Work student from Howard University School of Social Work, with a concentration in displaced populations, I have had the honor and privilege of interning at Legal Counsel for the Elderly: Alternatives to Landlord/Tenant Court Project, for two years. While under the supervision and guidance of the Licensed Clinical Social Worker, I have had the opportunity to assist the Alternatives Project in their proactive efforts to prevent homelessness and eviction for vulnerable elderly tenants in DC. Words cannot express how fortunate and gracious I am to have had the opportunity to observe such compassionate, empowering, non-judgmental, and holistic services to at-risk elders and their families; often facing mental, emotional, social, and environmental challenges. The team at LCE: Alternatives Project are truly an incredible illustration of how effective the collaboration of lawyers and social workers can be in insuring that vulnerable elders are not obtaining a Band-Aid, but acquiring comprehensive support services that attend to all of their psycho-social needs. I am a better social worker and individual from my experiences here at Legal Counsel for the Elderly: Alternatives to Landlord/Tenant Court Project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

LCE provides vital services to the vulnerable elderly in DC. Their staff is lovely to work with and truly cares about making a difference in their clients' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The attorneys and support staff at Legal Counsel for the Elderly are all consummate professionals who are dedicated solely to advancing the interests of Washington, DC's vulnerable seniors. They are also a great group of people to work with -- friendly, passionate about their work, and confident that they are making a difference in their clients' lives. I would highly recommend this organization to others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

I have been both a volunteer and a donor for LCE. I was impressed because: their services are targeted where most needed; the staff is well-organized and able to inspire the volunteers; service delivery is efficient and cost-effective; and beneficiaries respond well to the caring and improvements provided. LCE well-deserves additional support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

What I appreciate the most about LCE is it's commitment to excellence in representation. They make doing pro bono legal work easy--a good choice of cases, helpful support staff, and backup from top notch lawyers. I represented an LCE client in a probate matter, and an LCE staff attorney helped me think though the implications of certain approaches to the case. As a result I was able to obtain excellent results for my client and develop my own expertise. LCE does an outstanding job representing clients and supporting pro bono attorneys.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I volunteer as a poverty paralegal for AARP Legal council for the elderly. We help the needest people with most of their legal problems,wills, bankruptcy. improper evictions, help with social security and medicare problems, improper billing and many other problems. As a poverty paralegal I do not give advice but I do take down information that the attorney's use to solve the problems. Because of this help many seniors now remainin their homes. and have proper health care and the right amount of government support that they are entitled to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2011

more

March 18, 2011

AARP Legal Counsel for the Elder is one of the best volunteer experiences that I have ever had. As an undergrad, I was not entirely sure how an office functions in it's day to day life, but LCE was very welcoming and helped me adjust to a more professional lifestyle. Probably the best part of volunteering is reaching out to DC seniors and knowing that you are helping those in need. Although I volunteered in Outreach and Development, I was able to speak to and get to know many volunteers throughout LCE's different programs as well. Every conversation I've had with the volunteers and employees has been a good one, and I have learned something new every day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the articles that i have written on volunteers experience be posted on LCE's facebook page, with favorable reactions from the people who they were written about. I am proud that I had the opportunity to help tell their stories and that I help recognize them for their great accomplishments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that i can personally think of.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers